We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best stake in Val Vardena”
Review of Hotel Scoiattolo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Scoiattolo
Reviewed 24 February 2016

Wonderful food and atmosphere...The service did an outstanding job. 5 stars. Val Vardena has many nice places but this place will blow you away. You've got to give this place a shot. The prices, for the food and service, are in my opinion bellow what you would expect from such a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Michael_Munsell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2015

I love every single thing about this hotel , starting from the nice and polite lady at the reception , to the best food you can eat anywhere even to my husband who has been literally everywhere told the waitress that their steak was the best he ever had , The view is something else , It's so breathtaking you wont believe it exists for real , The room was very big and comfortable, The bathroom was large too and very white and clean

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dulmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2015

The hotel is located at the top of a hill and away from the main town center. It offer beautiful views of the mountains and town. The rooms are spacious and clean and the hotel stuff are very tentative. Breakfast and dinner were excellent and the stuff were very helpful. Would definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michalis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Let's get this straight : this is a very good hotel. But there are some issues you should know before booking :
1. the reception staff is a bit disappointing. Not that she is unfriendly or what, but a bit more forthcoming and pro-active would be nice.
2. the sauna/wellness room is small. With 4 persons, it's perfect. But as soon as 6 or more people use it, it gets too crowded to be comfortable.

But that's the only bad news. What's good at this hotel ?
Staff at the bar and restaurant is very friendly and forthcoming (thank you guys !)
Rooms are very nice, roomy and very clean
You get a free indoor parking lot ! Thanks ! When it's freezing and snowing outside, it's nice to know your car is dry and safe. Unloading and packing the car is much more comfortable this way.
Diner is really very good. Did I mention I'm Belgian so I know something of gourmet food ? This hotel had an almost-1-Michelin-star status!
For skiing, this hotel is tops : just cross the street and you're on the slopes. You're even straight on the Sella Ronda !

Just one more thing : when it's snowing, there's a snow plow clearing the parking lot in front of the hotel, at 5 o'clock in the morning . . . OK, these guys are just doing their job, no hard feelings, but it's good to know that this can happen if you have a room on the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gerrit-StPauwels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Fabulous hotel. The deluxe rooms are huge and have a sitting area with a full size sofa. The beds are comfortable but some might find them hard and they could do with a mattress pad. The pillows soft and squishy - perfect for me. There is a small desk and chair and a full length mirror in the bedroom. There is also a safe in the large closet. The rolladens raise and lower by a wall switch (better than tugging on the cord) and the room lights can be controlled by switches on the side of the bed. They have deluxe rooms with either a tub and shower available but I was told the shower in the tub creates lots of water on the floor so I’d get a room with an enclosed shower only. The bathroom has heated tile floors, a heated towel rack, a blow dryer, a rolladen for the window (again controlled by a wall switch) and all of the toiletries you would expect. There is a large shelf for placing all of your bathroom necessities out. The only issue I had with the bathroom was that the toilet was set very high on the wall; higher than a standard handicapped toilet. I did not enjoy this as it is always helpful to have your feet flat on the ground (enough said).
We had a half-pension plan which meant we got dinner and breakfast. Breakfast was typically European with eggs you could boil for yourself, breads, brötchen rolls, fabulous yogurt, mixed fruit, cheeses and meats, assorted cereals and juice. Only one type juice was served each day: guava or orange. Their coffee is delicious but they only serve milk to whiten it. I asked for cream one morning and that made quite a difference.
Dinner was out of this world!! It was a five course meal with salad, antipasti, appetizer, entree and dessert. You could choose your appetizer, entree and dessert from two choices. We had six meals here and every one was fantastic. The presentation of the dishes (particularly the desserts) made me feel as though I was eating in a gourmet restaurant.
The hotel is family owned and they are warm and friendly, particularly Vivienne who is a gem - always helpful. She took care of all the ice cubes my husband wanted and ice cubes are a rare commodity in European hotels.
Bottom line - you cannot go wrong with a stay here and I do encourage anyone staying here to book the half pension rate. The views from this hotel aren’t bad either as it sits high on a hill in Selva with a great view of the mountains from all sides.

Room Tip: A deluxe room costs just a little more than a comfort room and they are well worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AGoingGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selva di Val Gardena hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Miravalle
Hotel Miravalle
#49 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
183 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#36 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
220 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Armin
Hotel Armin
#13 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Condor
Hotel Condor
#23 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
185 reviews
0.4 km away
Garni Hotel Concordia
Garni Hotel Concordia
#67 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
75 reviews
0 km away
Garni-Hotel Bel Vert
Garni-Hotel Bel Vert
#54 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scoiattolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scoiattolo

Address: Strada Dantercepies 34, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#47 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range: €185 - €256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Scoiattolo 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Scoiattolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Scoiattolo Val Gardena/Selva Di Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing