We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bedrooms need attention !”
Review of Grand Hotel Riva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Riva
Ranked #55 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

Have stayed in this hotel twice before. It is in a beautiful location with fantastic views from restaurant.I thought food had improved from our last stay 3 years ago.
However the rooms have not improved. They are of a good size with pleasant bathrooms. The storage is abysmal! My mother aged 90 had no drawer storage in her bedroom and the open clothes rail was too high for her to reach-in fact it was too high for me to reach !
When we spoke to reception we were told all single rooms had similar storage facilities. Furthermore the lighting in the "wardrobe /storage area is non -existent. Almost impossible to see in this area after dusk as lighting in rest of room quite poor.
Another problem is no mirror beside a power point . Had to use power point in bathroom-not a safe option.
This hotel is in a prime position with great views etc. But it lacks soul.
Would I stay here again ? Not sure if I could put up with the facilities (or lack of ) in bedroom so probably not ,which is a real shame.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Eleanor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea V, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Riva, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Eleanor,

thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent experience in our hotel. We feel very sorry that we did not fully meet your expectations in terms of the provided wardrobe and storage area. We certainly will work on this problem as soon as possible. Nevertheless, we hope that due to our great location and excellent service quality we have managed to make your stay comfortable.

We hope that you enjoyed your time and look forward to seeing you again here at Lake Garda.

Best regards,
the Venturini family
with the entire team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (893)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 893 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2017

Paid extra for a lake view room tiny tired looking shoebox is what we'd call it definitely not a 4 star standard hotel .Air conditioning useless as was wi fi .Rooftop terrace had terrific views but let down with scruffy tables and chairs with cheap plastic sun beds.wouldnt recommend this hotel poor value for money !!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank elaineaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea V, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Riva, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking your valuable time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor. We feel very sorry for the inconvenience - occurrences of this kind are unacceptable. All of our rooms are equipped with fast WiFi and new air conditioning systems. Therefore I understand how disappointing it must have been as our staff did not manage to make things work. Nevertheless, we hope that due to our great location and excellent service quality we have managed to make your stay comfortable.

Kindest regards
the Venturini family
with the whole team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Fantastic front desc people for check in/out, information etc. Superb breakfast in nice surroundings and view. Clean rooms with comfortable beds and pillows. In the center of where everything happens in Riva, but only 3 min walk to the beach.

Room Tip: ask for room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Magnus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea V, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Riva, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Magnus,

Many thanks for sharing your valuable feedback about your recent visit to Grand Hotel Riva. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our clean rooms, as well as the views and the excellent location of our hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back for more memorable experiences on your future visits to Lake Garda.

Best wishes,
the Venturini family
with the entire team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

Staying at grand hotel in riva at the moment. I was a little intimidated by reviews before arriving.. no need .. love the hotel/ brilliant location, fantastic breakfast, excellent staff, fantastic view from basic room, nothing fancy about rooms but so what! Air conditioning working perfectly during current heatwave TG, would definitely come back

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea V, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Riva, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Marie,

We are delighted to know you have enjoyed your stay at Grand Hotel Riva thanks to the location, our views and the delicious breakfast. It will be my pleasure to pass your kind comments on to our team! We hope to have the possibility to welcome you as soon as possible to surprise you with another unforgettable stay at Grand Hotel Riva.

Kind regards,
the Venturini family
with the entire team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

I just spent a week in the Grand Hotel in Riva and it was spectacular. The views from restaurant and out door dining area on 5th floor were special and the food was tasty and plentiful. The bed room was comfortable and nice balcony to sit in sun.The staff changed towels each day and made beds and cleaned bathroom.Lovely memories of great week.Thank you

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Gertie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea V, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Riva, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Gertie,

Thank you for your review on your recent experience in our Grand Hotel Riva. Our guests' satisfaction is our biggest desire, therefore we are glad to hear that you appreciated our location nearby the lake, the views and the menu offerings.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back again!

Best wishes,
the Venturini family
with the entire team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
0.3 km away
Grand Hotel Liberty
Grand Hotel Liberty
#13 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
1,270 reviews
1 km away
Parc Hotel Flora
Parc Hotel Flora
#5 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
566 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Vittoria
Hotel Vittoria
#18 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda
Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda
#38 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
468 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Rudy
Hotel Rudy
#20 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
472 reviews
0.4 km away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#2 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Riva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Riva

Address: Piazza Giuseppe Garibaldi 10, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#21 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range: €77 - €173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Riva 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Riva is an elegant hotel in Liberty style in the historic centre of Riva del Garda, offering a breathtaking view of Lake Garda and the lush green area surrounding its banks. The interiors are completely renovated in a contemporary style with a touch of flair to allow you to experience modern style combined with maximum comfort and a price that is accessible to all. The Grand Hotel Riva is the ideal destination for those interested in taking a vacation with their family as well as for sports lovers or people coming to Lake Garda for business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Riva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Riva Del Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing