We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveller rating
156
100
20
5
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
100
20
5
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsil capitanobeautiful viewsuperb staysuperior deluxebig bathroomrooftop bardining terraceair conditionerstayed at this hotel for nightsbreakfast roommaking reservationsthe room was niceother hotelsjacuzzi tubstar hotellounge chairsmain beach
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 293 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Just got back from Positano. This is a terrific hotel - the staff was very helpful right upon arrival, especially Joseph. We were in room 31, the Annex, and I HIGHLY recommend it. You're away from the main hotel building, just across the pedestrian road up from the beach, so no car noise, no street noise, no hotel noise. And the view is PERFECT - you look down to the ocean. Nothing in front of you. Room is huge - like a loft apartment, wit the tub, shower and WC up the stairs (which is a bit tiring, but really no big deal). The breakfast was great, especially the chocolate croissants. We didn't eat at the hotel, but heard good things about it.

People complain about the hike up from the beach - where did they think they were going? You have to walk up to get anywhere, and Hotel Montemare is about as low on the cliffs as you can get.

I cannot recommend this hotel enough. hope to get back in the future.

Room Tip: If you want a big room, unbelievable view and quiet, ask for the Annex.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

We stayed at the hotel for 3 days. They did an amazing job for a 3 star hotel, but for the price, anywhere else we would have had a 5 star hotel.
I'm sure it was the area, and also the country but we've stayed all over Europe and for the price we paid, we would have gotten a lot more bang for our buck. This isn't a complaint about the hotel per say, as much as the whole area. Over priced hotels, nothing but over priced touristy souvenir and clothing shops in the village, and over priced restaurants. The only thing that was reasonably priced was the wine (phew!)
Positives for the hotel:
Amazing view
Courteous and helpful staff
Amazing breakfast
Clean rooms
Good bar, restaurant had a great view but food was average
Lovely décor and very charming hotel
Walking distance to the beach (albeit many stairs!)
Negatives:
Prohibits irons in the rooms (if you won't give us permission to iron, then maybe you should offer to do it?)
For the price we paid they have the nerve to add on extras like 25 euros per night for parking, and only 2 coffee pods to make coffee per day - every extra one was 1 euro (Why?)
Very concerned for the parrot they were keeping in a cage. He seemed very unhappy.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. Many people coplained about the noise but ours was very quiet
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Jeannine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018

the location is perfect if you want to be in the heart of Positano. The staff and their customer service skills far exceeded our expectations. From assisting with luggage, transportation, restaurant recommendations, and accommodating our food preferences, they could not have been more friendly or more considerate. The rooms were clean, spacious, and the ocean views do no disappoint. The breakfasts were abundant in freshness and choices. The bar is perfect for a prosecco!. The Il Capitano restaurant was one of the best meals we had! This is our second visit to Positano and we highly recommend this lovely resort.

Room Tip: deluxe with sea view has beautiful view
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

I came with a Backroads hiking trip for 2 nights in May. Absolutely loved it despite the steep climb to reach. The food is outstanding, the rooms very nice and the staff very welcoming. The view is breathtaking. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank LinguineLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

What a fantastic location!! We booked a seaside room and it was awesome to have the patio for late night wine drinking with some cheese & meat from the local markets. The hotel room was spotless and the front desk was friendly and accommodating. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews