We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I good find this room in Rome”
Review of Hotel Duomo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Duomo
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Orvieto
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wish I good find this room in Rome”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We had a big, high-ceilinged corner room with windows on two walls. Very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkarchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    289
    61
    11
    7
See reviews for
151
408
38
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This small, family-run hotel is in the best location in Orvieto. Just steps away from the Piazza del Duomo and the cathedral, it's just secluded enough not to be in the center of the tourist swarms and noise. Many rooms have french doors opening to a view of the duomo and all are recently renovated, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Decent breakfast and the staff are very friendly and helpful. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gtime4156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We have stayed here several times before and were happy to be back at this charming hotel. The location is ideal, just off the piazza, in a very quiet location. We had a wonderful view of the Duomo and woke to the sound of bells in the morning. The breakfast is very good, accompanied by a very good cappuccino. The staff are very friendly and helpful and took our car off to park it overnight. The rooms are very spacious - we had a triple, with a well appointed and spotlessly clean bathroom. I liked all the artwork in the lobby and in the rooms. There is a small elevator, useful for getting luggage to the rooms, but we were happy to use the stairs the rest of the time. The only small issue was that we were located next to the cleaning supplies room and there was a lot of noise from the cleaning staff fairly early in the morning - so it's worth asking for a quiet room if you want to sleep in a little.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank italaphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This charming hotel is right next to the Duomo in Orvieto. The staff are very friendly and speak very good English. Our room was huge, even by American standards, and very clean. There were many great art pieces around in the room and throughout the hotel. We even had french door windows in the rooms. The breakfast selection was the largest out of any hotel we stayed at in Italy. I believe they serve breakfast on the patio in warmer months. Make sure you try the Gelato at the shop at the top of the stairs as you approach the Duomo from the hotel. It's on the left.

We would absolutely stay here again!

Room Tip: I would guess that all the rooms are great, judging by our experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa2488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We spent one night in Orvieto and I agonized over whether to stay here or at the Hotel Virgilio. I am very happy that we chose the Duomo. The Virgilio is right on the piazza and while that might be good for some, the location of the Duomo is off the piazza and down a level or two and felt slightly, but nicely removed and far more private.

We stayed in a Junior Suite and paid 140 euros, which included a very nice breakfast. The room was on the top level of the hotel. It was huge and had a great view of the Duomo to one side and a view of Orvieto out the other side. It was clean, well appointed, well maintained and surprisingly quiet. The bed was comfortable too. Everything worked and we had no problems.

Service was excellent. They made lunch reservations for us at La Palomba via an email before we arrived. We ended up being an hour late into Orvieto due to car rental snafus in Rome and the woman at the front desk called La Palomba when we arrived. They held the table for us and we had an awesome lunch.

I have nothing to compare this against, but I suspect it is one of the best hotels in town. We'd stay there again (hopefully for longer next time) in a heartbeat. The owner was a bit brusque, but that didn't bother us as everyone else was lovely.

Room Tip: Spring a little extra for a Junior Suite on the top floor. It was worth the extra $$$.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
0.5 km away
Palazzo Piccolomini
Palazzo Piccolomini
#7 of 30 in Orvieto
479 reviews
3.7 km away
Misia Country Resort
Misia Country Resort
#4 of 30 in Orvieto
291 reviews
3.8 km away
Locanda Rosati
Locanda Rosati
#5 of 30 in Orvieto
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Corso
Hotel Corso
#14 of 30 in Orvieto
273 reviews
0.3 km away
Grand Hotel Italia
Grand Hotel Italia
#21 of 30 in Orvieto
204 reviews
0.3 km away
Valentino Hotel
Valentino Hotel
#15 of 30 in Orvieto
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duomo

Property: Hotel Duomo
Address: Vicolo Maurizio 7, 05018, Orvieto, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Orvieto
#4 Romantic Hotel in Orvieto
#4 Family Hotel in Orvieto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Duomo 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duomo Hotel Orvieto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing