We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GREAT place for the right people”
Review of Hotel Impero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Impero
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many, many times and always have loved it - the Ghedina family that runs the hotel are wonderful and they are a delight. The location is super close to the center of town - though typical of many Italian towns and hotels the road noise can be annoying, though try and stay on the pedestrian corso and you will have similar problems from people out late at night and street cleaners early in the morning (let alone the "charming" bell tower early in the morning). The rooms are simple but clean and rustic. The bar is fantastic, breakfast simple but ample, and to me the whole vibe reminds me of times past in Kathmandu. If you are looking for luxury this is not your scene but if you are looking for a nice and inexpensive convenient place to stay and friendly people who know where to go and what to do in Cortina this is THE place! Luisa and Piedro make me feel like I am home whenever I stay here - and I will again and again.

Room Tip: Choose the street side if you want a view of the mountains but with some noise from the street, or t...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Impero
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

Our family spent two nights in August, 2013 in this well run hotel, centrally located in Cortina d'Ampezzzo. Piero and Lisa, the owners, welcomed us warmly and provided us with excellent advice for touring the area.
The room was very quiet and comfortable, the bathroom was spacious and clean and the breakfast was superb.
We strongly recommend this hotel and we will certainly come back soon.

Room Tip: High floor, overlooking courtyard.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NV210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed here after a Dolomites trek. It is convenient to the bus station and the town in general. Road can be a bit noisy. Pretty good breakfast buffet. Stayed in a double with a friend; highlight was a bathtub! Really appreciated after a week of refugios/mountain huts.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hashihime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My coming to this Hotel was very different from others- my husband bring my luggages in the morning ( very warm welcome from the sister he said ) and I arrive there in the afternoon. From the first moment Piero made me very welcome, my single room was excellent - minibar, bath and it was even not on the street side ( room 51 ) - very quiet room with a nice view to the walking street and to the mountains. I was even happily surprised for the small pillow since I can´t sleep with a big pillow-which is usually in the most of the hotels.

Breakfast was basic ( with lovely warm croissant ! ) but they got me special milk and yougurt during my stay - that was very very pleasant surprise ! Grazie mille !

Overall, I can highly recommend this hotel - only few minutes from shops and restaurants, 5 minutes from the bus station, 5- 8 minutes from the nearest cablecar. Short walking everywhere - great for hiking, shopping, relaxing or even having via ferratas/iron paths. Fast free internet connection is also a big + .

I thank you for all the staff - gentleman in the breakfast room ( sorry, don´t know his name ), sister at the reception, mother at the breakfast room - always smiling and making my every breakfast perfect ! ( I just loved her small little white dog .. ) - and my very special thank you for Piero - thank you for making my every hiking/ferrata day even more special than I felt they were.

I think all the clients can get the very special feeling of welcome at this small cosy Hotel - I can highly recommend this for all !!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tarja_kihnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Touring Europe on motorbike and arrived in Cortina with no accommodation booked. Tourist office suggested Hotel Impero based on my requirments. There was a large secure basement garage for motorbike. The double bedroom on third floor was big with large balcony to sit, relax and take in view of the Dolomites. The bathroom was large and appeared to have been refitted. All was very clean. The hotel wifi worked very well even on third floor. Breakfast was croissant, cereals, yoghurt and choice of hot drinks. However what really makes this hotel special is the service! Piero went that extra yard to make my wife and I feel welcome. Because of my experience I would certainly visit again. Thank you Piero

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhi67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Bellevue Suites & SPA
Hotel Bellevue Suites & SPA
#22 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
212 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#12 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
371 reviews
2.7 km away
Sport Hotel Pocol
Sport Hotel Pocol
#49 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Nord Hotel
Nord Hotel
#41 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
71 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Alaska Cortina
Hotel Alaska Cortina
#18 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
328 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Serena
Hotel Serena
#31 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Impero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Impero

Address: Via Cesare Battisti 66, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Impero 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1938 the Ghedina family has been greeting its Guests in the heart of Cortina. Close to the walking area, Hotel Impero offers modern services and the typical warmth of mountain flavor. A burning earth for the lovers of a cozy atmosphere, there is a temping snack bar. All rooms are provided with shower or bath tub, hair drier, telephone, satellite TVC and ADSL internet access. There is a brand new Relax Center, with sauna, whirlpool and solarium. Elevator, room service, personal safes, ski deposit, , ski-bus stop close-by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Impero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Impero Italy/Veneto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing