We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Il Pino(Praiano)
US$245
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$379
US$361
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alfonso a Mare(Praiano)(Great Value!)
US$177
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$205
US$194
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Holiday(Praiano)(Great Value!)
US$192
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$593
US$464
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$732
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,720)
Filter reviews
1,720 results
Traveller rating
1,428
261
25
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,428
261
25
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe busrooftop restaurantamalfi coasteggs to orderglass of proseccowonderful hotelsea viewshuttle servicestar servicethree starfree shuttlethird floorwelcome drinklocal beachamazing viewsour honeymoonowners and staff
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 1,720 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2018

My wife and I stayed here in early May while exploring the Amalfi coast. We had a fantastic 3-night stay, with the hotel serving as a base to explore Praiano and nearby Positano and Amalfi. I cannot say enough about the level of service we received while visiting. From the moment we arrived, a staff member came outside to greet us, showed us where to park and escorted us in to check in. They even parked our car for us once the bags were unloaded. At check-in, we were provided with complimentary flavored water and cookies while we sat in the lobby awaiting one of the hosts to meet with us about the property information, tours, etc. It was very personalized, as the host sat with us and asked about our interests, what we mike like to see and do while in Praiano. We were provided with maps, site information, bus schedules and tour times and costs. Our host even helped us set up a boat tour to Capri for the next morning. When she learned that the one tour operator was full, she found an alternate tour operator that had space and booked it for us.

Once we had all of the information we needed, she gave us a tour of the hotel, including restaurant, pool, rooftop lounge and finally our room. Important note: pay attention when they show you around, as we found ourselves lost a few times. We eventually found our way - and it was amusing getting lost in such a small place - but the layout can be just a little confusing until you get used to it. Not a negative factor at all, though.

The room was amazing. Our corner unit had incredible views of both the Praiano hillside as well as the sea. Our balcony had a small Jacuzzi, but we only used it once, as it had to be filled up with each use, which did take a little time. The wicker lounger on the balcony was incredibly comfortable. I actually fell asleep on it a few nights as I gazed out over the moonlit sea with a gentle breeze blowing through. One note of caution, although the balcony for the corner unit is private (meaning not shared), part of the wall that separates the fitness/massage area from the room's balcony is low. On several occasions, people looked over the wall. They were just looking around and when they realized we were out there, they moved along. Not a big deal, but don't plan on doing any au natural sunbathing :-). The room itself was small (as most rooms are in Europe), but very comfortable. We had 2 large suitcases, a few backpacks, etc. and had no problem storing them out of our way.

We dined in the restaurant on our first night. The food was delicious and service attentive. We came back a few nights later just for dessert and wine. Had we stayed more nights, we would definitely have eaten dinner here again. I'll share more details when I write the restaurant review.

The breakfast area, which is just off the lobby, is very inviting. We enjoyed our meal of fresh meats, cheese and pastries, along with made to order eggs (any way you want them), bacon and pancakes, while overlooking the sea. As expected, service was exceptional and the food quality and selection were incredible. After breakfast, we would head over to the reception desk area and they filled up our water bottles as we prepared to head out exploring. This was a nice little perk.

The hotel offers a shuttle during the day (not sure of the hours) that will take you down to town or to the beach. They will also come pick you up if needed. There are a lot of hills and stairs to climb, so definitely appreciated this after a long day.

The saddest part of our trip was having to leave. My wife and I are already talking about coming back to Hotel Margherita for our 25th anniversary next year.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FlyBuyKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea F, Proprietario at Hotel Margherita, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Dear FlyBuyKnight,
We thank to you for the time you have spent in writng this accurate review.
It is nice that you have enjoyed all our amenities. We always try to understand the custumers need and then we work in order to make their stay here unforgettable. It seems to understand that we are doing a good job. We wait you here soon! Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018

I am glad that I booked this hotel for my honeymoon because they have the best customer service.

- The hotel location is peaceful and quiet. It may not be very close to the main tourist location but it has easy public transportation to Positano, Amalfi and Sorrento etc. There's a bus stop right in front of the hotel that goes to Positano, and it takes less than 30 minutes to get there. For Amalfi and Sorrento, the bus stop is located at downtown Praiano, and it is about 15 minutes walk from the hotel. If you don't want to walk, the hotel provides free drop off / pick up service anywhere in Praiano.

-The hotel staff is extremely helpful and friendly. For example, when I emailed them about the transportation from the airport to the hotel, they replied promptly with different suggestions including clear information, direction and price. At the end, we choose taxi and the hotel staff helped us to book it. Also, the hotel can help you to make restaurant reservation and book tours. Eg. They helped us to book the Amalfi Lemon tour and the Capri tour. Our Capri tour was cancelled because of the weather condition (big waves) that the small boat cannot pick us up from Praiano but the hotel staff member suggested us to take the ship from Sorrento to Capri, and they printed the bus / ferry schedule for us. Capri is such a beautiful Island, and I highly recommend people to do the hiking from Capri to Anacapri (45 mins one way).

- The room is clean and tidy. The housekeeper helped us to make the bed even though we just go out to have dinner.

- The dining area is clean and beautiful. They have fresh juice, yummy pastries and baked goods for breakfast. Also, they gave us the Welcome drinks and homemade cookies upon check in.

One of the most forgettable experience is that we went to Positano for the wedding photos. When we came back to the hotel late at night, they gave us a heart shape cake and champagne for our celebration. Thank you so much for the sweet gesture. We hope to return to this hotel for our anniversary in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cman1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea F, Proprietario at Hotel Margherita, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Dear cman1113, thank you for the time spent to write a review to us. We are very proud that you have appreciated pratically everything. We try always to do all our best to make the holidays of all our Guests unforgettable. Hoping that we will have soon the opportunity to host you again, we send you our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed here on the last leg of our journey! It was a fantastic boutique hotel and the staff were extremely helpful. There's a bus stop right outside that takes you to positano I recommend doing this! Rooms were really clean and luxury beds! Don't miss the breakfast it was amazing!!!

Stayed: May 2018
Thank Katie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea F, Responsabile reception at Hotel Margherita, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Thanks for your beautiful words, Katie. We are very proud of so many compliments and we are very happy that you have appreciated our service, our food and our rooms. We try always to do all our best to make the holidays of all our Guests unforgettable. Hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

The hotel is in an excellent position with views of the Amalfi coast...staff are very heplful and friendly..spotlessly clean we had a very big room and it was really kept beautifully clean fresh towels provided twice a day.....menu would have liked a bit more variation although good and a lighter more casual menu for lunch. You are a liitle out of the way here and there are no bars as such and one very good restaurant next door but not much else. Thought it was a little overpriced but as I said staff excellent very very clean... food is good but a little variation on dinner menu would be good...enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lyndagreenuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea F, Proprietario at Hotel Margherita, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Dear lyndagreenuk,
thank you for your kind review.
We are happy that you have enjoyed our Hotel, the work of our housekeepers and all our staff. Regarding the variation of our Restaurant we have two different menu, the snack menu for lunch and gourmet one for dinner as well as the daily menu that change every day. We also do every monday night a special night with pizza and napoletan live music. In any case if our Guests have a particular request on food we have never said no in order to satisfy our custumers, it is the etic of our work.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

Like countless other people, my wife and I read through lots of reviews before picking this hotel for our honeymoon but none of them did the hotel justice.

Suela and her team treat every guest like royalty and Suela’s attention to detail planning our itineraries and restaurant recommendations added an exceptionally warm added value for us.

The hotel is stunning. The foyer and reception area with its marble floors and chic furniture with grand piano in the area where we ate breakfast are simply great. This level of detail continues throughout the hotel and the Margherita branding is brilliant too!

The bedroom was divine! The bed was super comfy and so spacious and the ambient lighting in the bathroom was a touch of class. The view from our balcony was breathtaking.

The hotel staff were impeccable and their hospitality is the best we have ever experienced.

The breakfast selection was varied and plentiful. We particularly enjoyed the freshly baked pastries and the pancake with strawberries and Nutella :-)

We ate dinner at M’ama’s restaurant on the first and last night of our honeymoon week as well as lunch on our first day and again, I can only say what a delight! Top quality food, impeccable service and great views!

We wished we did not have to leave to come home. We will definitely be back soon.

We will not hesitate to recommend to friends and family.

Grazie mille a tutti!

Cheryl and Andy x


Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank AndyBourke83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea F, Proprietario at Hotel Margherita, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear Cheryl and Andy, thank you for reviewing us. It is nice that you have enjoyed all our amenities. We always try to understand the custumers needs and then we work in order to make their stay here unforgettable. It seems to understand that we have done a good job. Regarding the breakfast, us you know, we use just fresh food, fresh fruit, homemade pastries, homemade yogurts and a lot of local delights in order to give you a good variety of food and a great quality. Suela also take the opportunity to thank you personally for your kind words. We hope you will came back here soon. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews