We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Virgilio
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Bristol(Riva Del Garda)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ambassador Suite Aparthotel(Riva Del Garda)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Luise(Riva Del Garda)
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parc Hotel Flora(Riva Del Garda)
US$185
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$227/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grand Hotel Liberty(Riva Del Garda)
US$1,494
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$188
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
4Limoni Apartment Resort(Riva Del Garda)
US$577
US$382
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Du Lac et Du Parc Grand Resort(Riva Del Garda)
US$332
US$291
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lido Palace(Riva Del Garda)
US$567
US$476
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$541/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (442)
Filter reviews
442 results
Traveller rating
267
135
33
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
267
135
33
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational holidaysfree bargala nightbicycle museumlake gardagreat holidaylovely family runovernight stopnational coachrefurbished roomjourney homecoach tripinclusive tripsa family run hotelolder roomsevening mealincluded trips
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 442 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2017

National holidays trip.

Much of which has been said in other reviews except for that the optional trip to Trento can be avoided.
Advised by driver that the town was voted prettiest town in Italy for the past 5 years based on it's flowers (blooms). The only blooms I saw were the 'bloomers' on sale in the numerous 'knicker' stalls in the tacky market.
Get the bus to Tobole instead.

Room Tip: 3rd floor looking towards the lake/mountain
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jobar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

There is a lot to like about this hotel. The food is good, the staff are friendly and the location is a good one. The rooms are poor unless you get a refurbished one. They are small and dated. The bathroom has a nine inch step from the bedroom. The shower is the worst one ever. The cubicle is extremely small and the temper fluctuates wildly from scalding to freezing. The breakfasts are very good with a wide variety. The dinners are strange. There is a lot of peripheral food, but the main courses are very small. Drinks are fairly priced except the bottles of water which cost five times the price in the next door supermarket. The staff are friendly, especially Kevin, Cannon and Wanda. I would stay there again when the other rooms have been updated.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished one.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Keith4529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

Lake Garda

Review of 8 day trip to Lake Garda, Verona and Venice - July/Aug 2017

This trip with National Holidays is not for the faint hearted. If the timings do not go according to plan the time spent on the bus gets longer and longer and the breaks shorter.
We were collected from Middlesbrough by a feeder bus that collected passengers at Rotherham and met other bus's at Woodall Services. Unfortunately for us we missed or had ferry cancelled at Dover so were delayed 2-3 hours. This meant we didn't get to Metz till 12.30 mid night for our overnight stay and cudnt leave till 9.30am as drivers needed 9 hrs break from driving. This then meant we had short breaks on 2nd day and got to Lake Garda hotel at 20.45 to go straight in for dinner. Apparently the bus usually gets to destination hotel at tea time.
Itinerary at Lake Garda hotel
Day 3 - Monday - free day or trip to couple of villages on lake at cost of £20 or 25 euro per person. Leave 9am. We didn't go but others said not worth it.
Day 4 - Tuesday - Verona,leave 9am. Well worth it but heavy going if weather warm.
Day 5 - Wednesday - Venice, leave 7.30am. We didn't go but others said very very busy and supper long day.
Day 6 - Thursday - free day or trip to Torento market £20 or 20 euro per person, leave 9am. We went expecting designer pretend stuff but only women's knickers and dress and shoes. Not worth it. One of women on our bus gad her bag stolen.
Day 7 - Friday - Boat trip to Limone and Marsella. Leave 8.45am. We didn't go but others said well worth it.
Day 8 - Saturday - 07.20 leave hotel to stop in Mertz overnight. Journey you take home depends on drivers but we did Italy, Austria, Germany then France. Gorgeous scenery. We arrived 20.00hrs ish.
Day 9 - Sunday - Leave Mertz 06.20am to try get am ferry home. We fortunately did so arrived in Dover 13.20hrs. Ferry journey 90 mins. If eating on ferry try get in Brasserie. Costs more but worth it.

Metz hotel stay in France. National Holidays uses Campanile hotels which are like Premier Inn's. The hotel in the town is new and lovely. The hotel in Metz that is near the industrial park is smelly and needs a good clean. The chinese near this hotel is fab. Qin's. An all you can eat and drink ( soft and alcohol drinks) for 20 euros. Its buffet style.
The hotel Virgilio Riva del Garda at Lake Garda is a family run hotel about 20 mins walk from the lake edge. The room we stayed in was tired and dated. The shower did its own thing. There is a free safe in the wall. The room was air conditioned. A must for July/August. The hotel is upgrading the rooms. I looked in one. These are more 21st century. Clean lines and minimal. The hotel has a lovely outdoor area with pool which is must to relax in after a day trip out.
Breakfast is continental style (7.30-9.45) but masses of choice. It is help your self from conservatory. The dining room where dinner is served at 19.00hrs is too warm to eat in as there is no air conditioning. National like you to run a room bill while at the hotel. Free drinks 20-23.00 hrs are a fantastic inclusions in price of whole holiday. You can get water, soft drinks, beers, red or white wine.
The whole journey from Woodall Services and back is 2876 miles. At 60mph that 47 hours of travelling on bus.
The mosquitoes bites are a problem. We used bracelets and sprays but nothing stopped new bites appearing.
The trip is great value for money.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
6  Thank catherine512016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

Me and my wife travelled with national holidays for 7 days from 30th july to the 5th august .Italy was having a heat wave at the time thank god they had a pool .Some rooms has been updated but the other rooms were very clean, its the second time we have stayed here and it wont be the last

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rob b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

I had a fantastic time. Staff were very helpful and friendly, food was great and amenities: pool, bar, sunroom and public areas were excellent. My hotel room had a balcony with amazing view of the mountains. The hotel's is located close enough to town for walking along the promenade and visiting bars.

Room Tip: I was on the second floor overlooking the front of the hotel, however, I believe all rooms have balconies with great views.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank dorothyroden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews