We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel is in a good position.”
Review of Hotel Montreal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Montreal
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Ragusa
Reviewed 7 October 2015

The hotel is in a good position. The room was clean, What we did not like the shower as it is fixed so one cannot manage it as one likes. Breakfast was normal except that we had stale bread. Rai stations did not exist on television only Mediaset stations starting from Canal 5. Unfortunately we could not try the restaurant as it was closed on Saturday evening. We only stayed for 1 night.

Room Tip: Our room had a balcony on the street which was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank espiteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

This hotel is great, central, and the dinner was fabulous, but breakfast was typical of most Italian three star hotels.
What let down the hotel was there was not a full sized power point for an extension cord. I could not use my appliances that charge my camera.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Paige S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2015 via mobile

We were traveling by bicycle so should probably have stayed in the lower part of town but this is excellent value for a comfortable room, lovely staff. And we were surprised by the quality of the restaurant. Best meal in our two weeks in Sicily. Even the bread was amazing.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Grandma_Pig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2015

A wonderful hotel in the heart of Ragusa. I wish we could have stayed longer as we were very comfortable there. A 10 Euro taxi ride from the bus station. Very close to tourist information centre, grocery store nearby, a great base to explore Ragusa and Ibla. Room was very clean (thank you housekeeping staff - good job!)
Room design was well thought out - even though it was not a very big room (standard double), there was enough room to place our two large suitcases and keep our clothes and other stuff off the floor. There were enough plugs for all our gadgets (which is rare). The floor was laminate wood so our feet weren't freezing like they are on tile floors. Large bathroom with bathtub and separate shower, good water pressure.
There was a safe in the closet but we were not given the key, so I am not sure if there was an extra charge to use it -- I didn't ask. We did not eat at the restaurant, so I cannot comment on that. But the very nice hotel staff recommended a great restaurant (Taverna del Lupo - worth a go!)

Pros: Great location, smart room design, enough plugs, fridge in room, large bathroom, laminate floor, good water pressure, great breakfast, perfect wifi

Cons: Not much, but if I am going to nit-pick...
Change the small clunky TV fort a small flat-screen LED to modernize.
New carpet in the hallway.
Change the vacuum-like hairdryer for a real hairdryer

Would definitely go back and would not hesitate to recommend to others. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rosiecheeks29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2015 via mobile

Hotel Montreal is an older and slightly run down property in an excellent position in Ragusa near the cathedral. The rooms are basic but very clean. The front desk staff are extremely helpful. You are not far from the wonderfully historical lower quarter of Ragusa which is a real treat. The restaurant was the real surprise here. Beautifully prepared Sicilian fare. We ate a couple of our best meals in Italy there. Excellent local wine selection as well. A highly recommended economical hotel.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
Thank fosrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ragusa hotels
0.2 km away
La Dimora di Piazza Carmine
0.4 km away
Mediterraneo Palace
Mediterraneo Palace
#11 of 37 in Ragusa
541 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Il Barocco
Hotel Il Barocco
#16 of 37 in Ragusa
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 km away
Hotel Poggio del Sole Resort
0.1 km away
Hotel Vittorio Veneto
Hotel Vittorio Veneto
#17 of 37 in Ragusa
182 reviews
0.2 km away
Relais Antica Badia
Relais Antica Badia
#8 of 37 in Ragusa
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montreal

Address: Via San Giuseppe 14, 97100, Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Ragusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Ragusa
Price Range: €51 - €93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montreal 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Montreal Sicily/Ragusa, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing