We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury priced run down hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golf Hotel Punta Ala
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Punta Ala
Reviewed 25 August 2017

My partner came here since he was little, so this hotel is more a happy childhood memory for him. He was very happy to return this place, even the price is very luxury, compare with what we got eventually.

After a week in golf hotel, he has doubt and I have bad impression.

A few things we like:
The organisation in the beach area, we visited the beach everyday, the shuttle bus service is very helpful. No worries about towels, clean restrooms, showers are often maintained.

The restaurant offers wide range of buffet options, although it looks the same options everyday. Gluten free bread provided by request, we appreciated.

Some things we wish to improve, if the price is going to be same or even more next year:
The room ran down a lot. When the room lock unlocked by the key card, it makes 2-3 seconds of "unlocking" noice. At the night, the noice is even more disturbing.

The amenities looks cheap quality. Italy has so many great products, where are they!

The poor housekeeping service.
1. My step daughter spilt the water from the shower (partially careless and partially caused by the poor design of the shower door), I called room service to help to clean the bathroom. the housekeeping lady came, and pointed me the towel matt to use for absorbing the water on the floor. Is she expecting me to clean it? I replied to her: I noticed there are towels, but if you look around with your eyes, we need more that towels, and your service.

2. One day, we went out around 9, but the room were still not made up by 2pm. Random housekeeping schedule.

3. I was relaxing in my balcony around 10. A housekeeping lady opened the door and come in. She left immediately once she realised I am still in the room. Random housekeeping schedule.

Racial stereotyping staff in Spa. I'm not accusing anybody, but I wish staffs should be more sensitive to this regards. I took my step daughter with me to have manicure & pedicure together. First of all, they don't have 2 pedicure chairs available at the same time, so I was arranged to lay on the bed to have my man & pedi, which were not very comfortable. My step daughter sits in the next room, we can see each other through the connecting door.
Perhaps my Chinese background made the staff who curious about the relationship between me and my European step daughter.
The staff who was doing my nails, crossed the room, used Italian, asked my step daughter "Is she your babysitter?". My step daughter answered the question gracefully, I'm very proud.
However, I don't like this kind of assumption at all.
Managers, If human equality is too big to put into staff training. The simple solution for your staffs is, don't ask, swallow your curiosity. The world is too comprehensive to assume anything.

With the price we paid, run down facilities, random housekeeping service, insensitive staff. We doubted that we will be here again. Let the childhood memories, stays as memories.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mavis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniele P, Guest Relations Manager at Golf Hotel Punta Ala, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear Guest, first of all we are sorry for the misunderstandings and inconveniences. Nobody of our staff wanted to be rude, therefore we’re mortified. We noticed that some facilities were good for you, so we hope that you can give us another chance in the future. Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (670)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 670 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2017 via mobile

staff:
some friendly (shuttle bus driver, beach guys on our first two days: June 11/12), others a bit helpless

room:
OK, but in a very old, run-down wing of the building with a looong hallway and closed second reception/bar - we hated (!) walking there ...

breakfast:
pretty wide choice, but everyday the same and food not of the highest quality

beach: nice

whether you like the hotel or not depends on what is important to you and in which part of the hotel your room is located ...

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ninscha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniele P, Guest Relations Manager at Golf Hotel Punta Ala, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Dear Mr. Ninscha,
thanks for your review. We are sorry that your experience in our Resort wasn’t fully satisfactory. We hope that you will visit us again and give us another chance!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

I was in this hotel for 5 days one week ago, I think onestly is very basic hotel, not 4 star service absolutely not 4 star for the food .
The products they used are very basic and the under quality !!
Onestly I think that i'ts was the first and tha last time in that hotel .....very bad
not try absolutely !!!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank danei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniele P, Guest Relations Manager at Golf Hotel Punta Ala, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Dear Guest, first of all we thank you for your opinion and for your time. We are very sorry that your holiday wasn't good. Usually guest appreciate our services. We guarantee only fresh products for the food. We hope that you give us another chance. Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

Dirty, old, uncomfortable hotel . The service is not friendly. I lived in luxe. The room was dirty and old, there were broken doors. Breakfast was with a
Big chooise, but plates, spoons, cups were dirty.
So, this hotel has an expesive prices, but everything is like in a cheap hostel. The safe was old, and i did not leave there anything, you can check the picture...the beach was normal, but if you want to relax with sunbed it will cost you 15 €
It was a terrible week...

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank mastache22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

Four stars superior...? Honestly, maybe not. The rooms are very normal average rooms. The furniture is very basic and the bathrooms would need some refreshing.
Check out at 10 am is definitely not four stars, not even three actually. Especially for a hotel in a holiday location, where you are not supposed to set your alarm at 7.
Did not really impress me for anything in particular. This said the hotel is clean and the staff are nice and helpful.
The beach area is very nice, and so are the restaurants.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Mangiabeviama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniele P, Guest Relations Manager at Golf Hotel Punta Ala, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2016

Dear Sir, thank you for your time. Guest reviews are very important for our hotel. We are sorry that your holiday wasn’t very good. We inform you that, if they want, guests can ask at the reception a late check out and if it is possible you can do it without problems. Considering that something, like staff, beach and the hotel cleaning, was not bad, we hope that you will give us another chance for a next time in Tuscany. Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Ala
0.1 km away
Gallia Palace Hotel Relais & Chateaux
8.2 km away
Riva del Sole Resort & SPA
Riva del Sole Resort & SPA
#3 of 22 in Castiglione Della Pescaia
742 reviews
1.2 km away
La Bussola
La Bussola
#4 of 5 in Punta Ala
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Baglioni Resort Cala del Porto
16.8 km away
L'Andana
L'Andana
#1 of 22 in Castiglione Della Pescaia
361 reviews
10.7 km away
Hotel L'Approdo
Hotel L'Approdo
#8 of 22 in Castiglione Della Pescaia
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf Hotel Punta Ala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf Hotel Punta Ala

Address: Via del Gualdo 2, 58043 Punta Ala, Castiglione Della Pescaia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Castiglione Della Pescaia > Punta Ala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Punta Ala
Price Range: €162 - €564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golf Hotel Punta Ala 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive 4 stars hotel in the middle of a 50.000 Square meter private park and located in the green Maremma region only 700 meters off the sea. The hotel offers a very well equipped private beach, a wide outdoor swimming pool, a 800 sqm modern SPA offering a wide range of wellness programs and beauty treatments, an elegant restaurant and large meeting areas accomodating up to 280 people ideal for events. The hotel counts 24 modern double rooms and 106 Tuscan style suites that can accommodate from 2 to 5 people. Golf Hotel is the reference hotel for the famous Punta Ala Golf Club, an amazing 18 hole golf course with sea view. Punta Ala is a tiny natural paradise in southern Tuscany in front of Elba Island. It is the ideal tourist destination for people wishing to spend their holidays in total relax. Wild coves amid greenery of Mediterranean vegetation are characterized by wide fine sand beaches, crystal-clear water and lush pinewoods. Only a few kilometers off, the inland offers the opportunity to visit fascinating natural reserves, suggestive archaeological sites and the most important Italian cities of art including Florence, Pisa and Siena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golf Hotel Punta Ala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Punta Ala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing