We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Al Vecchio Castello
Ranked #51 of 77 Tropea B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 October 2015

After the hotel I had booked and paid for!! in January, 2015, cancelled my reservation as I was waiting for my flight to Rome, the owner of the B&B in Rome where I stayed, looked up hotels in Tropea for me. He picked Al Vecchio Castello. I crossed my fingers because I knew literally nothing about this place. Well... it was beyond my expectations. Lovely owner, Antonio bent over backwards to make sure our stay was perfect and it was. The room was not large, but was perfect with high ceilings and a little balcony. There was even a window in the bathroom which looked over the tiled roof tops. So lots of light and a nice cross breeze. Antonio made a lovely breakfast every morning. Even though he does not speak English, we managed to communicate. The location is great, right on the main corso that leads down to the seaview overlook. Cafes, shops and great restaurants within steps. I was very upset about the hotel Blu Tropea Maison cancelling my reservation at the very last minute, but this cozy little B&B made up for it. I would highly recommend this B&B and if I ever return to Tropea I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: My room was next to the little kitchen. There was a window in the bathroom, which was a great feat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lIovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2015

After my friend and I had another reservation cancelled only a few days before we arrived in Tropea, we found Al Vecchio Castello - and once we had stayed there we were so happy to have done so!
Antonio was a very caring host who ensured the place was kept spotless and made us a terrific breakfast each day.
The B&B is on the 3rd floor of an old palazzo right in the centre of Tropea, it's a truly fantastic location. Yes, a lot of stairs but so worth it. We each had a room with both sea and city views (and Stromboli was just visible on the far horizon!). The bedlinen was lovely and fresh, the towels huge, and everything was very clean. The rooms were cleaned every second day.
There was no street noise at night, but we did stay in mid October so off-season. The chiming of the church clock in an adjacent building every 15 minutes wasn't particularly annoying or disturbing.
For the price, it offers excellent value.
If I ever return to Tropea I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank greenfrogfrolics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2014 via mobile

We picked this B&B based only on the location. There were no interior pictures at the time.
We were happily surprised with the nicely decorated apartment that could have been from a Swedish magazine about houses and apartments.
Our room had a beautiful seaview and to the most popular piazza. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
We truly enjoyed our 3 days and nights in Tropea and can strongly recommend this B&B.

(The price for having the nice view from the bedroom is the stair with 39 steps. The central location also comes with a price; you will hear the people from the restaurants - something we love, but might annoy others.)

Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lars L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed at al vecchio castello for 6 nights in mid September and had a lovely relaxing time. Tropea is a great place for a romantic break, the combination of old town and beautiful beach is hard to beat. The location is perfect, right in the middle of the old town, 10 minutes walk from the station and 10 minutes walk from the beach. We had a gorgeous view of the town and the sea from our juliet balcony. Our room was simple, clean, pretty and recently decorated. 60 euros a night seemed great value, particularly compared to other B&Bs in town.

Breakfast was fresh fruit, cheese and cured meats, bread and delicious pastries. We could hear noise from the square below in our room, but this was atmospheric rather than grating. There was no wifi but to be honest that only contributed to the relaxing atmosphere. Having access to the beach lido was also very pleasant and convenient.

Antonio and Laura were very friendly and helpful despite the language barrier - thank you for our lovely holiday!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea, the view is gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna13579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank chiari2320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tropea hotels
0.1 km away
Residenza il Barone
Residenza il Barone
#2 of 77 in Tropea
377 reviews
1.8 km away
Villa Garden
Villa Garden
#2 of 42 in Tropea
93 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Rocca Della Sena
Hotel Rocca Della Sena
#1 of 20 in Tropea
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
LABRANDA Rocca Nettuno Tropea
8.6 km away
Hotel Village Eden
Hotel Village Eden
#2 of 20 in Tropea
590 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#5 of 20 in Tropea
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Vecchio Castello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Vecchio Castello

Address: Via Glorizio 3, 89861 Tropea, Italy
Region: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Tropea
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Tropea
Price Range: €41 - €94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building is in the 3 rd floor of an ancient palace of the old town, offers comfortable rooms with panoramic view overlooking the Corso Vittorio Emanuele (the main street of the historic center), the village square of the three fountains and on the old castle climb. The Bed and Breakfast has a single room with a bathroom, a double bedroom with bathroom, one bedroom and one double room with shared bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Al Vecchio Castello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing