We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and great staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Garda Sporting Club Hotel
Ranked #31 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2017

At the beginning of July '17 we stayed here for ten nights with our eighteen year old son. The hotel is modern, a ten minute stroll from the town centre, so no view of the Lake (we knew this when booking). Rooms were quiet so we slept well. Good facilities i.e. 2 outdoor pools and an indoor pool. Gym and spar facilities looked good although we didn't use them. At reception the staff were always willing to help if we needed anything. At breakfast there was always a good and varied supply of hot and cold food catering for different nationalities. Omelettes, waffles and pancakes being made to order. Also a variety of fresh fruit and juices were available. The restaurant staff were excellent and very friendly. They greeted us with a smile every mealtime and went out of their way to accommodate our needs. Janina and Marina were particularly helpful with menu choices as my wife has a food allergy. They never seemed to mind how often they had to ask the chef for information on her behalf. Evening meals in the hotel were varied and enjoyable but unfortunately not many guests used the restaurant in the evening (their loss) so the dining room lacked atmosphere. Staff at the pool bar were helpful through the day preparing snacks and drinks.

The bedroom was kept very clean and bedding and towels changed almost daily.

The only negative comment would be that the air con in the bedroom was inadequate. Apparently the matter was being dealt with and may by now be resolved.

Thanks particularly to Janina and Marina for making this an enjoyable holiday. Their ability to be friendly and have fun whilst remaining professional was much appreciated.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2017

I booked a Superior double room at this (alleged) 4 hotel and I am wondering... Superior to what exactly? A Hostel a Motel? I'm also struggling to accurately describe the hotel without being unfair to the staff, who were very friendly and deserve better. However..

This is a basic hotel where everything is cheap... except the price.. Cheap ill fitting wardrobes and cheap units adorn a Spartan room. Industrial carpets in the hallways and an industrial feel to the stairwells. Two poorly dressed single beds pushed together is the "Superior double" and they don't even have a double duvet. Two single duvets. So couples or romantics beware, unless you are a backpacker looking for a single step up from a hostel you will be disappointed. This is a two star hotel. Disposable plastic cups in the bathroom, basic cheap supplies, No bedside drawers in the room and the low quality laminate peeling away and making wardrobe doors stick... Small TV leaning depressingly towards the floor, painted concrete walls throughout, peeling weathered varnish outside, and an institutional style breakfast room.. . I've seen better in some schools.. Plastic light fittings, small shower, even worn and torn towels!!!.. I was so disappointed having looked at the photos and hoping for something better for nearly 250 Euro per night. To be completely fair, here is the upside: The staff are friendly and efficient, the place is spotlessly clean and the pool area is quite nice. This hotel survives on its outside space and there were plenty of kids, families and locals enjoying the facility.. The gym is well equipped. The hotel is a very pleasant seven minute walk to the city.. This is the best I can do for the hotel. As a place to crash or as a family getaway it's not that bad but compared to others in Italy or globally I am hugely unimpressed with this two star..

Room Tip: For a good room I think you need to look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CMC777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 10 lovely days for our honeymoon. My wife and I and our 9 months old baby. The facilities are really nice if you're into sports and recreation. The staff is really amazing. Always smiling and helpful. And the food: really great and A LOT. I'm impressed and we're definetely coming back soon!!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Christian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2015 via mobile

The place is very good, clean and many services are provided.
Spa is excellent, gym and indoor pool too.

The big problem comes when u need to ask something to staff: cold and quick answers, no attention to help, "No is No, I said No! Not possible". Hotel timetable is extremely strict and nothing can be done in order to accommodate customers' requests, needs or emergency. "No is No, and I said No!!".
I was ready to pay, not even possible, "I said No!".
I will give just an example of different things that happened on 2 days: Breakfast is scheduled until 10:30 am. I went at 9:50, the buffet was poor in vegetables and other things were simply finished. I asked the waitress if it was possible to have things (why should I ask if this is breakfast time?) and the answer was: "You should have come earlier, eat what is there, kitchen is closed (at 9:50am!)"!!!!!!!!! WHAT???????
I insisted, she got upset, went to the kitchen and brought a few things 20 min later with a big smile on her face (kidding!!!).
Unacceptable for such an hotel...unless we take off a couple of those little yellow stars...
I repeat, the place is great but.....

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Elia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardaSporting, Proprietario at Garda Sporting Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2016
Google Translation

Come già riferito al telefono, mi scuso per l'episodio con la nostra responsabile delle colazioni.
Cordiali Saluti
Egon Tretter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2014

Just 10 minutes walk from lake shore. Clean, good sized rooms, lovely indoor and outdoor pools. Excellent breakfast and helpful staff- all at a very reasonable price. There were walks from the door and mountain views from the room/ balcony.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Durhamtraveller294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
0.2 km away
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
#10 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
902 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Villa Miravalle
Hotel Villa Miravalle
#26 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
234 reviews
1.5 km away
Parc Hotel Flora
Parc Hotel Flora
#5 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort
Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort
#9 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
645 reviews
0.8 km away
Grand Hotel Liberty
Grand Hotel Liberty
#13 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
1,236 reviews
1.1 km away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#2 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garda Sporting Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garda Sporting Club Hotel

Address: Viale Dei Tigli, 40, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Price Range: €143 - €251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Garda Sporting Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why is it an authentic Sport Hotel? Our hotel is surrounded by greenery in Riva del Garda. It stands amidst the trees of its 11,000 m² grounds, where you can take part in outdoor sports, set your mind at ease and soak up positive energy. Our establishment has a tennis centre, a spa and wellness centre, a fitness area, indoor and outdoor pools, and a bike storage room. We have sports equipment for individual athletes and for groups. We organize activities with guides and instructors, and we work in partnership with independent companies and professionals. Why is it more than just a Sport Hotel? The hotel has a 1,500 m² wellness area and spa in its location by Lake Garda. We can cater to your individual needs with customized care and wellbeing programmes to suit your body's requirements. We are always delighted to welcome children to our hotel in Riva del Garda! There are special areas and services for youngsters, so the whole family will have a fantastic stay. As you fall in love with the exceptional surroundings at the Garda Sporting Club Hotel, all of your worries will drift away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Garda Sporting Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing