We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Montepulciano
from US$131.52
More Info
from US$214.60
More Info
Reviews (332)
Filter reviews
332 results
Traveller rating
217
89
18
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
89
18
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine cellar tasting room etruscan cave high ceilings several floors super tuscan lasagna wine home light lunch huge wine barrels wild boar taste wines worth a visit take home different wines bread guided tour
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 332 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2018

Our group of 10 booked a private tour followed by wine tasting and a light lunch. The wine cellar is amazing and our guide was so knowledgeable about the history of the winery, the cellar and the town of Montepulciano. I suggest booking a guided tour because you get to enter areas not open to those going on their own. The wine tasting experience was great and the food was wonderful. We were never rushed during any part of our visit and the wine was excellent. We ever bought a case for our villa.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank Scooter210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018

We booked the Cantina de'Ricci wine tour and are so happy we did. The tour of the cellar was incredibly interesting and we opted to have the light lunch with our wine tasting. The wine is so good we are having a case shipped to us. Highly recommend this if your in Tuscany!

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank 287adelineb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

We heard so much about this particular enoteca and in fact it was recommended by Rick Steves. The cellars are indeed beautiful and well worth the visit. At the end of the cellar tour, glass doors open onto quite a lovely tasting area. Unfortunately the woman who served us was overbearing and rather pretentious, spending much of her time putting down other wine regions of Italy. As a sommelier myself I was disappointed in the tasting because of her attitude. I would not recommend this location just in case you have the misfortune of running into her

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

We stopped at the Cantina de’Ricci on our way from Rome to Florence at the recommendation of our driver, and our experience validated the decision to take a car and stop along the way versus taking the high speed train. Nestled near the summit of Montepulciano’s storybook streets, this little winery’s cellar is literally built into the hills; it’s all so picturesque that the setting seems fantastical.

We visited with two young kids (8 and 10) which is not ideal for a winery stop, but our host Serena couldn’t have been more gracious and accommodating. After a brief tour of the cellar (perfect for kids), we sat down to a wine tasting with what was described as a “lite lunch” in our itinerary, so we had no expectations on the food side. In that setting, the wine was bound to be delicious (which it was), but the meal was the unexpected star! A delicious caprese salad was followed by an assortment of fresh meats and cheeses and then topped off by perhaps the best lasagna I have ever had (echoed by the one other small group in the room).

When we ordered a few bottles to take with us and shipped a case of wine home, Serena was kind enough to wave not only the cost of our tasting, but our four person lunch. If you stop in Montepulciano (which you should), make sure to visit De’Ricci for lunch and a tasting!

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank HoboDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

We booked a tour of cantina de ricci through ‘getyourguide.com’. Although it is possible to go in the cellars for free, we found the tour to be much more informative and learnt a lot about this historic building.

The tour starts in the cellars and moves through to the cave at the end. Then you go to the tasting room- a lovely decorated place full of history. Here you taste three wines and have food (some bread and some meats and cheeses). The tour and tasting lasted around an hour. The wine here was some of the best we had tasted in the city (and we tasted a few!)

Staff were all very friendly. Would definitely go again.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews