We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent local specialities in crazy cheap prices! <3”
Review of Cantina de Norsia

Cantina de Norsia
Ranked #6 of 48 Restaurants in Norcia
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Very friendly Staff, no added costs like coperto/servizio, prices like in a small town in Eastern Europe, with the best umbrian flavours in high quality - probably the best value for price restaurant I found in Italy. The decor is also pretty.
A wide range of local specialities, starting from assaggio di salumi (2-3 eur), through fantastic pasta (4-5), meat dishes and delicious desserts (fresh fruit, cakes, creams... I ordered assaggio di dolci for 3,80 and got 3 large sleces of pies and a bowl of some chocolate cream!!). Dishes big enough for two, so don't order too much!
We liked it so much we ate here for lunch and dinner.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 1,182 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2016

they are always very busy in summer, food is good (meat, cheese and soups in particular). Service is not the best since very few waiters are available and it gets very caotic. Not the place to be if you wanna relax, but the best place to eat well for low budget.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Man G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

I recommend this place. Go for the local pasta dishes! We did not try the pizzas. The wine is cheap, but not bad.
Very enjoyable. Seems to be frequented by a lot of locals too, always a good sign.
This is the kind of restaurant that reminds you why you're in Italy in the first place!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kuhander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

Dinner with friends, very casual place... Had to wait a bit for the table since it's crowded season.
The food quality I would say is good for the very cheap price we paid. 2 soups, 1 pizza, 1 truffle ravioli, water a 1lt wine, dessert 33€... The service was a bit rushy since the amount of people waiting, but all in all the food was good and peice really competitive

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Passenger1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2016

Most dishes here, pizzas, pastas, gnocchi , liter of vino are under 5€. A lovely young woman( who speaks very good English)) tries to run the whole floor with a little help from a teenish girl who literally can't open a bottle of wine.
The pizza, of which there are many choices, is cracker thin with no chew and half the prosciutto on the superior pie at Tartuffo just up the street. Also no locals picking up stacks of pizzas to take home!
The insipid lentil soup had one small grayish colored sausage that had none of the delicacy of the two fine sausages one gets at Priori,s across town. The three very thin small medium-rare chops of wild boar were quite gamey but that may be the norm, I have nothing to compare it to.
The clear winner here is Dolce, the mixed plate consisted of a tasty tiramisu(even if it was topped with puffed cereal) and three slices of tort as, one Apple, one tasted like pasticotta, the third of sfiodella(sp). Very good. Cappuccino was 1€, brandy 2.3€(tho I was brought the wrong one)
So, it's a bargain, but did you travel all this way to the pork and truffle Capitol of Italia to save a few bucks on a mediocre dinner??? Didn't think so, especially with all the great places to eat in Norcia! Enjoy it while you're here and go elsewhere!

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank onlaydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cantina de Norsia also viewed

Norcia, Province of Perugia
Norcia, Province of Perugia
 
Norcia, Province of Perugia
Norcia, Province of Perugia
 
Norcia, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Cantina de Norsia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing