We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be fabulous if they changed the Housekeeper” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel del Levante

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel del Levante
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Torre Canne
Certificate of Excellence
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Could be fabulous if they changed the Housekeeper”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed for four nights in two adjoining rooms, at the beginning of August, as part of our trip around Puglia. The hotel is great, the food is tremendous and the staff in the restaurant were charming, allowing us to practice our Italian and understanding when we lost our way with the language!
The staff on the front desk were quite ferocious and after three days of not having our bed linen changed I was disappointed when no action was taken even after I had pointed it out to the receptionist and specifically asked for fresh linen. Housekeeping managed to service both rooms one morning in just 15 minutes (the time it took us to eat breakfast!)
The pool and beach are great, you can walk out into the sea for quite a way before it gets deep, so lovely for the boys to snorkel and swim in.
Avoid Torre Canne and head instead to the lovely Savelletri, near Fasano - the restaurants were amazing, the freshest fish I have ever eaten and all with charming staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theoldtrout21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    144
    76
    28
    15
See reviews for
187
154
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

I would totally agree with the two most recent reviews of this hotel. We travelled as a couple but it is really not a conveneint place for couples at all; the population of the hotel while we were there were families and older folks. The hotel itself is clean and spacious but the rooms are basic and the walls are terribly, terribly thin - we could hear people's tvs and their conversations through them. The hotel has 'entertainment staff' that put on activities throughout the day and night; this also includes playing 90s pop music quite loudly which is not conducive to a relaxing time by the pool. By the end of the week the tracks that the staff played became predictable and quite annoying.

We went half board and as all the other reviews state, you are given the menu at breakfast to order your afternoon or evening meal which is unusual. You are expected to order two courses, both of which are really quite sizeable (the first is usually some kind of pasta) and we didn't really find this appealing at lunchtime on a hot day. So one day we ordered just one course and the waiter looked a little incredulous at this. The food does come really quickly, it does feel a bit like a conveyor belt in the hotel restaurant. The breakfast is ok if you like warm milk on your cereal and croissants that taste sweet and artificial.

The pool area is nice and clean. We spent all our time here rather than on the hotel's private beach as it was like packed sardines there with very little personal space between loungers.

But the most important points to make about this hotel concern its location. We walked along the beach to Torre Canne and we were very disappointed. The beach was dirty and littered and the surrounding area looked dilapdated and something like Romeo's Verona Beach from the film. It had nothing to offer at all and we walked back feeling deflated. If you do go to this hotel then definitely make sure you have a car to go to neighbouring towns - be warned that Italian drivers are somewhat wreckless and hasty though which can make driving quite stressful, especially if you've never driven in Italy before. One little gem is the restaurant next door, 'La Brace' - what a lovely place. Delicious pizzas for 4-6 euros and some of the tastiest, freshest pasta dishes - we ate there 5 times it was that good and the staff were friendly so would definitely recommend that.

Overall, we had a reasonable holiday thanks to being able to leave the hotel and drive to neighbouring places of interest but we're certain that we would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AB26London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

hotel is out of town, not sure about 4*. good pool and beach. room rather basic and small, shabby furniture, poor quality toiletries. Walls thin, big gap at the door, noisy at times. restaurant staff speak hardly any english so they constantly get your order wrong, hang around gazing at the walls. Nobody tells you that you can order eggs, melon, etc, you will find that out for yourself. Fried eggs often come out overcooked and soaked in oil. Croissants were fresh and very nice, cheese and ham are cheap and were the same for 2 weeks. There were some delicious (and considerable) pasta and fish dishes, rustic. Don't expect fine cooking. ill thought through side dishes, sometimes of frozen vegetables. Wines expensive and def not good value for money. Hotel caters for families with children, lots of entertainment for them. Line dancing italian style in the evening, full of more older guests. Got bored in the evening, nothing to do in Torre Cane, but nearby Ostuni, Martina Franca and Lecce are great.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestCountryFroggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Very much designed as a family vacation resort with activities for kids during the day, so do not recommend for any other types of travellers. Rooms were rather basic, but did the job, thogh AC didn;t really work when it was really hot. Pool area was actually quite empty as people tended to go to the beach, but here was music blaring all day from the activities, so not the most relaxing of that's what you're looking for. Staff tried to be as helpful as possible, but it must be a busy time of year for them.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYLON72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

We had a greeat holiday at Del Levante but Marcello in the restaurant makes it great. He is a charming man and goes out of his way to make you happy.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torre Canne
0.2 km away
Canne Bianche Lifestyle & Hotel
32.8 km away
Pietrablu Resort & Spa CDSHotels
Pietrablu Resort & Spa CDSHotels
#2 of 8 in Polignano a Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
8.2 km away
Borgo Egnazia
Borgo Egnazia
#3 of 6 in Savelletri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
GranSerena Hotel
GranSerena Hotel
#2 of 5 in Torre Canne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
7.9 km away
Masseria Torre Maizza
Masseria Torre Maizza
#1 of 6 in Savelletri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
24.4 km away
Riva Marina Resort CDSHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Levante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Levante

Property: Hotel del Levante
Address: Via Appia Antica 20-22, 72015 Torre Canne, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Brindisi > Torre Canne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torre Canne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Torre Canne
#3 Family Hotel in Torre Canne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Levante 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel del Levante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Levante Hotel
Del Levante Torre Canne
Hotel Del Levante Torre Canne, Puglia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing