We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel”
Review of La Pia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Pia Hotel
Ranked #23 of 110 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel”
Reviewed 14 May 2011

La Pia is a great place to stay if you want to explore this area of Tuscany. Pistoia and Lucca are both short trips away on the train, as are Florence and Pisa. Montecatini itself is a lovely spa town. The staff are all friendly, helpful and knowlegable. The room we stayed in had a balcony and was really nice and the restaurant in the hotel does good food. Breakfast was also good. Considering the cost of the rooms this hotel is excellent value for money. I would recommend this hotel, a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claretandbluerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    64
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
62
81
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

My husband and I traveled to Italy for our 25th wedding anniversary. We spent 7 days in Tuscany and selected Monticatini Termo as our 'hub' point for it's convenient location (an hour drive from Florence, Pisa, and closeness to the train station).

My husband found La Pia, a family owned hotel, on the Trip Advisor and we both felt that it was an excellent choice. The rooms were very clean. Our room on the 3rd floor had a balcony and a nice view of the square outside as well as the Monticatini Alto in the distance.

We ate a couple of dinners at the hotel and found that the food was very good although we are usually very picky with food. There was a good selection for breakfast, which was included with the low hotel rate. But the best part of the stay at La Pia was the service and in particular that which was provided by Maria Pia, the owner of the hotel. Maria patiently spent hours with us helping us fine tune our itinerary, checking weather for the next day, or helping us find a good restaurant in the city or where ever it was that we were heading the next day. Maria's brother, Pieruho helped by picking up train tickets for us so that we wouldn't need to worry about them the next day when we were heading out.

I can go on and on about Maria and her brother, but the most important thing to get across is that La Pia, although not a luxurious hotel, is an excellent value for your dollar.

If we are ever again in the area I wouldn't think twice but book La Pia provided room availability.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 13FrugalGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2010

We have visited this hotel with friends for 4 days in October. The rooms were basic and very clean. In all the reviews the hotel was complimented for its quietness during the night, but in the period we were there also a childrens choir (about 50 in ages varying from 8 till 16 years old) had landed. This lead in the 2nd and 3rd night to
a lot of noise and rumour in the hotel. Maria and her brother did everything possible to regain the rest in the hotel but in our case they did not succeed. For our last night they offered to relocate us to a more quiet dependance of the hotel and we were surprised with an invitation for a wonderful diner on our last evening.
So at the end : Not so many rest at night, a wonderfull service and
hospitality, very helpfull with information, very clean rooms and indeed a wonderful location.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerjos2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

My mum and I loved our stay at La Pia hotel! This gorgeous family run hotel exceeded our expectations and we would happily stay again! Maria is a wonderful person who gives you the information you need and then lets you go, assuring you she is there if you need any help or have questions. The dinner was wonderful. We ate there three nights and loved every meal. So fresh and simple! Breakfast is great as well and the cappucino brought to the table was great coffee and appreciated. We had a tour that started before breakfast one day and they happily arranged cappucinos and croissants for us. The room had a huge bathroom and a balcony that had a beautiful view up to Montecatini Alto. There is also a lovely fountain and square in front of the hotel with chairs and tables for the guests to use. We did several day tours with Come and See Italy and Tanya, our tour guide, was one of the nicest people we have met in our travels. Definately do some day trips if you have the chance! The spas are also very indulgent and well worth the treat if you are in a 'SPA Town'! We would stay here again in a second and hope to return one day to see Maria Pia and her wonderful family again! Thanks so much Maria!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelling_solo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

We also booked this hotel based on reviews found on Tripadvisor and it met our expectations and more! La Pia is family run by Maria Pia, her brother Hugo and mother. They were all very gracious, kind and helpful. Pia went out of her way to draw us maps and give us advice on how to get to Lucca, Pisa, Florence and the best gelato shop in town. Breakfast was free and substantial and the home cooked dinners were fabulous! They also have bikes you can take out for free (a great way to explore the city and beautiful park). La Pia is in a great location and is within a few minutes walk to the beautiful park, main street shopping and the train station. The town of Montecatini Terme is also centrally located -- just a 20 minute drive to Lucca, 45 minutes to Pisa and just a 50 minute train ride away from Florence. The train ticket into Florence was less than $8 euro round trip and Pia had her brother Hugo purchase our train tickets for us in advance. We found the town to be more lively than most cities in Italy (the boutiques stayed open later) with lots of shopping, spas, restaurants and outdoor activities to enjoy. It's an upscale spa town without the attitude. I highly recommend you take the funicular to Montecatini Alto, if you get the chance. They have wonderful views of the Tuscan hills and city below. I fell in love with this little town and La Pia. Thank you Maria Pia & family for making our stay so wonderful!! We had a wonderful stay and definitely hope to see you again soon!!!

Blessings,
Sally Han

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montecatini Terme hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Reale
Hotel Reale
#11 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
377 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Savoia e Campana
Hotel Savoia e Campana
#35 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
161 reviews
0.2 km away
Albergo Natucci
Albergo Natucci
#29 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Montebello
Hotel Montebello
#9 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
852 reviews
0.2 km away
Smart Hotel Bartolini
Smart Hotel Bartolini
#1 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
272 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Mediterraneo
Hotel Mediterraneo
#20 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pia Hotel

Property: La Pia Hotel
Address: Via Montebello 30, 51016, Montecatini Terme, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#7 Family Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#7 Best Value Hotel in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — La Pia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your La Pia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Pia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing