We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa la Rocca

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa la Rocca Double bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Casa la Rocca
Double bedroom
Kitchen area
Looking out from the double bedroom
Twin room
Shower room
The pizza oven on a summer evening
Casa La Rocca in June
Sun loungers on the apartment patio
Val di Gizio from the apartment
Rocca Calascio - best view in Abruzzo
Chamois in the Maiella National Park
Oranges from Sicilia
Local produce on a roadside stall
Sulmona market
Lago di Barrea - swimming amongst the mountains
Pettorano sul Gizio
Sagittario valley
The Gargano peninsular
Campo Imperatore
Gran Sasso National Park
Winter above Scanno
Adriatic waves at Vasto
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sulmona, Province of L'Aquila, Abruzzo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Bruce K
Akron, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 20 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

i cannot recommend highly enough Casa la Roca. The apartment is very clean and private with everything one would need. The hospitality shown by Hilary and Stuart was beyond compare. This was our seventh vacation in Italy, always staying in villas/apartments and by far the best. Abruzzo is affordable and beautiful! We hope to return to Casa la Roca again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The region and hospitality of Hilary and Stuart
Liked least: we disliked nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lcpet
Salem, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We wish we had booked for a longer visit!”
Reviewed 24 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Our only complaint about Casa la Rocca is that we did not stay long enough. We enjoyed 4 nights in this very comfortable and beautiful location. The apartment was the most comfortable place of our 6 week trip - well stocked and very clean and cozy. We enjoyed a balance of exploring and just relaxing at home while there. Hilary and Stu could not have been more welcoming - from the moment we arrived we felt as if we had been friends for years. They are very kind and helpful and such interesting people. The area around Sulmona is some of the most beautiful country in Italy. We enjoyed hiking and also visiting small villages, as well as an afternoon in Sulmona. There is so much more to see and we will definitely return for a longer stay at Casa la Rocca.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendliness of the hosts and the comfort of the apartment
Liked least: Too short of a visit
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston
Reviewed 13 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
D x
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Off the Beaten Track”
Reviewed 24 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We stayed two weeks in May at Casa La Rocca. Superb day walks and amazing wild flower meadows. The accommodation was very comfortable, quiet and well equipped with wonderful all round views, yet convenient for food shopping. Stuart and Hilary were amongst the most helpful and thoughtful hosts that we have stayed with. Walking with Stuart enabled us to tackle new walks in different areas. His local knowledge was a great asset. We plan to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian J
Chippenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent accommodation in an beautiful region”
Reviewed 30 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We were keen to explore parts of Abruzzo on foot. Cicerone has recently published a walking book of the region, so what could be better than staying at the villa owned by the author of the book? We enjoyed several day walks that were described in the book. Most started a within a few miles of Casa la Rocca, the exception being a great day out on an excursion to Gran Sasso national park to climb Corno Grande, nearly 3000m high and home to a (small) glacier.
The villa is about 5 minutes drive from a Conad supermarket in the town of Sulmona. The sugared almond factory there was surprisingly interesting!
The villa was very well appointed, with all cooking utensils. Wireless internet and digital TV was available. We were able to borrow walking maps from Stuart.
In all a great place for a holiday, at a very reasonable price.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and friendliness of the owners
Liked least: Nothing comes to mind
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$77
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing