We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$102
Hotels.comUS$102
PricelineUS$102
eDreamsUS$102
FindHotelUS$102
Trip.comUS$158
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (482)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveller rating
241
185
40
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
241
185
40
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews historic district on foot old palace great town old style common areas sat nav wifi worked well per day croissants room was large free parking square city reggio heart meats
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 482 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2020 via mobile

Really disappointed with this hotel. Service was shocking. Breakfast was poor and the waitresses were surly. However, special mention needs to be made of the hopeless receptionist. She was incompetent and rude with terrible attitude.

This place really needs to refresh the faded decor but more importantly to get rid of some of the awful staff.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank 413colinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UmbertoHP, Proprietario at Hotel Posta, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2020

Dear Mr Colin, I am the manager and owner of the Hotel Posta. I am absolutely surprised about your review and also really angry! you have reserved for your one night stay, two standard rooms and one economy double room (the cheapest!). at your arrival we have offered three complimentary up gradings to one suite and two junior suites and you thank you a lot my front desk manager for this special offer. You were surprised and happy and you have transfered your sentiment to my employee, then it has happened something with the restaurant that is not our direct fault. you have asked us at 8.45 p.m. to reserve a table in a restaurant for 6 people. friday evening is clearly all fully booked and more difficult especially for a party of six people!!! but the restarant attendant told us that one table could be left and you could wait until the time it was available. They didn't specify how long but you decided that it could be good to go and wait and may be drink a glass of wine. Then it is no more our problem. we have offered you a service but we can't be responsible for other activities. you can't offend my employees especially if they are polite, elegant and professional. V. (my employee) is really quiet and respectuful and she didn't offend or she didn't gave bad information. If we read other reviews all of them speaks about TOP service, staff Helpfull and really polite. the opposite you have found. I am sorry but I consider my Hotel not like your idea. I accept critical reviews if they are truth and not accept bad people. This Hotel need certainly to avoid guests like you. Rude, messy and arrogant. You have also left rooms in terrible condition and really dirty!! unrespecteful for chambermaids. if you consider to change your idea and cancel this review I will be happy to share a new experience with us. Regards, Umberto Sidoli (direzione@hotelposta.re.it).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2019

We enjoyed immersing ourselves into the pace of life in Reggio Emilia using Hotel Posta as our base for a week. The hotel is on the square directly across from the clock tower, so all of the city is just a few minutes walk away. Our room was a little dated, but the bathroom was newly renovated and the wifi worked well. The city was just getting ready for Christmas and our window offered a view of the square and all its activity. The hotel has limited on site parking for 12 euros per day with a reservation. They also offer a city tag for you to place on your dashboard that allows free parking in designated spaces within the historic center. We did this and had no problems with the car. They have very nice common areas and the breakfast buffet was very extensive and good.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DonnaandCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UmbertoHP, Proprietario at Hotel Posta, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2019

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your review! we are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. we hope to welcome you again in future! Best regards, Umberto Sidoli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2019 via mobile

Luckily the hotel has a talented employee who drove our car into the hotels limited car park through very narrow arches. Would highly recommend this help and also arrive early to get a space! Valeria was so welcoming and helpful on reception- always smiling! Our suite was old style but very comfortable. Loved the light and noise blackout blinds. We overlooked the square, above a bar and over a side street- room 108- can imagine it gets very noisy in summer. Breakfast was ok - quite average- but loved the Parmesan and meats. Scrambled egg had sat for quite some time over heat. Good tea selection and freshly made cappuccino was very nice. Reggio is a great town to explore on foot but beware of many bicycles!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank karenm24
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UmbertoHP, Proprietario at Hotel Posta, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2019

Hello, we thank you for your review. Happy to know that you have enjoyed your experience with us. We hope you will have again the opportunity to stay with us and appreciate other rooms or views! Umberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2019

In this historical building, dating back to the 14th century where the 'capitano del popolo' usied to live rooms are clean and spacious.
Breakfast is outstanding with the best croissant you have ever tried as they are hand made and baked in the hotel freshly every morning. Staff in kind and location is perfect.

Room tip: if you travel with children ask the suite on top, number 502. It has a HUGE terrace and 2 separate large rooms.
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 424michelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UmbertoHP, Proprietario at Hotel Posta, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2019

Thank you very much for your review! happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with our services. we hope to meet you in future for another stay! Umberto Sidoli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2019

We are a couple in our sixties travelling down through italy and stopped for one night.
As this hotel is located right in the historical centre we followed the sat nav and drove through a pedestrian only area(!), on leaving we found a more acceptable route. The hotel is an old palace in good condition. Reception is small and the reception staff a little 'brusque'.
The hotel is beautiful and our room was large but bathroom, whilst beautifully finished, was very narrow.
There is parking on site under cover and secure.
Breakfast is in an internal room ( hotel describe as 'art deco' but it is not). The breakfast was Ok but staff a bit grumpy, only replacing dishes when all had gone which meant you had to wait, for croissants for example, for the plate to be refilled.
The location could not be better.
Let down a bit by beakfast.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank purcellfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews