We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
80
50
13
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
50
13
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sister hotel buffet breakfast small hotel ten minute walk we booked a deluxe room nice pool area lake garda lovely hotel cleaning staff top floor third floor savoy palace hill cereal lakeside balcony views
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

Very nice hotel in Gardone Riveria!
We have stayed at Villa Sofia many times and also this year it was a great experience.

Good service and nice breakfast. Nice pool area. Walking distance to a lot of nice restaurants (book table upfront, busy area).

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Hilde F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

We have just returned from a week's stay at Hotel Villa Sofia and I can honestly say that the hotel's idyllic location and incredible service could not have been bettered. Our lovely third floor bedroom overlooked the pool, gardens and lake from the balcony window, and with views of the old town from the side window. The comfortable room had an excellent king-sized bed and efficient air-conditioning, and was maintained to an exceptionally high standard by conscientious cleaning staff.
The buffet breakfast, which we ate outside, was excellent, with a good choice of fresh fruit, cereals, rolls, croissants, cheeses, meats and 'hot' dishes.
Staff throughout the hotel were, without exception, of an extremely high calibre and were always welcoming and helpful.
A delightful pool with towels provided was an added bonus allowing for lazy relaxation at any time of day.
It was an absolute pleasure to stay here.

Room Tip: The best views are on the third floor overlooking pool and lake
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

Best kept secret in Gardone Riviera.
I've lost count how many times I've stayed here! I've stayed at 5 other hotels in the area, and this is just great value compared to the others which are a higher star rating. The Sofia is 4 stars and offers such brilliant, friendly staff, all willing to help and make your stay a happy one.
A small hotel that is peacefully located in the hill side above the lake. The view from the roof terrace is spectacular. They offer only breakfast and lunch meals. Evening meals can be taken at the Savoy Palace ( sister hotel ) a ten minute walk away. However, between the Savoy and the Sofia there are many places to eat at all levels of culinary delight.
I'm not saying anymore, I'd like to keep it a secret, but many people have discovered this little peace of paradise and the hotel is often fully booked, so book early.
Oh, and when you've been once, you'll want to come again, like so many of us who return year after year!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank vittoriomilanogarda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

We only stayed the one night here. It is a truly lovely boutique hotel about 10 minutes walk down to the Lake. It has a B&B feel about it. The rooms are not big but they are charming and have all that you need with Lake views. If you have mobility issues then you would be better to stay somewhere on the Lake side. However, if you are prepared for a short walk or have a car then it's perfect. The buffet breakfast was one of the best and most beautifully presented I had seen after a month of staying in five star hotels throughout Europe (Villa Sofia is a 4 star hotel). The best part of all was the amazing service provided by the manager, Giovanna. She could teach many other hotel operators a thing or two about great service. Nothing was a problem and her English was fantastic. Thank you Giovanna, you are a credit to this lovely hotel.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank LindaH850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

We caught a train from Venice to Desenzano. Then a ferry up the Lake. We stayed 3 nights in a room on the top floor with a lake view. The room was comfortable and clean, breakfast was excellent and the staff were very helpful.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Oldre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews