We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Priceline
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (458)
Filter reviews
458 results
Traveller rating
315
99
29
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
315
99
29
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews acoustic isolation beach staff hotel management sunset italians
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 458 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2020 via mobile

The +:

1. Beautiful private beach with great transparent waters and amazing panorama on the nearby shores

2. Hot fresh water shower on the beach and working WiFi connection, which is very rare for Italian hotels

3. Very helpful and friendly staff at the reception, bar and restaurant. Really highly trained, give you the feeling of being pampered at 5* level

4. Good cleaning of rooms

5. Great food quality for lunch and dinner. Breakfast choice seemed a bit limited, but if you ask the waiter they offer different egg and vegetable options, so overall positive impression.

6. The hotel has amazing direct view on the sunset every night which gives a romantic feel to the holiday.

The -:

1. We paid for a room with a sea view and in first attempt got a room with a side sea view. On our request we were offered a better room but the question is — why not give the right room from the start?

2. The hotel does not prohibit hanging out wet towels on the room balcony and it creates an aesthetically unpleasant view that makes this hotel seem a mere 2* (photos attached).

3. The rooms have poor acoustic isolation — we could hear our neighbors taking shower, sighing and snoring.

4. I called the hotel a month before arriving asking what I can do to assure that we get a parasol in the first row at the beach. The hotel management answered that it was not possible to book a specific spot and that seats were distributed on arrival. This is a huge LIE. Apparently seats are booked for junior suite rooms and we would have loved to make an upgrade, but we were not informed about this before arrival and only learnt about that ON arrival when it was too late.

Then even worse, the first row spots are being booked in advance for returning customers and “friends of friends of friends”. This is the real Italian mafia — this preferential treatment that you get based on whether you know someone or not. This whole concept spoilt part of our vacation. I arrived at the beach at 8:30 on the first day and got a spot in the second row asking the bagnino (beach staff) to let me know once a first row was available. Of course they told me that it was unlikely and later I understand why.

Every day there were new guests arriving, and most of them were NOT in the suite rooms but they were getting the first row spots ahead of us. Based on bagnino’s attitude it was crystal clear — these are recurrent guests, and all the staff knows them and they were reserving these spots at the beach for them despite the rules that were explained to me at reception.

Same thing with the dinner spots. New guests coming and taking the ones near the beach, friends of friends of friends, and us — in the third row no matter what we asked for :)

Overall I would say it is a good quality hotel, but it may spoil the holiday for non-Italians and the Italians who have no connections to the owner or his friends. I will definitely not be returning to the hotel, because this unfairness to me was more important that the other advantages the hotel offered. I also have 140r followers on Instagram and I will be sharing the same review there.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank _R3396HZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

This stay was ruined the minute we walked through the door! The man on reception was arrogant and unhelpful. We’d been travelling all day and arrived about 7pm looking forward to dinner only to be told we couldn’t eat in their restaurant because my partner didn’t have long trousers! This was not stated anywhere on their website and was the only reason we chose this hotel over the Hermitage as it seemed more relaxed.
The remote location means you have to drive to anywhere else that’s decent to eat.
The bay & beach itself is quite beautiful and you get allocated sun beds for the duration of your stay.
Beach towels were €1 per day.
Breakfast was adequate but ruined by wasps all over it!
Rooms were small, beds hard but shower was ok.
This hotel needs to drag itself out if it’s own backside and show it’s guests some respect! It’s really not all that!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank chadan98
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeFerrari, Proprietario at Hotel Biodola, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad that you appreciate our location and beach. While I wish you had a better experience at your arrival and in our Restaurant. At the restaurant, only in the evening, can be accessed only with long trousers for a common label rule to our hotels as well as many others in the same category; in case the customer does not have them, the Maitre recommends to have dinner at the bar without supplement in the panoramic terrace: if this did not happen, we apologize for the lack of communication from the staff. Anyway we will take your feedback and use to try to improve. If you will give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests having every day.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

AC unit worked for first 15 min, then it just blew warm, smelly air. When I complained they said "Usually we do not turn on air conditioning in May". For a 4-star hotel to tell this to the guest is unacceptable, on their website they claim each unit is equipped with the AC and I paid for a chilled room but the temperature in the room did not drop below 24C.
Boring breakfast, fixed dinner menu.
2.5 star, no more.

Room tip: Check that the AC unit works
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 972alla
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeFerrari, Proprietario at Hotel Biodola, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2019

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience at Hotel Biodola, ad we strongly apologize for any mistake we might have done, however we can't agree with your feedback about our A/C. Infact we have a system that guarantee always chill temperature of the room compare to outside, even if it is a centralized system each room can regulate the power, anyway we apologize for any incovenince you might have had. Regarding the breakfast we are sorry if you did not matched your expectation in fact we do serve it in a terrace, surrounded by a flowering garden that borders the swimming pool, our breakfast is composed of sweet and salted specialties, biological and light products including eggs, omelets and crêpes cooked right before you by our chef. Every morning our pastry-maker bakes buns, cakes, pies with bio jams and plum cakes. All go with coffee tea or other beverages of your choosing. Moreove we can't agree of your comment about our restaurat menu in fact every night, we propose an impressionable array of cheeses with honey and jams at our buffet, and hors d'oeuvres, first courses, second courses and side dishes. Fresh fish and shellfish right from the sea in front of you! Finish this unforgettable dining extravagance by tasting one of our delicious cakes or desserts.Anyway we will take your feedback and use to try to improve. If you will give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests having every day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights. Check in was perfunctory, no wecoming smiles. No hotel tour or explanation of facilities.

The room was clean but dated, firmly in the late 70s. No modern touches, at all. A room safe that did not work. Air con that had been tampered with so that it had only one setting, and no display to tell you the temperature, this was not cool however. For the high room price you would expect proper air con. Penny pinching comes to mind.
No iron or ironing board in the room, none in the hotel! An ironing service - extra cost (hmmm) and not timely. Needless to say, evening wear was creased.

The hotel has a great setting however, the beach is amazing and facilities are good. It's a shame it is let down by the staff and the management approach.

If you want room service or food outside of set meal times then forget it. The reason this hotel gets its 4star rating is by box ticking. The mini bar acts as room service, pop, crisps and chocolate bars!

I would suggest that on the fine points the hotel is only 3star. Box ticking just about makes it 4. That's why they charge a higher rate.

When we came to check out we asked for s later time (only 1 hour) but we were rudely told this was not possible. No other hotels we've been to in the world has ever been so inflexible. No means No, apparently.

Overall very disappointed. Problems here as the competition next door, the Hermitage, is owned by the same company so we see no change unless management take on board user comments like this.

For repeat visitors, of which it was apparent that there was, they seemed happy and waited on attentively. However, if you don't treat new guests well, they don't come back, as we won't. A shame really as it all comes down to attitude, which needs an adjustment.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Martymusmaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeFerrari, Owner at Hotel Biodola, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Dear Mr. Martymusmaximus Wirral,

Thank you for appreciated the location and our private sand beach. While I wish you had a better experience at the check-in and Check-out, we strongly apologize for any mistake we might have done, however we can't agree with your feedback about our staff. In fact our staff welcome guests with a noble-minded competence which transmits into a truly unique way of expressing warmth for each and every visitor. Roughly 20% Biodola Rooms are renovated every year, and they all have furnishings in pristine wood inspired by Tuscan artisans.
Regarding the iron board, we apologize that you might not have received the correct information, in Italy we do have a law that in hotel room is forbidden to have an iron. Anyway we will take your feedback and use to try to improve. If you will give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests having every day.

Sincerely,
Raffaella De Ferrari
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

The hotel is located close to Portoferraio where you can find many cute shops and restaurants. The hotel has private beach, salted water swimming pool, tennis court, bar, each room has balcony or access to the garden, and food at restaurant was delicious. They offered buffet dinner on Thursday and live band which was great. Service was excellent, each staff really tries to please you, I highly recommend this hotel for family.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank lilykas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeFerrari, Direttore at Hotel Biodola, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for dedicating to Hotel Biodola your nice words and sharing your experience with the broad audience of Tripadvisor.
It is difficult sometimes to find the right words to express our happiness and gratitude for such a sincere message of appreciation.
We may only assure our guests that our commitment in providing our guest an unforgettable stay will always stay unchanged and we look forward to welcome you back soon in this Paradise.

Best regards.


General Manager
Raffaella De Ferrari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews