We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (376)
Filter reviews
378 results
Traveller rating
218
127
22
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
218
127
22
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsterrace overlookingspent daysnooks and cranniespoolsweddingseacarstepstownrelaxation
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 378 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2017

I stayed at the hotel Villa delle Meraviglie for a friend's wedding (she had booked the whole hotel for 2 nights for the occasion).
Very friendly and helpful staff, speaks english fluently, some even spoke french.
The location and view are simply breathtaking, you can hear the sea at night.
The hotel provides a free shuttle service to the train sation from 09.00 to 18.30 on demand, as well as 4 shuttle busses to Fumicello Beach. If asked other services can be provided.
There's a bus linking all the parts of Maratea until the night (~01.00) and one (direction Sapri) dropped me off at the hotel, on its way.
The swimming pool and its terrace are well arranged, the pool's temperature was perfect and there's enough shade for everyone. Further down there even is access to a small rocky private beach with a view on the beach, marina and christ reddemer of Maratea.
Fresh beach towels are provided, and the drinks are very decently prized.
The breakfast was big and diverse, pretty good as an italian hotel breakfast. The hot drinks were tasteful and italian strong (I drunk chocolate).
The rooms are big and clean. The layout may differ a lot from room to room, but they're always spacious.
My room had everything needed, TV, fridge, AC, 2 extra blankets, etc... The bed was very confortable, the bathroom clean and dry (spacious too). It was poorly lit, but it suited the atmosphere.
I wish to emphasise on the friendly staff, even the owner of the hotel was very friendly, spoke fluently english and was always helpful, it seemed to be a great management for a great venue.

Lors de mon séjour, le personel était amical et serviable. Ils parlaient couramment anglais et certains parlaient même francais.
L'emplacement et la vue sont magnifiques, le soir on entend la mer.
L'hotel met à disposition des navettes gratuites vers la plage Fiumicello et la gare, d'autres services peuvent être proposés.
Les bus permettent de se déplacer à Maratea et même jusqu'à l'hotel (direction Sapri).
La piscine et les terraces sont biens agencées, il y a aussi accès à une petite plage privée. L'hotel fournit des serviettes de plage.
Le petit-déjeuner est varié et bien fournit, il y a de tout, assez bon, dans l'esprit des autres petit-déjeuners encontrés dans des hotels italiens. Le chocolat chaud était bon et fort.
Les chambres sont grandes et propres, bien équipées, rien à déplorer.
Tout le personel était très agréable, la patronne était toujours présente et amicale. Tout le monde s'exprimait très bien en anglais, on n'a eu aucun problème de communication.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

I had my wedding here at the beginning of July. They views are amazing. You need a car, because they don't serve dinner- but the small dishes by the pool for lunch are all tasty. The staff is VERY nice and helpful- the staff even helped to iron groomsmen pants for my wedding, without evening being asked. Our first night we were very hungry and exhausted from driving directly from Germany, and Armando helped us to get food delivered since they do not have food service in the evening. We rented out the entire place for two days, and all of my family and friends were amazed at the hospitality, views, location, EVERYTHING. VERY kid friendly. We had such a great time. This was a week they will all never forget. Be sure you are able to walk steps, because the locations is on several platforms. But my grandmother, who needs a walker, was assisted by a small staff car in order to attend the wedding on the lowest level. The pool has a nice view and is cleaned every morning (there is a lot of nature which can fall into the pool, not dirty with trash). You can sit on the terrace with a view of Christ the Redeemer. I cannot say enough to recommend this place. We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Best views are from the top floors, but the entire place is exceptional.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoppioCafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

we stayed at this hotel for our sons wedding and it is in a very picturesque setting on the side of the cliff with lots of nooks and crannies. you need to be mobile to stay here as there are 167 steps from the pool to the shore. the shore is rocky but there is a small set of steps to help you get into the sea although they take them away if the sea gets choppy! The buffet breakfast was fairly basic but the pool snacks and service was good. the down side to this hotel is that you have to go into the town for an evening meal and you cannot walk there.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

This was a beautiful sanctuary for relaxation. We loved all the staff and spent 3 days in absolute paradise. Quiet time away from the busy tourism in other cities. Lovely buffet breakfast and well kept grounds.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank aprildm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Enjoyed 4 days here for a wedding and the hotel was a super setting for the service, reception and partying. The disco and dancing at night around the pool was attractive, encouraging some to take to the water!!! The hotel worked well with the wedding organiser to make the event so successful. It certainly was a wonderful setting and could hardly have been bettered. The sloping site and numerous steps will keep you fit though but don't be put off. We all managed them, even the wedding guests in their finery. The availability of a golf-cart would be a welcome addition for the less ambulant. The scenery is quite picturesque and great for wedding photos. The lunches served around the pool were fresh and appertising. Drinks were excellent value. Rooms were typically Italian, clean and adequately appointed. The raindrop showers were a treat. Beds were a bit hard for me but they didn't disturb my sleeping. The staff were most helpful and polite.
Some people were troubled by mosquitos so take spray with you especially for sitting out in the late afternoon and evenings. There were also a few annoying wasps around the breakfast terrace.
Maratea port has a range of reasonable restaurants and bars which offer good value.
Overall a splendid trip and superb wedding venue which is approx two and a half hours drive from Naples airport, mostly via the Autoroute. Best route is to keep to straighter roads even if the journey is marginally longer.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank MWC-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews