We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,061)
Filter reviews
1,061 results
Traveller rating
774
227
41
14
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
774
227
41
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building pool bar peaceful resort alta rocca spa facilities star restaurant take home tasting menu recommend this resort booked a junior suite view from the balcony remote location wine and olive oil turkish bath large terrace on site restaurant stunning views
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 1,061 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2018

This hotel is amazing and the views are breathtaking. We were in Italy and France for 3 weeks and this hotel was our favorite and one that we will always remember. The spa treatments are excellent. The facilities are first rate. The food was outstanding. The staff was attentive and helpful. Stay as long as you can-you wont regret it!!

Stayed: July 2018
Thank ShaSha3434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

This is a beautiful resort with amazing views and impeccable landscaping. It's location is remote which is part of the charm -just getting there. The buildings, rooms and facilities are very modern, excellently styled and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was one of the best we had on our trip through Italy and the staff was very gracious and responsive. I highly recommend it!
The negatives: there is only one option for dinner which is quite formal and expensive. It would have been nice to have a more casual option, especially when wanting to lounge by the pool. The pool snack bar serves only drinks and some small snacks like chips, olives, etc. We are a captive audience since the location of the resort is so remote. They have a lovely bar/lounge area in the main building which would have been nice to enjoy a cocktail but was never open. Also the restaurant refused to allow take away so the only option was to leave the pool, get dressed smartly and go have an expensive meal. Second, the mattresses and pillows were quite hard and everyone of the 6 people in our party complained about waking with backaches and neck-aches. And lastly the walk from where you park the car, the restaurant and the pools is very steep and difficult both up and down, There are no allowances for elderly or disabled. Perhaps a golf cart would be helpful -if you are not physically able to walk well or climb hills then you must stay away.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mstius419898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018

2 years ago we visited Altarocca for a few days and this year we stayed for a full week.
The staff is helpfull and friendly.
The rooms are perfect, with excellent airconditioning and if not needed, anti-mosquito screens on the windows. Our room had a nice balcony terrace. The views on the vineyards and Umbria countryside are breathtaking.
The beds are comfortable.
Breakfast is very good although I would have preferred some variation in the sweet corner. (Not always carrot pie, but crostata for example).
The location is very close to Orvieto, but since on a hill, you need each time 10-15 minutes to get to main roads.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JurgenVD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed two nights here at this resort and can’t say enough. Our villa room was amazing with a huge king bed, double shower, soaked tub and view over the vineyards and valley. The two pool areas were so nice and relaxing with food and drink service all day. Breakfast in the morning was an amazing selection. The on-site restaurant served us two beautiful dinners. My wife enjoyed a massage for only 45 euro and we even had a wine tour and wine tasting event as well. First class resort and experience in the Umbria wine region. Highly recommend!!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank webb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018

We stayed at Altarocca Wine Resort for 4 nights and had such a wonderful time there. The resort is beautiful (photos don't do it justice) and conveniently located just a short drive from Orvieto. The room (gelsomina - they're named after flowers instead of being numbered) was beautiful with an amazing view and a big terrace. There are two pool areas, the upper one has the kid pool so the families tend to stay up there leaving the lower pool very tranquil. The buildings are surrounded by vineyards and we loved to stroll amongst them in the morning or in the evening. There's a nice restaurant that has a daily changing set menu of 4 courses (you get to pick every course out of 5 options that change every day) for 35e/person which was a very good value for money as the food was delicious. They also have an ala carte menu that was a bit pricier. Their wines are very good and also very good value for money. The wine tasting was one of the highlights of our stay, highly recommend! Breakfast was nice with plenty of healthier options as well which was nice, it doesn't vary from day to day though. The best part about this resort must be the staff! They're so nice and their dedication to service just gives the whole place this calm atmosphere. All in all we had a wonderful stay and would recommend a stay at the Altarocca Wine Resort to anyone wanting to relax while visiting the beautiful sights of Umbria (in addition to Orvieto, we visited Bolsena lake which was beautiful and the old town and castle just charming, and Civita di Bagnoregio which must be Italys best kept secret!).

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hensku2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews