We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the charm and history of the hotel!!!”
Review of Il Borghetto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Borghetto
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Montepulciano
Reviewed 11 November 2014

The hotel was built in the 15th century and our bed was from the 18th century!!! We loved our stay and loved our view of the wall and the outside of the city. My boyfriend and I were so glad that we found this hotel and loved our stay! The woman that was running the hotel that night was warm and friendly. She told us of the history of the hotel. We wish that we could have stayed another night.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

Typical hill town hotel...part of the old village ...simple decor... but Italian antique....the best part was opening the shutters and having the incredible view of the Italian countryside. Just like in the movies! Conveint walk to many local restaurants...just be prepared for uphill hikes...as Montepluciano is a hill top town. The hotel perfectly mey my needs...not luxury...but plenty of old world charm!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Very beautiful view from my room BUT no AC and 140 euro for 3 people !
I think that the owner should at least include the breakfast for this price.
The room are old but clean.

Do not go in this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarounette25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

This hotel is not as advertised and not what we expected for over 1,000 Euros. We booked a suite expecting it to be better than a standard room, it was dark, uninviting and awful. In fact it is nothing more than a rented room with a white fridge in the middle of it. The bed was very uncomfortable and there were no soft furnishings, just 2 small hard childrens chairs. Add to this next door's toilet which sounded like it was in our room, constant traffic noise from 0530 in the morning, no airconditioning (1,000Euros remember) we were glad to leave at the end of our stay. We mentioned our distisfaction when we paid but our comments were ignored. We always see the better side of "shabby chic" but this was plain shabby. Someone should take resposibility for this, it's a rip off. I doubt we can get any money back but maybe I can stop others being conned. Montepulciano is a delightful town though.

Room Tip: Go to a different establishment, seriously!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CameronTwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

This was the only truly dreadful hotel we stayed in in Tuscany. Any hope of salvaging any "charm" from this tired place was dashed by the inept and rude management. The manager refused to return our passports to us after we checked in, unless we paid the full (two-day stay) bill in advance, claiming that some other clients in the past left without paying their bills and that retaining guests' passports was this hotel's standard practice. After one night in this cigarette-smoke-ridden rattrap, we checked out early with passports in hand. Never again. So sorry, this is an exception in Tuscany.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Welltravelled044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
0.2 km away
Albergo Il Marzocco
Albergo Il Marzocco
#18 of 28 in Montepulciano
256 reviews
0.2 km away
Camere Bellavista
Camere Bellavista
#16 of 28 in Montepulciano
219 reviews
1.6 km away
La Frateria di San Benedetto
La Frateria di San Benedetto
#17 of 28 in Montepulciano
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#6 of 28 in Montepulciano
448 reviews
2.6 km away
Sant' Antonio
Sant' Antonio
#13 of 28 in Montepulciano
199 reviews
0.1 km away
L' Agnolo
L' Agnolo
#14 of 28 in Montepulciano
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Borghetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Borghetto

Address: Via Borgo Buio 7, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Montepulciano
Price Range: €103 - €140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Borghetto 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Il Borghetto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing