We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A definite visit in Montepulciano”
Review of Cantina de' Ricci

Cantina de' Ricci
Book In Advance
More Info
US$127.23*
and up
Montepulciano guided walking tour including wine...
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised and happy to be here. This huge cellar is well preserved and is truly a master in the art of wine making in Montepulciano. Their tasting session was a real treat. The Etruscan Cave gives a stunning preview of the way wines are made here.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank chandan2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"wine cellar"
in 21 reviews
"tasting room"
in 17 reviews
"etruscan cave"
in 5 reviews
"high ceilings"
in 2 reviews
"several floors"
in 2 reviews
"super tuscan"
in 4 reviews
"lasagna"
in 3 reviews
"wine home"
in 4 reviews
"light lunch"
in 4 reviews
"huge wine barrels"
in 2 reviews
"wild boar"
in 2 reviews
"taste wines"
in 2 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 3 reviews
"take home"
in 3 reviews
"different wines"
in 4 reviews
"bread"
in 4 reviews
"guided tour"
in 3 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2018

To be honest, I have not seen many wine cellars. But in my humble opinion this is a very good one! We went down some stairs. Far, far down. So many stairs. But luckily we did not have to walk up all those stairs as we went out another exit. They had huge wine barrels. Then we got to a tasting room. We tasted 4 types of wine that they made. We bought the Vino Nobile and their Super Tuscan to take home with us. This place is well worth a visit if you are in Montepulciano.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank Marius G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

You have no idea as walk down the stairs that you are walking into history. The cellars are amazing. Even more so when you discover the well and the cave which dates back to 500 BC. The wine tasting experience is very good and not expensive. If you are near Montepulciano, besides the architecture, you should put this down as one of your experiences to have while visiting.

Date of experience: November 2017
2  Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

This place is great for a fun climb down into their cellars. They have some impressive casks down there which may or may not contain any wine aging. Not much on info about the area however. My advice would be to skip the wine tasting at the end and save your 3 euros. There are much better wines to taste in this town.

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank Chip1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

This was one of our best wine tours in Italy! Ron was our guide and he was fantastic! After taking an in-depth tour of the winery we tasted 3 different wines with a wonderful lunch and finished with a very special dessert wine! We stayed almost 2.5 hours and they never rushed us to leave. We ending up buying several bottles of their Reserve wine and their dessert wine and shipped it all back to the U.S. They also have very stylish women’s t-shirts that were very reasonable! Best tip - make a reservation!

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank Jim2344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cantina de' Ricci also viewed

Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Cantina de' Ricci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing