We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuscan Hill Town Holiday”
Review of Villa Poggiano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Poggiano
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2017

Stayed 10 nights in late May 2017. This adult guest focused property is a large historic family villa situated in a stunningly beautiful and totally quiet rural setting of olive groves and vineyards (think movie set but real) just outside the Tuscan hill town of Montepulciano. The public rooms and private guest rooms are historically period furnished and spotlessly clean. All service requests are met with the greatest efficiency and kindness by Stefania who resides full time on site and is a a principal member of the owner's family. Breakfast is terrific and attended over by a most able and courteous staff. Could not recommend a better property from which to tour the stunning beauty of the surrounding Tuscan hill towns, vineyards, and countryside. Will stay no where else but at Villa Poggiano when returning to this area of Tuscany.

Room Tip: Superior suite in main villa, large bedroom, living room, and bath. Beautifully furnished and sunse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank landdruddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner-Hotelmanager, Proprietario at Villa Poggiano, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

dear Landruddy
what a privilege to have guests like you and your wonderful wife.
it has been suche a pleasuer to have you here and i am very happy you have enjoyed your stay
If wish to see you again
kindest regards
stefania


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2017

My wife and I stayed at Villa Poggiano for a few days in late May on the second stop of our honeymoon. If you've been looking for the perfect location for an authentic Tuscan vacation, stop looking because this is it. My wife made multiple references to the movie "Under the Tuscan Sun" as we walked the grounds and lounged by the pool (the pictures online don't do it justice - it's stunning in person). As beautiful as the villa and grounds were, the best part of the experience might have been the staff and owner, Stefania. There is an air of casual elegance to this place, and while everyone is attentive, they make you feel more as though you're staying with family (albeit, very fabulous Italian family). They arranged all vineyard/winery tours, car service, Vespa rental and dinner reservations, and all of their recommendations were spot on. All in all, it was a truly perfect and authentic Tuscan experience and our only regret was that we weren't able to stay longer. Many, many thanks to Stefania and the Andreas (there were three!) for a wonderful, relaxing stay, and we're looking forward to a much longer visit to Villa Poggiano in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner-Hotelmanager, Proprietario at Villa Poggiano, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

dear Michael,
what a nice , charming review. I love your words "casual elegance" it is a fantastic compliment
thank you for each single lovely words and i wish to see you for a longer stay
Stefania and Villa Poggiano 's staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

We just stayed at villa Poggiano for 6 nights, as we wanted some relaxation in theTuscan countryside. We found villa Poggiano outstanding in every way - a large and tasteful room with excellent bathroom, beautiful grounds and pool with panoramic vistas of the surrounding countryside, friendly staff who really understand hospitality. It is in a great location only a 5 minute drive from the historic hill town of Montepulciano, which has, amongst other things, plenty of fantastic restaurants to choose from. Faultless and highly recommended!!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner-Hotelmanager, Proprietario at Villa Poggiano, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

dear Jonathan
i am so pleased to receive your positive comment about your stay at the Villa and thank you to have choosen us during your base in montepulciano
me and all the staff thank you for your fantastic review and we wish to see you again
stefania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

This quite lovely villa sits in an extraordinary setting. the suite was spacious and comfortable. They gave us an excellent recommendation for dinner, although there is not restaurant on the premises. Breakfast was pleasant. They have a very personal touch. We were only there overnight, but it was lovely.

Room Tip: The TV is in the living room if you choose a suite. I didn't care.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank agosfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
72sfn, Proprietario at Villa Poggiano, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Dear Mr Agosfield
thank you very to review us on TA and for your positive comment
I hope to guest you again and wish you can stay longer, our land and region is so beautiful that need more time to be discover
Looking forward to welcome you again
Stefania and Vp's staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

This was our third stay at the Villa Poggiano, and it was as wonderful as the two previous visits. Stefania has done a terrific job turning an already beautiful villa into a fine boutique hotel, which is easy to find and has ample covered parking close to the villa. Andrea does an excellent job of hosting new guests. The views of the Tuscan countryside, including Montepulciano, are magnificent. Listening to the wind gently blowing through the trees while sitting on the terrace with its wonderful vista is very restful. The breakfast is excellent and always includes homemade bakery items and yogurt. We recommend having a car for the easy 10 minute drive into town for meals in the evening. Stefania provides her guests with an excellent map to locate restaurants and the many parking lots in town. We especially enjoyed a fascinating cooking class arranged by Stefania at the Le Logge del Vignola restaurant. We hope to return for another visit some day.

Room Tip: We always request room number 5, which is a two room corner suite in the original building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Page M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
72sfn, Proprietario at Villa Poggiano, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

dear mr Page
it is always a pleasure to have repeting guest and to keep the quality the guest wish to find
Me and all the staff thank you to have been for your third time and I wish there will be a fourth time:)
I am happy that the cooking class at le logge del vignola work very well, when we can not accomodate a cooking class at the villa we have excellente partner
looking forward to see you again
stefania and villa Poggiano staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
3.3 km away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#3 of 28 in Montepulciano
295 reviews
4.6 km away
Villa Cicolina
Villa Cicolina
#5 of 28 in Montepulciano
393 reviews
5.3 km away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 28 in Montepulciano
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#7 of 28 in Montepulciano
440 reviews
5.3 km away
Hotel Tre Stelle
Hotel Tre Stelle
#4 of 28 in Montepulciano
491 reviews
2.7 km away
La Frateria di San Benedetto
La Frateria di San Benedetto
#17 of 28 in Montepulciano
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Poggiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Poggiano

Address: Via di Poggiano 7, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Montepulciano
Price Range: €233 - €255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Poggiano is a small Boutique hotel with only 14 suites, located in the beautiful and scenic country side at only 2 km from the closest town of Montepulciano ,is a real autentic jem Style, quality, attention at details, charme , atmosphere are only few of the aspect that you will find. Is a perfect place to start your daily excursion or just to stay and relax No restaurant but a superb and rich buffet breakfast. and for those that in summer want to stay all day and relax by the pool we offer a room service at lunch time we offer customized service as cooking classes, truffle hunt, yoga classes and yoga retreat, massage in your room, daily photograf shooting, wine tours, vespa rental and wee try to satisfy all guestes request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Poggiano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Poggiano Hotel Montepulciano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing