We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Bar Duomo

Bar Duomo
Ranked #90 of 187 Restaurants in Orvieto
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

We stopped at Orvieto on our way to Rome to fly home. The service was very slow, 2 ladies at the next table left having just got bottled water. We had ordered cola, salad and fries. Left us no time to explore the Duomo. We hope to go back to the town again, but would not go here!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank JulieB8465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2018

good place for short rest and testing good italian meal. a few tables outsiede, a few inside and small room with airconditioning (4-5) tables. Pleasant and helpful staff, Variety of pizzas, not expensive.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pettyrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Went to Bar Duomo after we called up and checked whether they were showing the Australia v Peru match (which they actually didn't end up showing, but showed the France v Denmark match instead).

The bar had a nice outside dining area, but as expected with restaurants close to tourist attractions, was mainly full with tourists. Did not mind this, and was kind of expecting it.

But the service, I must say is the worst I've encountered in my 4 weeks in Italy! Once seated, we waited for about 5 minutes to get menus. Decided to go and ask the waitress for menus, as it seemed that we weren't going to be getting any. While looking at through the menu, we heard the table next to us complain about the service provided by the waitress. They could not wait to get out of the place. They'd asked for the bill, and the waitress was just at the bar playing with her phone. Anyway they eventually paid and left. As they were seated next to us, we managed to get our order in. By the way, the place was not busy, as we went for lunch at 2:30pm, which is normally late for Italy anyway.

After about 15 mins of ordering, we'd received a bottle of water we ordered, but not the wine, and no cutlery. Asked the young waiter (felt sorry for him as he seemed to be trying to pick up the slack from the waitress he was working with) about the wine, and he promptly brought it for us.

Our lunch arrived 5 mins later, a pizza, salad, and we'd ordered some chicken a chips for our 3yo daughter, which came after our meals. Yet we'd still not had any cutlery. Had to get up, go inside and ask for cutlery. The waitress brought only 2 sets of cutlery, so had to go and ask for another for my daughter.

To be fair, the meals weren't too bad. I enjoyed my pizza, although a little watery (capricciosa, probably due to the mushrooms).

We'd asked about them showing the Australia game as it was now 3:45pm and the game started at 4:00pm. They didn't turn the TV on till 4:05pm, and once on, they showed the other game, not the game we'd asked for or had been told they were going to show.

Went to pay, and got out of there to look for a decent bar that was showing the game. Complained to the barman (not sure if he was the owner or manager as well, seemed like it). He apologised and said I can offer us a coffee. I did not want a coffee, I wanted decent service, and to watch the game he told us they were going to show on the phone.

Will definitely not be re-visiting this place, and definitely would not recommend it to anyone. This place really needs to sort out their staff.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank danielazzopardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

3 of us ordered burgers and they were good but what is it with Italians and fries, stone cold, again.... Wife ordered Lasagna which should be easy for an Italian, we sent it back, reheated supermarket rubbish. And all burnt as well. Come on it should be easy for you guys. You know when we sent it back they couldn't care less. Oh well.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

It’s right on a Main Street so it seems that it can’t be great- but it really was! Friendly server, good selection of food, reasonable prices. We all had the pizza because the crust looked so incredible. It was! Great sauce, great toppings, not too much cheese for my family. They happily made a great vegan pizza for me. Paired with a wine from Orvieto, it was just lovely. Great dinner experience.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank NotesFromNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bar Duomo also viewed

Orvieto, Province of Terni
Orvieto, Province of Terni
 
Orvieto, Province of Terni
Orvieto, Province of Terni
 
Orvieto, Province of Terni
Orvieto, Province of Terni
 

Been to Bar Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing