We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveller rating
101
75
14
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
75
14
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room was clean old city monkeys grove balcony umbria
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 194 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

This albergo is a little tricky find and outside of the old city. My wife was concerned as to where I was headed. However after finding our way we walked up to a beautiful entrance and the warm smiling face of our hostess. It's like staying at a friend's home. The infinity pool is a nice treat. And although someone else wrote that there are monkeys you will not find any. You will see or hear roosters, hens, donkeys, and enjoy a beautiful view complete with an olive grove.

The room was clean, comfortable, and as my wife said the pillow are wonderful. There was a balcony that we enjoyed in the morning.

Breakfast was served in a room with antique rail car seats. Again we were treated with a smiling face that quickly brought me a macchiato.

Dinner had us completely immersed into the local Italian community. Luna, our waitress was a pleasure.

Enjoy

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank HighThrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We stayed at LaMacchia for 2 nights - fell in love with the venue! Tucked away in the woods, our wonderful hosts were a loving, accommodating intergenerational family. We enjoyed a comfortable herb-named room with a spacious well-supplied bathroom, scented in lavender. The sounds of the rooster and donkey braying in the distance added to its charm! Breakfasts and dinners were quite sumptuous and delicious and the restaurant was a cozy, enjoyable experience, with the opportunity to engage with other visitors and our cheerful waitress over delicious local specialties, including pizza. We hated to leave!

Room Tip: I can only imagine that all rooms are lovely.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mkboltz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016

We stayed here for two nights as part of a cycling holiday. The staff here are amazing. All very helpful and caring. The food was delicious, especially the breakfast selection! The grounds (including pool) are gorgeous, we too loved hearing the donkeys and roosters. It is a little way out of Spoleto, but not too far if you have transport. Recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

We stayed at la Macchia for 2 nights including dinners and breakfasts.
We had a good size room, named rather than numbered, with exquisitely equipped shower room with lavender scented toiletries.
Very clean and tidy with good air conditioning system as our room windows were over the restaurant.
Superb service from a very helpful personnel in a domestic environment.
Overall a very tranquil setting away from Spoleto in Umbrian countryside.

Room Tip: If early night sleep is required avoid restaurant side rooms or close windows and put air con on.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Art S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

We stayed here two nights and found it an enjoyable stay. The room was clean and tidy and big enough, the staff were very accommodating and helped us with everything we asked. The location was handy for walk into Spoleto to see the Cathedral and castle. We had two dinners and two breakfasts, the dinners were local cuisine and lots of it and enjoyable, the breakfasts were comprehensive and very filling for travelers. We didn't try the pizzas in the restaurant but they must have been good and popular, it seemed over half the meals coming out were pizzas.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews