We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View of Duomo”
Review of Wine Bar Hescanas

Wine Bar Hescanas
Ranked #154 of 187 Restaurants in Orvieto
Cuisines: Italian
Description: The Hescanas is a characteristic building made of tufa; once it was a medieval palace. It is placed in the square of the Cathedral; it was a wide terrace and room inside. It has a structure composed by a snack bar and a coffee. It is opened all day from the early morning to the late night, and it offers a service of a fast food for jobmeals, companies and tourist groups. It is rich in the choise of delicious gastronomic specialities, with a lot of tipical local wines.
Restaurant details
Description: The Hescanas is a characteristic building made of tufa; once it was a medieval palace. It is placed in the square of the Cathedral; it was a wide terrace and room inside. It has a structure composed by a snack bar and a coffee. It is opened all day from the early morning to the late night, and it offers a service of a fast food for jobmeals, companies and tourist groups. It is rich in the choise of delicious gastronomic specialities, with a lot of tipical local wines.
Reviewed 31 July 2018

My mother and I went for the day to Orvieto and we stopped here for lunch as we usually look for places that are bustling. Nice atmosphere and cool on a very hot Summer's day. Friendly staff and lovely food. It's bit pricey and watch for surcharge but worth a visit.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Monika E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2018

I traveled to Orvieto with friends to spend a day in the city. My friends and I stopped in here for lunch. The food was acceptable and the view of the Duomo of Orvieto was great.

However, service was below average and the prices are relatively high. My recommendation is to stop in for a cold drink only and enjoy the view. Then find another place for lunch.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

Given the position of this caffe right by the cathedral this was a bit of tourist trap and priced accordingly. However, it hasn't lost its true italian vibe. Great coffee with interesting little biscotti. We chose something very odd with cornflakes which hit the mid morning coffee spot nonetheless. The waiter appeared a little fierce at first but we managed to raise a smile with the use of our dodgy Italian which he took pains to correct. A lovely spot to relax and people watch if you choose to sit on the terrace.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank BridgetG1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018 via mobile

Make sure you know the cost of what you are buying.

Overcharged for coffee and pastries.

No apology when I called them on - like it was a normal event.

Furbo!!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank KenM604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

We were made very welcome on a wet miserable day in Orvieto. Warm welcoming staff for us and the dog. We never expect much in tourist hot spots and looking straight at the church this is about as hot as it gets. The food was perfectly OK, the wine better than passable, the service outstanding. Value for money? Factor in the location and three dishes and a bottle of wine for 51 euro. I think so.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank OutstandingW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wine Bar Hescanas also viewed

Orvieto, Province of Terni
Orvieto, Province of Terni
 
Orvieto, Province of Terni
Orvieto, Province of Terni
 
Orvieto, Province of Terni
Orvieto, Province of Terni
 

Been to Wine Bar Hescanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing