We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel for vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort
Ranked #9 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2017

Travelling with our children (22, 16 and 14), had two junior suites (#311 and #312) on 3rd floor on the garden/ swimming pool wing. #311 had a big balcony with garden and pool (and a hint of Lake Garda) view, room was spacious and suited us well. We had well equipped bathroom with bath tube. #312 housed our children, it had a dividing wall, so that our daughters and our son could well sleep in the same room. This room had bath tube and a separate shower. During our stay, the outdoor temperature was in between +25C (night) to +37C (day) so the efficient air condition in the hotel was highly appreciated. We all had bathrobes, towels for the bathroom and pool/beach towels. All the towels were changed daily. As leaving the hotel the last day at 2pm, and stayed at the pool, the staff offered us a possibility to use ground floor shower room to change clothes etc.
Hotel is situated perfectly, about 300 meters from the main road. The main road through Riva del Garda is a busy one, and actually noisy, but we were surrounded by olive tree field and local housing. Hotel garden was quiet, so taking a nap during the day was actually quite easy. Overall the hotel was quiet, and beds being very good, we all slept like logs.
We had half board, so we enjoyed a good breakfast and 4 course dinner every day. Dinner was so good, that we actually (even thou planned to go test restaurants in the old town) had it every evening (except the night we went to Verona opera festival and came back late at night). You could choose from 4 - 5 different options for all the courses. Dinner drinks were charged separately. On the opera evening the staff offered to us either to have lunch bags (replacing the dinner) or taking lunch some day. We took the lunch and that we could choose from their restaurants list.
In the hotel we tried the spa treatments, and found them good priced and many to choose from.
Garden and the pool was used everyday. As the garden was surrounded by vegetation, you could choose either the sun or the shadow. Pool had a shower, water is cleaned with sea salt and the temperature was just right. You could order drinks and food to pool area.
All the staff we met, who served us or we asked anything, was really knowledgeable, service minded and very very helpful.
I would definitely recommend hotel for all who want good premises, everything working, great location, good food and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 703tuulap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many many thanks for your lovely review. It’s wonderful to read your positive words and happiness about your recent stay in our hotel. Receiving a good comment makes us joyful, too. We are proud because with our service we succeeded in reaching your expectations. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. We are waiting for you.
Kind regards
Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (619)
There are newer reviews for Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 619 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2017

Riva at the top end of the lake, surrounded by mountains is a more interesting location than the more southerly locations. The trip was organised by Inghams who were extremely professional and helpful and arranged good excursions round the lake and into the spectacular Dolomites. Villa Nicolli is a quality hotel in a quiet location just 10 minutes walk from the centre of Riva. Romantic rooms are small but with a good view of the mountains and are immaculately clean. Staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast excellent as was casual lunch by the pool. 4 course dinner with a menu changing every day was also very enjoyable and the hotel quite rightly insisted on more formal attire in the evening in their elegant restaurant. Dinner was from 19.00 to 21.00 and the hotel was very quiet after that and the short walk into Riva was necessary to enjoy a more lively holiday atmosphere

Room Tip: Choose a romantic room at the rear of the hotel to enjoy mountain views
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JamesGilbyGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Buongiorno!
A big thank you for your feedback and your recent stay in our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holiday and our beautiful location. Lovely that you enjoyed your room, breakfast buffet, our friendly service and the elegance in our restaurant. We hope that you’ll visit us again very soon.
Best regards from Lake Garda
Villa Nicolli & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for a week as part of an Ingham's Lake Garda Highlights holiday. It would be great to award 5 stars, but unfortunately there were some irritating things that make this not possible.
Firstly, let's cover the negatives. The lift kept breaking down and on one occasion we got trapped it, on another we escaped just as it was breaking down. The lift and its doors were reminiscent of Arkwright's till in Open All Hours! The Otis repair van seemed to visit most days and there was only one lift.
Check out time is 10.00, which is ridiculously early for a quality hotel.
The balconies lack a table and even though we had two balconies in our junior suite, room 308, we had no table although there was plenty of space.
There is a ridiculous rule that if you put anything of your own in the minibar then you get charged for the entire contents and this is clearly stated in the hotel room guide book. Who thought of this one?! Utterly stupid!!
The good things.....
A nice swimming pool and spa area.
Plenty of seating in the lounge and bar as well as outdoors.
The food was excellent at breakfast and dinner, we were on half board. Ignazio and his team do a very good job and are friendly and attentive.
The barman and wine waiter, Renato, is outstanding and a credit to the hotel.
A good and extensive wine list, pricing is ok, if a bit higher than other similar hotels.
Our room was very pleasant and had lovely views out over the vineyards to the rear.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Buongiorno from Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort!
First of all thank you for your kind review and for sharing your opinion. Unfortunately there was a problem with the lift and the technicians did their best to solve it as soon as possible. It took some time and patience from all part because a piece was missing and the company was closed for the weekend. We understand certainly that it could have been an inconvenience for all our Guests and we are sorry about that. We hope that it did not spoil your holiday. Thank you for mentioning the positive points.
Check out is 10 a.m. (standard check out) but if you have any requests of keeping the room a bit longer, please inform reception.
Kind regards
Villa Nicolli & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

We've stayed many times around Lake Garda but this was our first time in Riva. The hotel is in a quiet location but not far from the centre. We had requested a room on a higher floor overlooking the vineyards at the back and we were given a room on the second floor. The view was lovely and the balcony only received sun in the morning, which was great for us as the weather was very hot and we like to sit out on the balcony in the afternoon after being out and about. The major downside was that the balconies had no tables so we were unable to play our usual ludo, dominoes etc. while having a glass of vino. I don't think we've ever stayed in a hotel with no table on the balcony! When we asked about this the receptionist just shrugged. Also, the balconies have no privacy at all - you could shake hands with the person on the next one.
The room was good and clean with a minibar and tea and coffee making facilities. There are strict rules about putting your own items in the minibar so we didn't dare - they will charge you for every item in the minibar if you do. As for the tea and coffee, we only drink black coffee and we were only allocated 2 sachets of coffee a day - one each - rather stingy especially as one day we didn't get any at all.
The bathroom was clean and functional but no 'green' policy here. There was no option to say we didn't want the towels changed every day. Tubes of shower gel, shampoo and small tablets of soap were provided but some days the maids took away half used ones and replaced them. Even a part used toilet roll was replaced by a fresh one. We thought this was very wasteful.
The food in the restaurant was the best thing about this hotel. We enjoyed it very much and the dining room staff were good and friendly. We found the wine to be more expensive than other 4* hotels we've stayed in and consequently we bought less of it. You could buy a bottle and keep half of it for the following night though.
We had visited Riva on day trips from other resorts before but found it to be too busy for us. But it was a great base for walks and for exploring further inland. We went to Arco, Lake Ledro, Torbole, Trento, Lake Tenno and Lake Toblino - all made possible with free bus transport using the Trentino Guest Card. The hotel will give you one but for some reason they don't seem to promote it at all. Nor do Inghams, our tour operator. Why, I have no idea.
We will definitely return to Lake Garda but probably not to Riva, We much prefer some of the other resorts such as Salo and Malcesine.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank mazjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Buongiorno and thank you very much for your comments about your recent stay in our hotel.
Good to hear that you enjoyed our quiet location and that we satisfied your special request regarding a room on a higher floor overlooking the vineyards. If it is possible we always do it with pleasure. There are no table on the balconies, but we have a beautiful big covered terrace and also a bar lounge that could be the perfect place for playing cards in the evening. Tables are very big and suitable for game playing.
Concerning milk for the room, no problem, just ask at our hotel bar and we will be happy to give you all the sachets you need: we do not put the milk automatically in the room because it has to be stored in the fridge and most of the guests live it out!
We are glad to hear that you appreciated the food in our restaurant: this is one of our assets.
Best regards
Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

Hotel is located couple of blocks from main road and it's very peaceful. Short walking distance to almost anywhere.

Our room was junior suite on third floor. View to vineyard and to mountains was really beautiful. Beds (including the extra one made from sofa) really big and mostly comfortable. Air condition was either missing from hotel or was totally insufficient. This was also discussed in reception and someone tried to "fix" it but no any help. After sweating one week during the nights too it was relaxing to get into cooler place e.g. in bus. Hotel is full of stairs (that's good exercising) and elevator was either broken (out of order twice a week) or unreliable in general (door not closing etc.).

Restaurant staff was very pleasant and quite funny too. Food was certainly delicious. We had half board and dinner was served a la carte style, i.e. selecting from menu antipasto, primo, secondi and dessert. Sometimes a bit difficult to understand what was being ordered but that's ok.

Non-standard (10AM) check-out was really disappointing combined with fact that elevator was broken once again and I had to carry all luggage downstairs on these narrow stairs. Normally I'd take it as exercise but when going to airport with no possibility to shower for a long time it wasn't nice at all. Hotel staff didn't offer any help during this check-out time even they know of broken elevator. I'm sure that for elder people it would be really difficult to get luggage downstairs.

WiFi is free however it was very unreliable (logging out every 30 mins or even more frequently). There was set also weird restriction of daily usage (I estimate it to be 200 MB) so I had to use various accounts but sometimes even that didn't help (login page just gave timeout). Another option would be use roaming and connect there all your devices which is also reasonable option nowadays in Europe.

Very likely we'll visit Riva again but not in this hotel.

Room Tip: Recommend lower floor rooms to avoid horrible elevator
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Henri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Buongiorno and many thanks for your review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed our quiet location, the food and your room.
Sorry instead to hear about your experience with the air conditioning and the lift. “Unfortunately” (or probably luckily for you...) you stayed with us in an extraordinary warm period and we are sorry if you felt air conditioning was too low. Concerning lift, we are glad to say there all the problems were solved as soon as possible. During the weekend unfortunately the technicians were not able to fix it because of a piece missing and the company was closed.
Check out is 10 a.m. (standard check out) but if you have any requests of keeping the room a bit longer, please inform reception.
Kind regards
Villa Nicolli & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riva Del Garda
0.6 km away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#2 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
615 reviews
0.6 km away
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
#11 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
851 reviews
3.0 km away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#3 of 33 in Torbole
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Grand Hotel Liberty
Grand Hotel Liberty
#15 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
1,177 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Luise
Hotel Luise
#3 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
646 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Sole Relax & Panorama
Hotel Sole Relax & Panorama
#22 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort

Address: Via Umberto Cattoni 5, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#8 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#9 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#15 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range: €137 - €280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, a Kingdom of harmonies, peace and wellbeing in Riva del Garda. Discover the thousand relaxation opportunities of Lake Garda: enjoy a spa treatment, taste delicious food in the restaurant Perla di Lago or stroll around Riva del Garda and the sorrounding area. An unique and exciting experience to fall in love with this small ancient world... Click on the video and make the trip start! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nicolli Hotel Riva Del Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing