We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveller rating
178
26
5
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
178
26
5
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews little piece of heaven stayed here for two nights short drive region volterra
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 214 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2019 via mobile

I would definitely recommend having dinner at the restaurant and a drink at the bar. Quality is great and the view and atmosphere really amazing.

The hotel, however, is a different story:
- the bed was not comfortable and the bed sheets were not of high quality
- the pool was dirty
- the bar is right below the rooms (of the main building) and sometimes have parties until late at night

At 1 night we stayed there was a party until 2am and it was so loud we could not sleep. This is not what you expect from a hotel which is set in the middle of nature and costs about 250€ a night.

Lastly the management is unprofessional.
The hotel manager did not even apologize for the inconvenience of a loud party. She said that it was because we booked through booking.com that she couldn’t change our room, then she said they were fully booked and then she said she didn’t know about the party. It was ridiculous and no compensation was offered to us.

The highlight of the hotel is actually the breakfast which is really one of the best we had.

Bottom line: great food. Hotel management must be improved.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank yaelb187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesca V, Proprietario at Relais Poggio Ai Santi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2019

Thanks a lotto Yaelb187 for the kind words regarding Poggio ai Santi’s restaurant, position and breakfast. About the negative issues described, please note:

Swimming Pool: the European rules for swimming pools are quite drastic and we fully respect it. The water is safe and the pool cleaned daily. “Unfortunately” our swimming pool is surrounded by trees in the middle of the garden. It is now Spring and with the sea wind, keeping it without plants and pollen is a big challenge.

Beds: our mattresses have been carefully selected. No other clients complained about it, so it comes to personal preferences.

Bed sheets are provided by a company and we selected the highest quality. Though we did not checked the sheets, it may happen that one has a defect. We kindly ask our clients to inform the reception, to solve the problem if it happens

The bar: our Sal8 bar is probably the best one on the shore. Its reputation comes from the quiet evening you can spend here, secluded in the park, watching the sunset. Each week we organise for our guests and friends an event with light live music, which is never loud. Our guests Yaelb187 had a room on the terrace, not directly on the bar which is one terrace lower. This evening, music stops at midnight and some guests staid later, not after 1h45 pm. It is a challenge to make all clients happy. Each hotel has events, wedding, parties and music. We know we need to protect our guests and have clear instruction to our staff. Our son is personally involved to check it and do it well.

As all our colleagues in the industry, we cannot offer a free night as it has been required. But Yealb187 left Poggio ai Santi with a gift and we strongly believe our staff, once again, has been respectful and educated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

One of my favourite places in Tuscany. Idyllic setting, wonderful staff, attention to detail... we love everything about Poggio.... relax, swim, read, explore, enjoy the local produce and fish in their great restaurant.... not to be missed

Date of stay: May 2018
1  Thank JenJenJen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

Short break in Tuscany
To see Andrea Bocelli in Lajatico.
Concert disappointing. This hotel was superb.
Very laid back. Everyone so helpful. Only three stars because of lack of room service, concierge etc. This beats every five star hotel we have stayed in.
Faultless.
Most relaxing time I’ve had in the last 20 years.
Thanks to everyone.
Food is uncomplicated and superb. Recommend rabbit stuffed with local olives.
Absolutely animal friendly, not so towards children. We are in our sixties. We will bring our grandchildren here in fifteen years time.
Please, do not change anything.
We have paid many times more for hotels in the past. Not a patch on this.

Room tip: We had room #8. Mare Superiore. Fantastic accomodation and views. Lion claw bath on the terrace. Can definitely recommend
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank cbdodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesca V, Proprietario at Relais Poggio Ai Santi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Thank you so much for the time spent to explain so well what we try to achieve year after year.
We have still so many ideas to better and details to add, heading to keep the same ambiance for our guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

I absolutely LOVED this small hotel. Gorgeous views, stylish views and delicious food served on a pretty terrace. The pool is small, but with plenty of loungers. I particularly liked the bar area - great staff, fun music and wonderful cocktails.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank maximilion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

This hotel is absolutely wonderful. The setting is spectacular. The rooms unique and interesting. The staff simply angels.

The rooms are located in numerous buildings throughout the property. The rooms are large and comprised of unique and creative spaces. Although very natural, they have all the conveniences of today's world.

They have their own gardens, goats, chickens (yes the rooster will wake you in the morning), generate their own energy, are organic, eco friendly, etc. etc. etc.

We highly recommend this hotel if you're in the area. Now that we've found it, we have our "private suite" to go back to every time!

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews