We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,316)
Filter reviews
1,316 results
Traveller rating
1,005
238
46
16
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,005
238
46
16
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolsun decklemon terraceour honeymoonprivate stairsjunior suiteprivate beachpool attendantamalfi coastbeautiful hotelamazing viewsmusic on the rocksbreakfast terracestandard roomjacuzzi tuboverlooking the seaturn down service
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 1,316 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2017

This is a great hotel! The staff are very friendly and everyone is smiley and welcoming. We had a junior suite for our honeymoon and it was perfect. The views from the balcony are amazing. The hotel is short walk to the centre of Positano and can either be reached by going down all the stairs and along the beach or along the road. It is also very close for catching the bus to Amalfi or Ravello. A wonderful place to relax and enjoy Italy.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaHC89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

From the first contact of price quotes, to the execution of our dream wedding ceremony, The Hotel Marincanto was AMAZING! My husband and I planned our dream destination wedding to the beautiful Amalfi Coast and fell in love with the beauty that this hotel offers.The staff, the facilities, and the view all contributed to an experience of a lifetime. We cannot wait to go back to Positano and stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leslieallen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

After much research I booked this hotel for my husband and I; what a great choice! Upon arrival we welcomed with a glass of prosecco and given the opportunity to relax a moment before being shown our room. The room was immaculate and elegant, although perhaps less "fancy" then American rooms. We loved it! We were ocean facing on the second floor and oh what a view! Seriously, we took so many photos from our balcony our friends likely think we spent our trip there. The common areas were lovely and very comfortable. All of the staff we encountered treated us so well and were very accommodating, I have never experienced such genuine service. You would like a cup of tea at ten at night, no worries we will fix a nice treat complete with biscotti. Our dinner one evening was excellent and when the wind blew up, the staff was right there with nice little shawls to keep off the chill. We also booked a massage in our room one morning which was fabulous and set the relaxing mood for the rest of our stay. Truly a perfect visit and one of the highlights of our two week trip. Thanks for helping make our time in Positano so special. Oops, I don't want to forget that I love how the cats are welcomed at the hotel and did not find them intrusive at all.

Room Tip: Request a sea view of course!
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank pmozz07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Beautiful hotel. Our room was a suite with two small balconies overlooking the sea and Positano to the right. Breakfast served in the room at no extra charge - lovely to sit on the balcony and enjoy at our own pace...you can ask for anything you like not just be continental. Friendly staff. Private access to beach club (but need to pay for sun loungers. Great terrace and also an infinity pool so not need to leave the hotel during the day if you don’t want to. Easy walk down to Positano central area - Positano is hilly and this hotel is on quite high up the cliff so you need to be mobile. Frank’s cocktail bar 2 mobs walk away - awesome spot to watch the sunset and drink gorgeous concoctions.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Happiness580636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

We have just come back from staying for six perfect days at the Marincanto Hotel. I can't stress enough how great it was! We chose Positano and the Marincanto Hotel, after lots of online research. It lived up to all expectations and actually far exceeded them. We were very lucky to have had six days of beautiful sunny weather which shows this hotel and location at its best.

We arrived late at night and were immediately warmly welcomed and greeted by name by the reception staff. As the hotel is many floors down the hillside, the entrance is actually quite a small one higher up the hill where there is just small carpark with an opening to a building with a lift and stairs. We went down two flights of stairs before realising we should probably try the lift, as all we could see were doors to bedrooms. We took the lift to zero and it opened to a lovely reception and lounge area with doors opening to a restaurant terrace.

Our room was few more floors down, via steps. This was still quite a way up from the beach so
we were looking forward to seeing views in the morning. When we looked out first thing, we were stunned by the panoramic view of Positano and the sea. The hotel is on the other side of the inlet so means that its view looks back to the town.

We had booked with Citalia and were delighted to be upgraded from a Superior room to a junior suite. This had a bedroom and lounge both with balconies and the same amazing view.

Breakfasts on the terrace were excellent. The waiting staff are all very lovely people. There are many great places to go to eat in Positano; many of them very nearby and others easy to walk to. We really liked Bruno, Chez Black and Ancora.

We could reach the beach via private steps down from the hotel. There was also another passageway of steps from the terrace up to the main street. This was quite a gentle incline. We actually found the hills in Positano were not a problem at all to walk back up, as they wind back and forth and are not too steep.

It is so easy to catch ferries to other places along the coast to explore for the day. We went to Amalfi, Ravello, Sorrento and Capri.

We will definitely go back to Positano and this hotel some day.

Stayed: October 2017
2  Thank 822pauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews