We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (395)
Filter reviews
395 results
Traveller rating
296
48
22
13
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
296
48
22
13
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity terrace michelin star open to the public amalfi coast fairy tale your luggage dream wedding once in a lifetime hotel guests our honeymoon gorgeous gardens beautiful place favorite hotel dream come true a special place luxury hotel pool area is
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 395 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2018

I cannot imagine there are better views anywhere on the Amalfi coast than from the Villa Cimbrone. Having seen it on the "Trip to Italy" a few years ago we had vowed to visit one day. We were not disappointed. In spite of having to leave our luggage at Ravello Square for the Hotel to transport and walk up to the Hotel (approx. 10 -15 min walk uphill) it was worth every step to be transported into this little piece of heaven. The views were amazing from everywhere, the Hotel staff delightful. The gardens stunning as was the food and service. We had a junior suite with terrace overlooking the sea and the swimming pool. Beg, Steal or Borrow to go and stay there even if just only for a few nights.

Room Tip: Try to book a room with a terrace and sea view
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Juwit57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVCRavello, Direttore at Villa Cimbrone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Juwit57,

Thank you for your kind review!

We are really happy to reads that you have enjoyed your stay with us! I will share your feedback with the staff in order to continuously inspire and motivate them to deliver a remarkable customer service.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Villa Cimbrone.

Kind regards

Giada Falanga & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

After a treacherous drive we arrived frazzled, but the staff were completely unphased by this. They were attentive, knowledgable and helpful.

The food here is truly amazing; bursts of flavour from the tiniest morsels but don’t think you will leave here hungry, far from it. My husband thought that the small portions may not fill him up but the food just keeps coming and we couldn’t finish our desserts.

The tastes are stunning, a mix of traditional Italian and the innovative. It really was a meal to remember.

It’s known that the location is stunning but the hotel and grounds really are very special, beautiful views everywhere you look, the buildings themselves are well maintained but very traditional.

In all eating here was a wonderful experience and we will definitely come back and stay next time.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mobile647345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVCRavello, Direttore at Villa Cimbrone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mobile647345,

Thank you for your kind words of appreciation. We are happy that you appreciated your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Giada Falanga & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018

First of all, this hotel is not recommended to those who are not comfortable with walking. It’s about a 10 mins walk, up and down, from the place you drop off the car to the hotel lobby. The village where Villa Cimbrone is is very remote, far away from the ocean. Every time you’d like to go somewhere outside the village, you have to walk all the way back to the little transit area and then drive down or have someone drive you the winding road.

The view from the property, especially from the end of the gardens is spectacular. But because gardens are open to public, you can see the view if you pay just €7.00 of entrance fee even if you don’t stay at the hotel.

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights in June, 2018. We booked “Junior Suite with sea view” for €1030.00 per night from the hotel’s website. (Plus, parking was €35.00 per day.) The room had a view of the ocean (in the distance), but both the room and bathroom were old and not comfortable. We had to call the front desk a couple of times to fix the broken safe.

Our room was right above the restaurant. So, we had to hear what other guests were talking there and I was woken up by the voices of people at breakfast.

Service was ok. Staff was friendly and tried to be helpful. They helped us to make reservations of a couple of restaurants we wanted to go in Amalfi Coast and Capri during our stay, which was very helpful because we don’t speak Italian. But they seem to do what they want to do instead of what guests want them to do. When we were checkin in, we repeatedly told the lady at the front desk that we were EXTREMELY tired and wanted to rest before doing anything (since we drove from Rome.) But she took us around to show us the hotel and to explain things even after we asked her to do this later.

Restaurant inside the hotel was a bit of disappointment. We had dinner one night and breakfast a couple of times. Ambiance was very nice, but food was not interesting.

The village was nice. There were restaurants that serve tasty food. Also, there were LOTS of cats. We very much enjoyed seen them walking around.

I love the view from the end of the gardens of Villa Cimbrone. But for our experience at the hotel, I didn’t feel it was worth the money.

Room Tip: The room above the restaurant is noisy.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Akiko O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVCRavello, Direttore at Villa Cimbrone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Dear Akiko O,

Firstly allow me to start thanking you for the time you have taken to express your opinion about your recent stay.
Ravello of course is not a place for all! You must be a lovers of History, tranquillity and of course a nature and trekking lovers! Ravello it is not a place where you can find beach club as the village is is situated on the mountain far from the sea 315 metres
The hotel guest's doesn't pay the entrance to visit the garden and also they have the possibility to walk in eraly in the morning or at sunset time when the villa close at external guests.
For us Villa Cimbrone is not old but it is an historical building and for that we try to keep as much as we can from its history.
We are really surprise to read your comment about our restaurant. “Il Flauto di Pan” is a great gourmet restaurant and our Chef Crescenzo Scotti and his team work really hard to make his cousine an unforgettable experience. Most reviews on it talk about the amazing food and experience
Regarding the front desk we would like to inform you about that we try to suggest the best service for our clinets and some people from the staff comes from Capri so they try to give at the clients best tips. Sorry if we gave to you a different impression
I’m truly sorry for what happened as one of our primary goals is the quality of the care we provide to all our guests.
Hope to welcome you again at Villa Cimbrone to have a second chances, please do not hesitate to contact me directly, it will be a pleasure to personally take care of your reservation.
Best regards,
Giada Falanga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

Villa Cimbrone is a 10-12 minute walk from the center of Ravello and getting to it requires climbing up and down many sets of steps. The grounds, garden, and exterior of the hotel are very pretty. Villa Cimbrone has a small gym and a nicely sized (but cold) pool, a bar serving light lunch, and a fancy restaurant. We ate at the fancy restaurant and thought the food was fine but not worth the price, especially for the small portions. The breakfast served at the hotel was limited and underwhelming compared to our four star hotels in Rome, which was disappointing. We stayed in a Superior room for two nights, which was a good size with a huge bed (seemed larger than a king), and a large bathroom. The bed and pillows were too hard and not particularly comfortable, and the AC did not work well so we were hot at night.

While I enjoyed the beauty of the hotel, I personally do not recommend staying here. I did not think that the hotel interiors, dining options, staff, or rooms themselves are worthy of a five star rating or the expensive price to stay here. I thought the front desk staff was unusually cold and defensive towards our few legitimate issues during our stay, which is not what I would expect to find at a five star hotel (and I'm surprised that other reviewers had such different experiences dealing with them than we did--if you work in hospitality I'd think you would treat everyone equally...). I found the walk to and from the town to be annoying, and other than the pool and a stroll around the hotel's gardens (takes 45 minutes and is open to the public), there is nothing else to do on the property, and limited things to do in the town of Ravello itself. To me, Ravello is better place for a day trip, given that the whole town, various gardens, and shopping could be done in less than a day. However, if you are looking for a quiet small hotel, Villa Cimbrone could be right for you.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVCRavello, Direttore at Villa Cimbrone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Dear T L,

We would like to thank you for the time you have founded to write. We think reviews like yours are very important for our job.
It is a unique occasion to grow and improve.
I would have been very happy to talk with you at the property and have the occasion to reach personally your feedback.
We are really glad you have enjoyed the beauty of the hotel.
Villa Cimbrone is an historical building. Inside you have seen pieces from 16th century. We try to keep as much as we can from the past. The Villa has a nostalgic vibes. Here you have the sensation to be an another Era. This amazing feeling is also given by the unique location of the hotel. You just need 10 minuts wallk to be faraway from the stress of our century.
We hope to see you here again in order to have the chance to change your idea.

Best Regards,

Giada Falanga and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

When one considers the reasons for a hotel attaining “five stars” they may include the material attributes. Location, amenities, wi-fi etc are of course a requirement, but it is the intangibles that make a hotel truly memorable, particularly staff.
The staff at Villa Cimbrone are, without exception, brilliant. Friendliness and professionalism were displayed from the excellent manager Marco and all staff we encountered. They made our stay something we will cherish forever and we thank them deeply.
Villa Cimbrone is an absolute jewel placed upon the Amalfi crown. A once in a lifetime experience that will stay with you long after departure.
We cannot recommend this establishment more highly, it is a gift.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVCRavello, Direttore at Villa Cimbrone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Dear James H,

Thank you it is not enough for what you have written.
Your words are more than appreciate and make all the team and me really prod of our job.
We are glad your stay was “a once life experience” and you are keeping that after the departure.
It was a great pleasure had you at Villa Cimbrone. We hope to welcome you again.

Best Regards,

Giada Falanga and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews