We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
148
72
27
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
72
27
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews perfect location americans comfort trail mountains spa dolomites
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 252 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2017

Perfect location for the mountains, combined with very comfortable hotel, good food and friendly staff. A memorable stay, fortunately good weather (although it would be no problem to stay in the hotel). I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Dolomitenhof, Inhaber at Hotel Dolomitenhof & Chalet Alte Post, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Thank you very much for your warmly words here by tripadvisor, and we would be very glad to welcome you again in our Hotel!!!
Many greetings from the Dolomites!
Family Innerkofler with staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

This place is away from the very busy section of greater Sesto, higher up toward the mountain, and with a stunning view. It is also right at the start of a major hiking trail into the mountains, so is crowded with day visitors. The hotel is well appointed and the food is good. The front desk folks were generally helpful and friendly but not overly so. The price for 3 of us for a single night including dinner exceeded 440 euros, which seems steep for the accommodations.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nibrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

This was the most beautiful hotel we have ever stayed at. Driving up you are struck by the drama of the mountains and the charm of the surrounding villages. We checked in and found Micheal, the receptionist on duty, to be friendly, helpful, and resourceful. We went up to our room (we stayed at the Sepp Innerkopfler South room) and were blown away. (I highly recommend paying the slightly higher rate for a south facing room, the views were that beautiful). The bed was the most comfortable bed we slept in in Italy and had great pillows which is important after hiking all day. We loved sitting on the balcony and watching the sun set.

The pool was beautiful and a comfortable temperature. Just cold enough to be refreshing but warm enough to stay in all day. We also went to the sauna which was well appointed and relaxing.

We hiked around the surrounding mountains and had great advice from
Michael who told us what trails to take and where to go. We are from Colorado and have hiked around the world and the Dolomites were some of the most beautiful mountains we have ever seen. An under appreciated aspect of this hotel is that it is in the perfect location. The trailhead to the Tre Cimes is right out the door. After an 18
mile hike, we were thrilled to be back in the comforts of the dolomitenhof.

We ate dinner and breakfast at the hotel. The breakfast buffet was filled with local breads, meats, and cheeses and we enjoyed the fresh coffee. The dinner service was fantastic. The menus were creative and utilized local, fresh, ingredients and we found every dish to be creatively presented and expertly cooked. A few highlights include a cream of trout soup with a horseradish meatball, fresh clams, seasoned salmon, and fresh salads and fruit. We never left the table hungry and Gianluca provided excellent service.

I was shocked to hear how few Americans stay here (about 5 couples a year according to Michael) but our lack of German and Italian was not a problem as the staff either spoke perfect English or was able to communicate effectively when need be. This place is steeped in history and it was fascinating to roam the halls looking at old pictures of the Dolomites and learning about the family who built this hotel. I would come back to this slice of paradise again an again and would highly recommend anybody (especially Americans who want to get off the beaten path) to come to Sexten to stay at the Crown Jewel of the Dolomites.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Baker A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017

This was my 3rd time staying at Hotel Dolomitenhof and coming from the states, this has to tell you something. If mountains are your thing, this setting cannot be beat. The hotel is enveloped by majestic mountains and at night when all of the visitors have cleared out it is absolutely serene. I love that I can ski/hike from the back door of the hotel and that town is an easy bus ride away.

The outside hot tub gives a perfect view of the setting and is marvelous to relax in after a day outside. I love the spa with all of its various steam rooms and saunas (including a hay room?). The rooms are not anything special but we have been informed that they will be updating them this summer, I'm very excited to check out the improvements. The breakfast is good (especially the scrambled eggs), but a slightly smaller selection than other hotels. Also had a very nice dinner has well.

I can't wait to visit again.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank jamiezuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016

You can almost reach out and touch the mountains from your balcony from this friendly family-run hotel in, perhaps, 'the most beautiful valley in the world". Friendly and inclusive staff. The rooms are nice and lack no comfort. There is an outdoor pool and a slightly larger indoor pool as well as a splendid sauna area. I am not normally a fan of halfboard, but at Dolomitenhof they do it very well.
It is good to know that;
there is no airconditioning: you don't need that at 1,500 meters in the Dolomites ;
the warm station at breakfast is limited, but the quality of the rest compensates for that ;
what is locally considered an easy trail may no be so easy after all.

Room Tip: Go for a Sepp Innerkofler room
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank karel_ouendag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews