We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would love to return to Stella Hotel ”
Review of Hotel Stella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Stella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

We spent 6 days here and We would like to go back again and again. Why??
Kindness, availability, happiness in helping you are not only the trademark of the owners but all the staff work in the same way.
The hotel is perfectly positioned for skiers with the Sellaronda way passing just out of the door. The chairlift for the clockwise trip was on the back of the hotel. The Ciampinoi cabin lift for the anti clockwise trip is less than 200 steps from the hotel.
The rooms are wide, well furnished and quiet. The wellness rooms are just beautiful with ample space for sauna, steam bath, whirlpool and relax.
I consider the 3 stars level far too low for this hotel.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Pier Luigi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Grazia D, Proprietario at Hotel Stella, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear Mr Pier Luigi,
we thank you for your beautiful review. We are really glad that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel and appreciated our staff and our services.
We hope to welcome you again as our valued guests and send you our best wishes from Selva di Val Gardena.
Maria Grazia Demez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2017

Just returned after a skiing trip staying at Hotel Stella. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to return.

Location. Excellent access to the slopes for skiers. Providing conditions allow it, its possible to ski back to within 2-3 minutes walk back to the hotel. For beginners or less confident skiers, a ski bus stop is located 20-30 meters away giving access to nursery slopes. There are a number of apres ski bars nearby where a rousing time or a quiter drink can be had.

Rooms. Ours was a front facing superior room on the first floor. It was a traditional alpine style, very spacious, well appointed and comfortable.

Bar & reception area. Very pleasant and relaxing. Quite modern and stylish and the location for the weekly drinks and canapé reception which shouldn't be missed.

Restaurant. Traditional tyrol style, comfortable and spacious. For dinner there is a salad bar, a choice of three dishes each for starter, main course and dessert and a decent wine list. We enjoyed every meal we had. The breakfast buffet provides a choice of breads, meats, cheese, fruit, yogurt and eggs cooked to your liking on request. The waiting staff were all friendly and welcoming.

Wellness area. This is a real highlight with a fabulous spa pool area, sauna, steam room, waterbeds, showers and relaxation room. After a days skiing this was a perfect place to rejuvinate tired muscles ready for the next days exploration.

We found nothing to justify any criticism of Hotel Stella, for us the prime reason of our visit was to ski and enjoy the many fabulous huts on the mountain. It was the perfect base to enjoy our trip. I would suggest Hotel Stella is a great choice for couples or small groups who enjoy skiing most of the day, want easy access to the slopes and some comfort and style to return to.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trekfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Grazia D, Direttore at Hotel Stella, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2017

Dear Trekfinder,
we thank you for writing this detailed and beautiful review of our hotel and we are really glad that you've enjoyed your stay at the Stella. The appreciation of our valued guests is always a stimulus to keep on improving our services in order to offer them the best stay possible.
We hope to welcome you again to spend other wondeful ski holidays in Selva.
Best regards,
Maria Grazia Demez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017

First the GOOD points:

LOCATION is unbeatable, right between the 2 ski lifts. Only a few minutes walk!

SKI ROOM is fantastic. One of the best we have seen.

WELLNESS is excellent. Very relaxing and tastefully done. Although Steam Room could do with MORE steam. It is more like a "wet" room.

The STAFF are friendly and helpful.

The ROOM was nice and relaxing. We have ONLY had rooms in the new part facing the front. Many rooms are at the rear, facing a ski lift with little light.

Now for the BAD points:

The LIFT needs reprogramming. It cannot multitask. It is not possible to select more than ONE floor on each ride.

But the REAL let down is the RESTAURANT.

Breakfast is adequate but lacks finesse. Juice dispensers are topped up by big juice cartons. Why not use a jug? Brioche and cake baskets replenished with bags of commercially produced items. Why not bring the basket out of sight, fill it up and bring it back? It takes seconds.
Small points I know, but this is unprofessional.

Worst of all is the DINNER. South Tirol has lots of wonderful dishes but this menu was uninspiring and predictable.
Most nights PORK was on the menu. One night out of 3 choices ALL were pork.
1: pork ribs with chips. 2: kassler ham with sauerkraut. 3: eggs, potatoes and speck (smoked ham).

For a hotel with 3 stars Plus there should be more variety. All the meals we had at lunch at various other places were far superior. It has to said though, that when we requested something off the menu, our requests were always very willingly met by Irene, who was fantastic.

We have been to Selva countless times and stayed in many different hotels, INCLUDING Stella previously, and have never before been disappointed with the food.

I can only assume they have a new chef or have recently purchased a pig farm, which is now supplying most of the meat.

I am a great fan of pork and eat it several times a week, but even for me this was too much. Pleas use more fish, veal or beef. Even a vegetarian option a few times a week would have been a welcome change.

This review is not new, other reviewers have said the same.
It's better to deliver smaller portions and BETTER QUALITY.
Let’s finish on a positive note – the SALAD BAR was excellent and very varied.

Room Tip: I would not like a room at the back facing a ski-lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJ-tw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Grazia D, Direttore at Hotel Stella, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

Dear PJ-tw11,
we thank you for your detailed review.
Our guests' opinions are really important for us, since they let us see certain things from other points of view - our "strengths and our weaknesses" - and therefore allow us to improve our services in the best way possible in order to meet their needs and expectations.
Our best regards from the marvellous Dolomites,
Maria Grazia Demez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Spent one week skiing in January. Nice hotel, but pictures always lie. We had room in the old part and they do need an upgrading. The front and reseption area gives an impression of more luxury establishment, but the rest of the hotel does not fit that description. The staff was very friendly and the bar service excellent. The biggest disappointment was the food - then espesially dinner. Appeticers and dessert was overall good, but the main courses was below standards in my oppinion. During the 7 days we stayed there was porkmeat nearliy every day and 2 days with fish, and the fish was really not good. The cod dish smelled and tasted "old". Why not serve fresh water fish in a mountain area? There was allways a choice of pasta in addition, but you dont want to have that every day. The breakfast was good so i would suggest t take room and breakfast and the eat out for dinner. We dis not take advantages of the spa area so ther I have no comments. Again the staff was excellent, but the food quality lowered the total impression.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the section
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank umeGol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Grazia D, Direttore at Hotel Stella, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2017

Dear "umeGol",
we thank you for the time spent in writing your review and we are glad that you've appreciated our service and staff.
We will take into consideration your suggestions in order to improve and offer to our guests the best stay possible.
Best regards from Selva Gardena,
Maria Grazia Demez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

We just completed a wonderful week, 5 night stay (4 rooms) with half board.

The location is great, right on the Sellaronda. Walk to the gondola for green or go behind the hotel for orange. Both very close walks and ski in at end of day is just across the street.

Underground parking across street with tunnel access. Fastest elevators I've seen.

Hotel rooms are modern with a small table and plenty of space for gear. One room did smell of smoke which was disappointing. 402. Another room had some wifi connection issues. 404. The other two rooms were great. 307, 403. From 307 you can look at the lift loading.

The Spa is Outstanding. Very relaxing and restorative after skiing.

Half board is great. Great choices. Large portions. High quality preparation. Loved the pastas, salad bars, desserts. Yum. We ate all breakfasts and dinners and enjoyed many local restaurants for lunches.

Ski rental attached to the hotel gives 10% discount. Ski locker room provides a locker with booth warmers for each room.

Staff are very professional and focused on correctness. It seems not very warm but they smiled more as the week went on. Probably due to language and culture. We enjoyed them all they do a wonderful job running the hotel. It is clean and efficient.

Highly recommend. 4 stars due to the smoke smell room.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank travelto12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Grazia D, Direttore at Hotel Stella, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2017

Dear "Travelto",

we thank you a lot for your review. We are really glad that you've enjoyed your holiday at our hotel and that you've appreciated our services, our menu choice, the professionality of our staff.
Of course we'll do our best to solve the issues you've mentioned in order to guarantee our guests the best stay possible.
We hope to welcome you again at the Stella to spend wonderful holidays on the Dolomites and send you our best regards from Selva.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selva di Val Gardena hotels
2.5 km away
Hotel Jagerheim
Hotel Jagerheim
#12 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
159 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Corona Krone
Hotel Corona Krone
#41 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
169 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Comploj
Hotel Comploj
#38 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Romantic & Family Hotel Gardenia
Romantic & Family Hotel Gardenia
#17 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
376 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Serena
Hotel Serena
#30 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
219 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#9 of 97 in Selva di Val Gardena
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stella

Address: Strada Meisules 283, 39048, Selva di Val Gardena, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Selva di Val Gardena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
#35 Spa Hotel in Selva di Val Gardena
Price Range: €108 - €238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stella 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Stella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Stella Val Gardena/Selva Di Val Gardena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing