We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Magical Ambience, Over the top service, unforgettable views.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Hotel Caruso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Portland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Magical Ambience, Over the top service, unforgettable views.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

Just returned from Hotel Caruso in Ravello, and I must say I cannot wait to return. This hotel is a magical hotel out of a fairy tale, from the breathtaking views, unbelievably friendly staff, stunning decor and hand painted ceilings dating back to year 1100. the location on the top of the hill in Ravello cannot be beat, just a short walk to the town square of Ravello. The hotel provides a free daily boat cruise along the Amalfi coast that is a must do. We went on a 2 hour cruise on a lovely day that was unforgettable, we went all the way down to Positano and back. The hotel also provides free shuttles to Positano and Amalfi. Honestly, you can stay here at Hotel Caruso for 5 nights ( which we did) and never get bored. There are a ton of things to see and do right from here, and this town is the most charming village we visited on the Amalfi coast. Tons of great shops, 2 amazing villas to visit , some nice hikes right from the hotel to Scala or down to the next village over. Every meal we had at Hotel Caruso was 5 star, and the service matched. We feel like the dining staff are our family now, we got to know them and connected with so many amazing people who worked there. We visited some other hotels along this area, and glad we chose to spend most of our time at Caruso. Being in the travel industry for 18 years now myself, I can honestly say that this is one of my top picks for an over the top Italy honeymoon!

Room Tip: I would pay extra for a sea view its worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ReneeMeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    583
    60
    26
    8
    9
See reviews for
109
440
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

If you have the opportunity to travel to this majestic location in Naples, Italy....it is absolutely worth it. Ravello is a small town located at the top of a mountain full of history and majestic views of the surrounding areas. Hotel Caruso fits in perfectly with its history, views, service and friendly and attentive staff. The rooms are beautiful and the private terraces are fantastic.

Room Tip: Rooms with terraces facing the mountain side are worth every penny....just for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Addeop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Caruso during our honeymoon in June, 2009. It's hard to pin down exactly why this hotel is so amazing, but I would honestly give it 7 stars if that was possible. I travel a lot and stay in all types of hotels/resorts - from local mom/pop places to luxury resorts. The staff, the views, the food, the rooms - everything was just truly top notch. Absolutely perfect place for a honeymoon or romantic sojourn.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Recently spent a week here with my wife. The hotel is beautiful in a great setting overlooking the sea from the top if Ravello. We've stayed numerous times in Ravello and love it. this hotel is a fine destination albeit very expensive. Food , service , rooms all very good. More availability of simpler choices for dining would be welcomed on a longer stay but then again there are many optinons in the village for dining, from pizza to pasta to finer dining.
There are also other options for hotels including Palazzo Sasso, Hotel Palumbo and some recently remodeled palazzos. I can't however comment on there quality other than Sasso where we have stayed before which is quite comparable to Caruso. We would stay at Caruso again but may explore other unless their pricing becomes more competitive. $2000 per night for a Jr. Suite with breakfast and one other meal is pushing it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view but not directly below or above the dining room to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AstuteObserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

There's something magical about the Costiera Amalfitana, and capturing a weekend of blue skies and 20° temperatures in late October, with the Caruso as the context, made it all more than perfect. The setting of the hotel is breathtaking, and the rooms and service are exceptional. Perched high above the blue waters of the Tyrhennian Sea, the Caruso is nestled in the lovely village of Ravello, off the beaten tourist path and far from the madding crowds. The hotel is spectacularly perched on the hillside. Our room had a breathtaking view from its terrace, and despite the cool evenings, it was a real pleasure to stay outside and become entranced by the view. The bedroom was well appointed and the bed was very, very comfortable. The bathroom, white marble from floor to ceiling was spacious and equipped with every amenity imaginable. The shower cabin was large, and the tub, deep. As we had taken a suite, there was more than enough cupboards and storage....this room is beyond all reproach. As it was the end of the season, and a week before the annual closure, life at the hotel was a bit subdued. This being said, lunch by the pool was a real pleasure, and the staff could not have done enough to ensure that everything was great. The hotel does a good job arranging for transportation to Amalfi, Positano and Sorrento, and arranges for free shuttles a few times per day. The only off note of this property is the restaurant. The food was so-so and overpriced. For this type of establishment, I was expecting a much more imaginative and tasty cuisine. This being said, the bar and restaurant staff were very friendly, and provided outstanding service, with a particularly big smile to the sommilière, who was exceptionally well versed in her profession. There are few dining options in Ravello, but the hotel is able to arrange transport to and from virtually any restaurant in the region. All in all, this is a fabulous hotel, and a great alternative to crazier scene in the main tourist spots in this magical part of the world.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voyageur à paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
0.1 km away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#2 of 21 in Ravello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
3.0 km away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
4.6 km away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 km away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#5 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
9.8 km away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#4 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
2.1 km away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Caruso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Caruso

Property: Belmond Hotel Caruso
Address: Piazza San Giovanni del Toro 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Caruso 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Hotel Caruso is located in a former 11th century palace in charming Ravello, perched on a clifftop overlooking the spectacular Amalfi Coast. It boasts 50 splendidly restored rooms, of which 27 suites and 23 double rooms. Each room has its unique style and most boast a stunning sea view and private garden or terrace. Dining facilities include the Belvedere Restaurant with an elegant indoor dining room, an outdoor terrace adorned with ancient columns and an alfresco area close to the pool. It offers a superb selection of delicious Mediterranean food. The Pool Restaurant serves informal luncheons and drinks, as well as a salad buffet and original Neapolitan Pizza cooked in front of guests. Pizza-making lessons are also available. The Cocktail and Piano Bar is located on the first floor of the main building, decorated with original 18th century frescoes. Guests can swim in the incredible infinity swimming pool, seemingly suspended between sea and sky, join the Head Gardner for a special tour of the terraced gardens, relax with a signature treatment at the wellness centre or work out at the gym with a view of the coast. A complimentary shuttle service to Amalfi and Positano and a daily complimentary boat excursion along the coast during summer months are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotel.de, TravelUp and HRS so you can book your Belmond Hotel Caruso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing