We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Biker friendly”
Review of Hotel Impero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Impero
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Piero Ghedina and his Mother were very Gracious hosts. They have a garage for your Motorcycle and a cold beer waitng for you. The rooms are big, comfy, and modern. Ask Piero for directions to a great restaurant you will not be disappointed. The decor is beautiful in the lobby and lounge/breakfast room. Breakfast was a typical Italian fare. I will be back.

Room Tip: room 47 has a great view
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clausrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Impero
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2011

I took a group of 15 people to ski Cortina from a Corporate Ski Club in Sweden. Having received quotes from about 20 hotels in Cortina, Impero came in with the best price. From the first point of contact the entire process was extremely simple, despite having complicated room requests as the group didn't know each other, I found Louisa and Piero to be accommodating to our requests every step of the way. Even when we got to the hotel some of the people requested room changes, the hotel arranged the logistics of these requests without hesitation. If people requested special foods (i.e. local breads during breakfast) the next morning they were pleasantly surprised by having their requests granted.

Speaking of logistics-returning from the Selle Ronde was going to be a very costly affair for us as we missed the 2 bus transfer connection back towards Cortina . 220 EUR is what we were quoted by local drivers! We called the hotel and asked for some help. Piero immediately called his local contacts and got us a minivan for almost half the cost to return back to Cortina. In additional to this great service we had great recommendations and bookings by Louisa at the Rifugio's on the mountain and felt spoiled to have the locals perspective even though we were foreign to the region.

Another great tip we got from the Impero was to take advantage of the new snowfall we had. So we topped of our week with private offpiste skiing with Aaron Smith (a former US Ski Team Race coach) and you'll get to ski and experience all the sweetness the Dolomites has to offer to those few who know it's secret gems. It was especially beneficial for our group as none spoke Italian and we found many Italians on the mountian who struggled with English and almost preferred German more as a second language. Anyway, ask at the hotel and they can hook you up with him or you can find him at http://www.tracieloeterratours.com/neve/

As our entire group is trained and works in the service industry we have high expectations for good customer service, despite having the good fortune at staying at such an affordable hotel. It really was a great combination of value, service, local knowledge and the feeling of belonging to the family. Impero was honest and fair, however I can't say the same about some of the restaurant around town or on the mountain that try and pad your bill with items you did not purchase. Beware while out and about, feel safe respected while at the Hotel Impero.

We will be back, and this time I'll take my family with me too.

Tack så mycket!

Kindest regards- SAS Ski Club

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClassVGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2009

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Impero in Cortina D'Ampezzo. The hotel is family run, and we were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. The hotel is quite charming, and feels just like you've come to stay at your Grandmothers house in the Alps, (right down to the saggy single mattresses, which was probably the only down side of the hotel). The location is great, just a short walk to the Corso Italia, shops and restaurants and they have car parking available about 120m away from the hotel. Our room had a wonderful view up to the mountains and a small balcony. A very friendly family, running a good value for money hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wooders1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

The owner was incredibly generous (discounted our room and drinks as we were students!) and helpful (happy to spend 20 minutes booking mountain refuges for us in Italian). Rooms were excellent, especially for the price (just EUR 30 per person). Could not recommend this place more for anyone looking for somewhere comfortable and friendly to stay in the otherwise overpriced Cortina

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FattieBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

great location and the service was fantastic. however the rooms were dated and very noisy. i would avoid this road as a location as it had alot of traffic.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellevue12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Bellevue Suites & SPA
Hotel Bellevue Suites & SPA
#22 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
212 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#10 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
371 reviews
2.7 km away
Sport Hotel Pocol
Sport Hotel Pocol
#49 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Nord Hotel
Nord Hotel
#40 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
71 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Alaska Cortina
Hotel Alaska Cortina
#19 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
328 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Serena
Hotel Serena
#31 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Impero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Impero

Address: Via Cesare Battisti 66, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Impero 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1938 the Ghedina family has been greeting its Guests in the heart of Cortina. Close to the walking area, Hotel Impero offers modern services and the typical warmth of mountain flavor. A burning earth for the lovers of a cozy atmosphere, there is a temping snack bar. All rooms are provided with shower or bath tub, hair drier, telephone, satellite TVC and ADSL internet access. There is a brand new Relax Center, with sauna, whirlpool and solarium. Elevator, room service, personal safes, ski deposit, , ski-bus stop close-by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Impero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Impero Italy/Veneto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing