We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Agoda.comUS$170
TripadvisorUS$170
Priceline
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
32
8
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
32
8
5
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2019

I stayed here with Saga in April and enjoyed it very much. I spent half of my time doing cultural things and half walking in this beautiful area high up in the mountains. The food is excellent and so is the service. The Franceschi's are a lovely family and made our group so welcome. I much enjoyed dancing with Pietro on the Gala Dinner evening. The views from my room were lovely. The only problem I had is that there are no curtains so the room was light at night and I could not reach the shutters on the outside. There is tea, coffee and cake every afternoon at 4.30. The toilet is in the shower so one has to dry the toilet seat off with a towel if a shower has recently been taken! I liked walking along the old railway track from Gavinana to San Marcello. There are waterfalls and in the Spring lots of wild flowers. San Marcello is bigger than Gavinana and has a Co-op. I also visited the pedestrian suspension bridge at Mammiano which is accessible by bus from San Marcello and the views are lovely. It is worth getting the bus from San Marcello up to Cutigliano which is a tiny medieval town further up the mountain but you do have to change buses a couple of times. Most of the time the buses are the 20 seater ones but if you want to go to Pistoia you have to change at Campo Tizzoro on to a bigger bus. . It is possible to visit Florence easily from the hotel. Take the bus to Pistoia Station and trains are about every 10 minutes. It takes about one and a half hours to get there.

Date of stay: April 2019
1  Thank Bertie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2019

We enjoyed a week's vacation in Tuscany through SAGA holidays staying at the Albergo Franceschi Hotel in Gavinana. It is family owned and run and upon arrival we were made to feel part of that family. This factor even more so over the Easter period when many of the shops and services were closed. A fifteen course Easter meal was provided not only to the SAGA group but to others in the village, followed by an evening of music and dancing. The son-in-law is the chef and the food was, quite simply, first class. There was a choice of three prima, three seconda and three deserts each night, all different throughout the week. It is an opportunity to enjoy village life where a nearby old railway cutting offers wonderful hikes to nearby villages. Pistoia, Lucca and Florence are within easy reach by local bus and train; a very comfortable and scenic journey. The rooms are relatively small and comfortable and exceptionally clean; we benefitted from having a balcony room. The only negative was morning coffee which could have been a stronger European brand. We would return in a heart beat.

Room tip: Pay the extra for a balcony room.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kilravock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018

This family run hotel was way up in the mountains but it was easily accessible by public transport. It was 1,5 hours journey by coach from Pisa airport. The hotel was typically Italian with rooms well serviced although the en-suite was small it was clean and very acceptable.. the food was excellent with very friendly staff. An excellent hotel to stay if peace and quiet with an opportunity to do some walking is what you want.

Room tip: Balconies offer good views of the mountains and valleys
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lesmorris2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

Our first impression of this family run hotel could have easily have been spoilt because of the recent Italian air control and ground crew strike. Although we arrived late at night, the family could not have given us a warmer welcome. Even dinner was prepared and waiting with waitress service.
The hotel is charming, with considerable character, well administered and we soon felt at home here. The rooms are quiet and comfortable and sleep is not a problem, Even the church bells stop at 11 pm and don't start again until 7, a bonus if you're not used to them.
The restaurant is of a very high standard and gives you a good taste of Tuscan cuisine.
The hotel is ideally situated for walking, both for strenuous hikes up into the mountains as well as pleasant local walks in lovely countryside. It's at the meeting point of many long distance trails. The German Kompass maps, used with a Cicerone guide on Tuscany are invaluable.
For the more independent there are frequent buses to the local towns. The service is excellent and good value. Connections are not a problem as the next bus drivers wait for your arrival. They will also drop you off by request. Any problems, just consult the very helpful lady at the tobacconists where you can buy both train and bus tickets.
For the culture vultures. major towns are easily accessible this way. We caught the bus at 8 am, changed bus once, then took the train and were in Florence within 1 1/2 hours. The cost, approximately £10 return fare per person.
So, an excellent hotel in a wonderful location. We shall be returning.

Room tip: Four rooms have balconies. you need to reserve them.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dolwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

If you prefer a large, standard, impersonal hotel - all inclusive with all you can eat buffets then Hotel Franceschi is not for you. If, however, you would like a different holiday experience then you cannot do better than this hotel. Set in the tiny village of Gavinana in rural Tuscany this small hotel of 28 rooms has a lot to offer. Excellent dinners with authentic Tuscan cuisine. An attentive staff and excellent service all round. Other reviewers say that the hotel caters only for Saga guests, and although they are in the majority there were several Italians staying there during June and July.

We booked this hotel as the area was said to be good for walking and hiking and we were not disappointed. There is easy walking along the old railway track to San Marcello, Maresca and Campoterazzo and many more challenging walks along tracks in the hills around.

This hotel is quite isolated which is part of the attraction. After 11 pm the hotel is very quiet and we had the best sleeps of any hotel we have ever been in. There are only four rooms with a balcony, all at the rear and as we had booked one this may have contributed to the peacefulness.

We have travelled to Italy many times, but without a doubt this hotel gives the most authentic taste of the country. The fact that so many reviewers sing the praises of the Franceschi is a good indication that it is well worth a visit.

Room tip: There are only four rooms with a balcony - the views are better if you can get one of these rooms
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank pilotjohn33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews