We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PLEASE PLEASE DO NOT STAY HERE”
Review of Il Borghetto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Borghetto
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Montepulciano
Reviewed 25 September 2011

This hotel is not as advertised and not what we expected for over 1,000 Euros. We booked a suite expecting it to be better than a standard room, it was dark, uninviting and awful. In fact it is nothing more than a rented room with a white fridge in the middle of it. The bed was very uncomfortable and there were no soft furnishings, just 2 small hard childrens chairs. Add to this next door's toilet which sounded like it was in our room, constant traffic noise from 0530 in the morning, no airconditioning (1,000Euros remember) we were glad to leave at the end of our stay. We mentioned our distisfaction when we paid but our comments were ignored. We always see the better side of "shabby chic" but this was plain shabby. Someone should take resposibility for this, it's a rip off. I doubt we can get any money back but maybe I can stop others being conned. Montepulciano is a delightful town though.

Room Tip: Go to a different establishment, seriously!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CameronTwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2010

This was the only truly dreadful hotel we stayed in in Tuscany. Any hope of salvaging any "charm" from this tired place was dashed by the inept and rude management. The manager refused to return our passports to us after we checked in, unless we paid the full (two-day stay) bill in advance, claiming that some other clients in the past left without paying their bills and that retaining guests' passports was this hotel's standard practice. After one night in this cigarette-smoke-ridden rattrap, we checked out early with passports in hand. Never again. So sorry, this is an exception in Tuscany.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Welltravelled044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

This is a very cute and tiny boutique hotel in the center of Montepulciano. The rooms are decorated with antiques and are clean. For the money, I think it is a pretty decent value for Italy in comparison to other places we stayed in Italy. I did smell cigarette smoke several times during our stay, so I'm not sure if the hotel is non smoking or not. The owner was helpful and very nice but I was a little "taken back" that she asked for "cash" as payment on our departure. Most other hotels in Italy will offer a "discount" for clients who are willing to pay cash, unfortunately she didn't offer this to us.
There are cats who "hang out" in the hotel and also on the reception desk which I am usually "ok" with-because this is pretty commonplace in Europe. However, I am pretty sure that I smelled wafting cat pee a few times and I found this also to be pretty gross. I also thought the amount of traffic noise from the street was pretty loud, as our window faced a busy street leading into montepulciano. Once closed, the noise died off, but then you miss the fresh air.
The restaurant across the street from this hotel called Borgo Buio is excellent and you shouldn't miss it. I had some kind of luxurious truffle pasta there and I will remember it for the rest of my life.
Overall, a decent stay that suited our needs. If we go back to Montepulciano, I probably will also be looking into staying somewhere else. I'm sure that there are probably other establishments there that are non-smoking and don't have cats...

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ONCNURSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2008

Il Borghetto is in a great location right within city walls. The room was clean and there was free parking on the street behind the hotel for our rental car. It is decorated "Tuscan style" with antique type furniture. The bed gave us a bit of neck stiffness as it was a bit soft and downslanting. The shower has just a drain in the floor with a curtain. Although there were "no smoking signs" the staff at the front desk sure do chain smoke so be warned about that! Overall, the location was good and the room was clean but if I go back to Montepulciano I will probably try to find another hotel to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank patrizio m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
0.2 km away
Albergo Il Marzocco
Albergo Il Marzocco
#18 of 28 in Montepulciano
256 reviews
0.2 km away
Camere Bellavista
Camere Bellavista
#16 of 28 in Montepulciano
219 reviews
1.6 km away
La Frateria di San Benedetto
La Frateria di San Benedetto
#17 of 28 in Montepulciano
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#6 of 28 in Montepulciano
448 reviews
2.6 km away
Sant' Antonio
Sant' Antonio
#13 of 28 in Montepulciano
199 reviews
0.1 km away
L' Agnolo
L' Agnolo
#14 of 28 in Montepulciano
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Borghetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Borghetto

Address: Via Borgo Buio 7, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Montepulciano
Price Range: €103 - €141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Borghetto 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Il Borghetto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing