We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cute villa... If you don't mind the odd woodlouse!”

Review of Rustico Tangitano

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Erice, Province of Trapani, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Danielle...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cute villa... If you don't mind the odd woodlouse!”
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The villa looked like the pictures and we had a very warm and generous welcome from the owner. Giana stocked the villa with everything we needed, from washing powder to wine! She also gave instructions on how to use the hot tub and wifi, a couple of restaurant recommendations and then left us be for the week (she does not live onsite).

The villa is stylishly decorated and the master bed was comfortable. It was quite cool inside and a bit damp feeling in the evenings in May but I imagine this will be an advantage in the heat of summer. The villa had everything needed to set up a BBQ and an indoor and outdoor gas hob.

Its just outside the village of Ballata- about 30 mins drive into central Trapani and an hour from Palermo. It's also close to Erice, Scopello and seguesta (all worth a visit). We also did a long day trip to Agrigento, stopping at Seliunte to see the ruins and have lucky and Sciacca for dinner in the marina. There is a great pizzeria just up the hill and a nice restaurant about 5 mins drive away if you don't want to go far.

The only thing to note is that it's called "Rustico" for a reason. Ballata and Tangi are very quiet. While there is another villa just behind this one (they didn't overlook or disturb us) the only other noises you'll hear are the odd car or tractor. In true Rustico style we also got quite a few woodlouse and millipedes visiting us - apparently it was the season for them and they aren't a problem after June- but worth noting if you aren't keen on bugs!

In short we had a lovely time and were welcomed by the locals!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrailBlaz...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Erice hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Elf-und-R...
Aachen, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Nein.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heymannan
Regensburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Nein.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2018
Dear mr H,
thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear that your overall experience wasn’t satisfactory.
Rustico Tangitano is a typical Sicilian country retreat and we believe that that kind of the “grey feel” from you described was mainly due to the weather conditions, especially in March when the weather is particularly rainy, as unfortunately it was during your stay.
We are sorry that during your stay you never mentioned you were cold to the owner. She was in contact with you and always available for every need, so she could have given you two additional gas heaters, but she thought you were perfectly fine!
On arrival, she took the meter reading and explained that the electricity consumption was included up to 100kwh per week, as advertised. We understand that you probably didn’t realize that, using the outdoor Jacuzzi and the A/C in the house, you were going to exceed the included consumption, but we can confirm that the extra was calculated in the right way (at 0.40 per kwh).
Concerning the wood for the fireplace, which is to pay extra on consumption, please consider that there are different types of wood. The one provided from the owner is from olive trees and is the best quality for this purpose and the most expensive. We are sure you appreciated her gesture to offer complimentary wood, that you enjoyed during four days of your stay, and we wish to welcome you again, maybe at a different time of the year when the weather is definitely more warmer and sunnier!
Thanks and regards.
The DiCasaInSicilia’s team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geppo G
Marsala, Sicilia, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
Google Translation

Travelling group: Da solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing