We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
65
39
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
39
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews col raiser ski room lift skiing scenery slopes dolomites
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2017

I guess you can say that we are biased as we returned to the Kristiana for the sixth time last week. That is incredible in itself as we normally like to try out different places for our holidays as there is a big world out there but going to the Kristiana is liked going home to see family. And what a lovely family they are; Arnold and his three sons, Thomas, Markus and Lukas are really hands-on and totally understand the concept of customer service. Nothing is ever too much trouble and the service they provide would be enviable in any five star hotel.
The hotel which is spacious, warm and cosy is kept spotlessly clean from the heated ski/boot locker room, lounges, dining room and bar through to the bedrooms. The bedrooms on the 3rd floor are beautifully modern with huge bathrooms and balconies and whilst they are enviable we stayed in a standard double on the second we had a lovely room with great views from our balcony and a more than adequate bathroom with a shower over the bath. The room is a little dated but the quality of the furniture and fittings makes up for that and we were more than happy.
The food at the Kristiania is without doubt one of its star attractions. Breakfast is buffet style with a great deal of choice; cereals, fresh bread and pastries, meats, cheeses, fresh fruit, boiled eggs and maybe to suit the British clients they make scrambled eggs and bacon! The evening meal is always delicious with two choices for starters and main courses but there are a few alternatives available if you don't like the two mains. There is a plentiful supply of fresh salad to enjoy at the start of your meal or throughout it if you prefer. Desserts are always yummy. The wine menu is extensive and varying in price and Lukas or Markus can be relied upon to help you with your choice.
Whilst we didn't use the spa on this trip it is a lovely area of the hotel and beautifully equipped. Pampering from manicures through to massages can be booked up and enjoyed.
The ski area is great and although the snow fall hasn't been too fantastic this year the folk that work on the slopes, with the aid of dozens (maybe even hundreds) of snow machines, have kept the pistes in great condition. You can catch the ski bus right outside the hotel, it runs every 10 minutes and it takes you just 3 minutes to get to the lift up the Col Raiser or the underground railway to lift up the Sasslong. The pistes available amount to 500km......stunning!

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank discerning_divers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

I have just returned from Val Gardena where I spent a week with friends who were skiing. The hotel is very well-run with lovely staff, comfortable bedrooms and very nice food. It is clean and efficient and the evening meals were always excellent. The waitress who served us every evening was particularly attentive, present and kind as well as being as beautiful as an old-fashioned movie star! The ladies who cleaned the bedrooms were also very friendly and hard-working. While I had no need to have recourse to management about anything one can only assume that if they manage to retain such nice staff, they must be doing a good job.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marianf95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017

A group of 10 stayed here in March 2017 and very good it was! As said, run by the Stuffer family and nothing too much trouble. Food was excellent, and if you don't fancy what is on offer than they are happy to provide an alternative (you make your choice at breakfast for evening meal). Very good choice of wine as well and large bar area to relax after/before dinner.
Great ski and boot room with your own locker for each room and spa facilities on the same floor. Two of our party had massages and very good they were.
Rooms were clean with a safe and we had a bath as well as a shower.
Location wise if you are a beginner you will have a bit of a hike to the ski school at Monte Pana if you use just your lift pass. We ended up getting taxi's - it took us 1.5 hours to get to Alpe di Suise one morning! It involved a ski bus, the funicular, another bus, a chairlift, another bus.....so if you are a mixed ability ski group and want to ski together just bear this in mind. You can ski back ,conditions permitting to just across the road from the Col Raiser area. And it is 10 minutes downhill walk to the village if you fancy a trip to the shops, but just remember during the middle of the day the ski bus stops (and of course the shops shut midday as well) if you want to go further afield.
But as always, the scenery is the star of the show and the fact that we hadn't had alot of snow, they have making the white stuff off to a fine art!
Thanks for a lovely holiday Stuffer family.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank westcountryyokel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

This is an excellent family-run hotel in Santa Cristina. We stayed there in January/February for a week of skiing. The ski bus stops right outside the hotel, and there is a ski run right down to the hotel for the end of the day. Perfect location! The family that run the hotel are really friendly and will do anything they can to help you. The food was excellent every night. The room and bathroom were excellent - the bathroom was very modern with underfloor heating. There is a ski room on the bottom floor of the hotel - each room has an assigned lockable locker in the ski room, with heated boot holders. The local ski bus pass is provided by the hotel at no extra charge (included with the tourist tax payable locally). Would definitely recommend this hotel for winter skiing or summer walking!

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017

This hotel is ran by 3 brothers and their father - a lovely family who couldn't do enough to make our stay the best it could possibly be. Upon arrival we were greeted by Thomas who checked us in quickly and shared his in depth knowledge of the local area. Our room was very clean and comfortable with a maid service every day, not to mention a stunning view from our balcony. There is super fast free wifi throughout the whole hotel.
The lounge and bar areas have a real cosy feel, the main attraction being the huge fireplace. There is also an outside terrace with great views over the village with a mountain backdrop.
Unfortunately on our first day skiing, one of our party fell and broke her leg. As soon as we returned from the hospital the family were doing everything they could to make her comfortable and relaxed whilst still trying to help her enjoy her holiday. Throughout the week the brothers (Thomas, Markus and Lukas) helped in every way possible by organising doctors visits, booking taxis and liaising with the hospital. They went above and beyond many times to which we are extremely grateful.
The food in this hotel is excellent - always cooked and seasoned perfectly and alternative dishes were offered for those who did not fancy what was on the menu. The breakfast buffet was also vast and varied every morning.
We would definitely recommend everyone to stay here - we will certainly be returning!

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews