We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (495)
Filter reviews
495 results
Traveller rating
300
130
38
19
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
300
130
38
19
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sister hotel organic garden cooking class amalfi coast wagner tours porter service lovely hotel junior suite your luggage swimming pool is stunning views five minute walk cold meats small balcony the main square our honeymoon town square
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 495 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Tucked away uphill from Ravello’s main square and with an amazing panoramic dining terrace (note restaurant not snack bar tables have the killer views), the food at this hotel is exceptionally good.

Prices compare to a UK gastro pub, but the food is a lot better. I could happily have eaten my way through the whole menu. As it was we didn’t get to the main courses. Two stand outs for me were avocado salad on polenta chips and prawns and scallops cooked on a pink salt tile.

The hotel itself is charming but don’t expect the latest in fittings etc, just embrace the period charm!

Ravello seems to be wedding central so you may have guests returning noisily in the small hours. But the food would make me return again and again...

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank StansPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViPa A, Front Office Manager at Villa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

many thanks for your kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have chosen the deluxe room. It was a great experience. Room was teriffic and traditional, breakfast awesome, parking extremely handy since parking is always an issue in the area. Very nice choice indeed.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViPa A, Front Office Manager at Villa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

many thanks for your kind review!
We hope to welcome you as opur guests again in teh very close future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Ravello is a beautiful little village commanding a hilltop above Amalfi. Villa Maria is perched almost at the top of the village, it’s terrace (where the restaurant is located) has uninterrupted views towards the south west with views of the sea and hills. (Admittedly this is the lesser of the views that is available from Ravello but only the very top hotels and restaurants have the view to the south east).

Access to the villa is by foot only up stairs (although luggage is transported on little trucks which can handle the very steep gradients on the narrow paths leading to the hotel).

The hotel is an old villa, and is decorated in the style of such a villa - there is a hint of 1920s about it. Our room was large and comfortable; we had a terrace area and all the amenities that one would expect of a hotel such as this. The bathroom was clean and, whilst not modern, very functional. We only really had one issue with the room in that the hot water was not hot, just lukewarm. We informed the hotel however they were unfortunately not able to fully resolve the issue during our two night weekend stay.

It should be noted that Villa Maria is a sister hotel to Hotel Giordano which is where the parking and swimming pool are located a short walk away.

Breakfast was served on the terrace; a decent continental buffet with eggs available to order. Our only disappointment was that the orange juice was not fresh.

We also ate at the hotel restaurant one evening; the food was very good. More rustic than some of the fine dining options available in town, however, it certainly seemed to be a destination restaurant. No dress code is imposed and as such some do arrive looking more beach ready than one would hope.

Taking into consideration the cost of the hotel (comparatively to others) this is certainly a good option. Additionally, the staff are incredibly friendly and accommodating and probably make the hotel what it is.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViPa A, Front Office Manager at Villa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for your very kind review!
You detailed description and suggestions mean a lot to us and it is what we look for to improve our services to ensure an Always attentive service!
We hope to meet you at our Hotel again and let you spend a memorable stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

The hotel is nice but its not the same as in the photos, the swimming pool is in another sister hotel, the rooms are very small and old , the view is not exceptional , the breakfast is rich and the staff are kind.
Conclusion; Ravello is a beautiful small village but this hotel unfortunately is not.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Ziad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

Everything has been well thought for guest arriving by car to this Hotel located in the heart of Ravello which is a pedestrian city. I didn’t feel at ease when driving my car in the very narrow streets of Ravello but this is just a matter of 300 m until you reach the garage of the sister hotel of the villa Maria. Cost of parking: 10€/day.
I was a bit disappointed by the room (#18) on the ground floor. I had a little terrace for sunbathing I never used. I didn’t like at all the bathroom with shower quite used but clean. But again it’s good to remind you that was a very last minute booking so it was one of the last available room in that part the region.
Ravello is a central location to visit the Southcoast of Amalfi.
The common parts are beautifully decorated and it’s worth having some time to read a book in the living room for instance. The court/garden where you can have your breakfast has an astonishing view over the valley.
The ladies at the reception were extremely helpful too.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank BBOtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews