We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”
Review of Hotel Montreal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Montreal
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Ragusa
Reviewed 1 August 2016

This hotel was recommended by a local journalist, friend of ours, who knows how particular I am for value for money, and a good restaurant.
He did not disappoint me. Not only is the Hotel friendly and spotless(the immaculate white towels, are changed daily), but the Half Board (that you could easily change for lunch), is more like "A la Carte".Actually, the Tucco Restaurant is popular for Business Lunches. The Hotel enjoys all modern comforts, like WiFi, Minibar and the Air Conditioning works perfectly. The position could not be better - right behind the Town Hall, on a quite side street, with it's own garage. All this, for a 3 star hotel - definitely BETTER THAN EXPECTED.

Room Tip: If you are a big person, check for a good sized shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2016

A nice decent hotel in the new part of town, uphill from the older part. You can easily walk from the hotel to the old part in about 15 min's via a a number of interesting stairs. You can also take a bus.

Staff at the front desk was friendly and helpful

My room was nice and clean with a small desk and TV.

Breakfast the usual Italian style with lots of cakes

A great advantage of the hotel is that it is opposite the entrance of a large underground parking. ( € 12,- / day January 2016)

Room Tip: The rooms at the side of the hotel are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeimenBurum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2015

This hotel is not locted in the old town; it is about 10 minutes walk to the steps that descend and cross the town to Ragusa Ibla and the main sights such as the Cathedral. This is not a problem - it is just that I see it described on several websites as being central and only 10 minutes walk from the Cathedral. I am a fast walker and it definitely isn't that; it is a reasonable walk - more like 20 minutes at least. Again, as I said, NOT a problem; just letting you know! The hotel is pleasant. The room we had was small but satisfied our requirements for one night. Breakfast seemed good; I didn't eat much as we went to Il Duomo ristorante for dinner the night before and I didn't need to eat the next morning! Service was pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PamAlbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria B, Direttore at Hotel Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2015

Dear Sir,
thank you for your comment.
please, be informed that we definitely are in the heart of Ragusa downtown which is not Ragusa IBLA. We DO are near St. John's cathedral of Ragusa which is only 100 mt far from the hotel.
The churh you think is the cathedral, is actually the Duomo of St. George and it is in Ragusa ibla. So the information you saw on the various website you mentioned, are correct and people need to know that. In any case, you could have asked for more clarification in order to be well informed.
thank you very much for your visit.
Kind regards

Gloria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2015 via mobile

Nice historical hotel in the centre of Ragusa city, full of all comfort, rooms are quite big ,clean with tv wf and bar, bathroom as well nice clean with modern shower.
You can taste the original Italian espresso and cappuccino wiling your traditional Italian breakfast.
Staff really useful polite and very friendly!

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Luca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2015

The hotel is in a good position. The room was clean, What we did not like the shower as it is fixed so one cannot manage it as one likes. Breakfast was normal except that we had stale bread. Rai stations did not exist on television only Mediaset stations starting from Canal 5. Unfortunately we could not try the restaurant as it was closed on Saturday evening. We only stayed for 1 night.

Room Tip: Our room had a balcony on the street which was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank espiteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ragusa hotels
0.2 km away
La Dimora di Piazza Carmine
0.4 km away
Mediterraneo Palace
Mediterraneo Palace
#12 of 37 in Ragusa
540 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Il Barocco
Hotel Il Barocco
#16 of 37 in Ragusa
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 km away
Hotel Poggio del Sole Resort
0.1 km away
Hotel Vittorio Veneto
Hotel Vittorio Veneto
#17 of 37 in Ragusa
183 reviews
0.2 km away
Relais Antica Badia
Relais Antica Badia
#7 of 37 in Ragusa
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montreal

Address: Via San Giuseppe 14, 97100, Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Ragusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Ragusa
Price Range: €50 - €93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montreal 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Montreal Sicily/Ragusa, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing