We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful ”
Review of OldWell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
OldWell Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Tropea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

We were unsure of this booking based on so little reviews, but I have to say it was wonderful small and quaint. The rooms aren't big but we only changed and slept in them. Our day was spent on the private beach just below the restaurant balcony. Water was stunning. Rock formations to climb and jump off. Free parking at the hotel and good wifi. The GPS took us far off the highway and we were unsure on the switchback roads and the finally steep hill, but we stayed on course and found paradise. The meals were okay, the vodka e speck was delicious. The staff were extremely kind and very helpful. I'd go back for sure.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank StaceyLeeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night in late may. No one is on vacation during this time & so the whole of Calabria is peaceful..beaches are not filled.

Nice cottage style rooms with good updated toilet/bathroom. Room #10 is separate to others with view directly out to see. It has a nice terrace but is close to restaurant.

Food is delicious, views & sunset over Stromboli are excellent. Beach is not sandy but gravelly & private.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldwell13, Responsabile reception at OldWell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Dear Mr. David,
Thank you for this judgment on your stay in our Hotel. I am always happy to read that everything went as the customer hoped and willing to return. I hope to be able to re-welcome you as our guest again.
Best regards.
Natasha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

We booked for one night but added another only because it was in this beautiful location right on the water. This is an easy 5 minute drive from Tropea centre. Tropea was worth staying 2 nights for, particularly during quiet season but still warm enough to swim if you're fortunate with the weather. Rooms are small but clean. The description fits well as 'simple furnished' but bathrooms are modern. Wifi is a little weak in the upper rooms. Breakfast is nice buffet style and coffee is awesome. Great stay for the price (out of season)

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank al_ditto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldwell13, Responsabile reception at OldWell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear Guest,
I am happy to read that everything went well during your stay in our Hotel, I hope to have you back as our guest.
Best regards.
Natasha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017

I have gait/walking challenges (stroke); accom. has to be convenient to shopping and/or sights, parking.
Stunning; located right on the spectacular beach, reached from the road via dramatic cliffside! Amazing. Fall asleep to the sound of the crashing waves on the covered terrace, wonderful. Simple accommodation, good breakfast. Chilling out beach holiday or just time to relax after Tropea, just minutes down the road - sensational, glorious views! We enjoyed drinks at the bar at night. Food was great at the restaurant, or a few minutes down the road are good choices. Staff- very accommodating, efficient. Parking good. Value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacquitohc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldwell13, Responsabile reception at OldWell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear Guest,
I am happy to read that everything was as you expected and tha you were impressed of our beautiful landscapes and panoramas.I hope to have you back as our guests.
Best regards,
Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017

On pictures hotel looked very good, but when you come there, you can see a very small room and unhelpful lady in hotel reception. Breakfast is poor. This hotel has restauration and day bar, so you can buy everything. The boss and her wife had private visters practicly every evening. We can´t bought a pizza, but we could looked how boss prepared pizza for his guests in the same restourant. But everything is not so bad. You meet very friendly staff and beautiful beach!

Stayed: September 2016
Thank Pavla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tropea hotels
1.8 km away
Hotel Rocca Della Sena
Hotel Rocca Della Sena
#1 of 20 in Tropea
293 reviews
6.7 km away
Hotel Village Eden
Hotel Village Eden
#2 of 20 in Tropea
590 reviews
2.4 km away
Tropis Hotel Tropea
Tropis Hotel Tropea
#4 of 20 in Tropea
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#5 of 20 in Tropea
385 reviews
1.5 km away
LABRANDA Rocca Nettuno Tropea
2.7 km away
Residenza a Due Passi Dal Mare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OldWell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OldWell Hotel

Address: Baia di Riaci | Via Scoglio di Riaci, 89861 Tropea, Italy
Region: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Tropea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Tropea
Price Range: €42 - €332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — OldWell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your OldWell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing