We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful and deceptively spacious”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Garden Lodge

Surrounding gardens, communal area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Surrounding gardens, communal area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Surrounding gardens, communal area
private garden
private garden
private garden
Hot tub jacuzzi
Hot tub jacuzzi
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Chiavari, Italian Riviera, Liguria

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
ctgo
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Disappointing and deceiving”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We rented this apartment based on the reviews on Tripadvisor but unfortunately we were rather disappointed from the moment we arrived. On the other hand, the owner's family was friendly and helpful which gave us a better feeling.
In general the house is quite all right, it has everything one needs but we find the property is not worth the rates they charge.
Our first disappointment was the garden; we assumed that the apartment’s garden shown in the picture is the one belonging to the garden lodge; however, this is not the case. The lodge does have a terrace, but this is rather small and wedged in between the front of the house and the wall of the garden higher up the hill. Because of the fact that the terrace is very boxed in, it is rather hot but fortunately there is a tent-like-umbrella to provide the necessary shade. Unfortunately the garden designated for common use does not have an umbrella so - during our visit the temperatures were rather high (higher than normal) - we could not use this for our breakfast and/or lunch.

The second disappointment was the pool. The pool is smaller than we hoped and jumping in (and diving) was not allowed. That was rather difficult to explain to our 8 and 10 year old children who like to play around and jump in and out of the pool. Here I have to admit that we do not like the beach and we picked this place especially because of the fact that there is a pool.

The third one was the air conditioning. The airco is only installed in the living room and is not sufficient to lower the temperatures in the bedrooms which (again because of the high temperatures) was disappointing (we assumed that there would be AC in the bedrooms).

We didn't very much like the beaches in Chiavari, mainly because of the stones on the beach. In Sestri Levante the beaches were more to our and our children’s liking, with sandy beaches right down into the sea.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flamenco2...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful and deceptively spacious”
Reviewed 28 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

I stayed in the garden lodge with my husband, parents and a four year old. The house is much bigger than it seems in the pictures. The kitchen is well equipped. The towels are a little on the small side but not really any worse than most standard hotel towels.

The rooms are a very good size and there is lots of storage space.

Adriana and her family are very friendly and happy to help with anything you might want.

It is more than a 15 minute walk to the beach though; you definitely need a car and I would recommend the beaches in Sestri Levante for sand - the beaches in Chiavari are stony.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amazing views
Liked least: Coming home!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo W
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunning central and peaceful location, great hospitality, beautiful views, garden and cottage.”
Reviewed 6 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Our family of four (kids aged 8 and 11) have had a wonderful stay at the Garden Cottage.

Adrianna and her daughter, our hosts, were lovely - very helpful if you needed them with excellent advice, but not overbearing at all!

The cottage is spacious, beautifully decorated, has great views and has an immaculate pool and garden. The wi-fi access speed was excellent.

We chose Chiavari above other smaller and more 'touristy' towns to get a better experience of life in Liguria, and were not disappointed.

I disagree with the previous reviewer about the need for a car and noise from the highway (not intrusive at all). The lovely walk to the closest supermarket took 10 min and it took 30 min to the station (with all our luggage) - good exercise for all of us after eating far too many gelatos and pizzas!

From Chiavari, our favorite trips were:
Cinque Terre - walk from Corneglia to Vernazza
Camogli beach and town
Sestri Levante - go to the beach close to the clock tower, much better than the main beach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Copolla family hospitality, lovely location, beautiful views and fragrant garden, spacious and beautiful immaculate cottage.
Liked least: Comment on Liguria - expensive trains, dirty toilets at train stations, number of people smoking, doggy doo
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PavlosT18...
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing Customer Service”
Reviewed 11 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We rented a 4 person and a 2 person villa (2 in total) We really looked forward to our break in June. At booking, the owner Adrianna requested being paid 50% of our total as a deposit into her UK account. I did this without fail. The balance was to be paid on arrival.

Whilst the Olive Press has a beautiful view over Chiavari, it is at least 20 mins walk to the centre and nearer 30minutes to the beach, you really do need a car. We travelled with 2 boys and a baby and the boys played one evening in the pool. We were told to keep quiet (despite not being overtly loud). We played every other night and there wasnt a word from them, as they are good children thankfully. Then we left one day to go to the beach and forgot to clsoe the windows and take 2 chairs in. Later that night Adrainna knocked on our door at 10pm and told us this and that she wasnt happy with this or the fact that the floor of the shower room was wet from a shower. In addition, she complained that I drove on her stones drive way from the car park. I did because there was no other place to turn my rental van.

It felt like rules were continually made up as we went along. I told Adrianna that she should have a list of rules for each villa to encompass in part the issues she felt we had:

It could read like:-
- Please keep children quiet in the pool at all times (depsite the fact they were supervised at all times)
- Please take all outdoor chairs in if you leave for the day
- Please take close all windows if you leave for the day.
- Please dont drive on the stones.
- Please dont wet the floor in the shower room.

In addition, the bedding and towels honestly must not have been changed in years - they were wafer thin and after having spent €2k for a week's accommodation, at the very least they should be of acceptable quality - they were not.

Then on the last night, Adrianna blamed us for leaving one of these towels on the shower floor marking the wood, as mentioned above (temporarily until it dried out). I told her the shower tray does not empty for about 20 mins and if there was a shower mat, it would have sufficed. We had to use a wafer thin towel, that in retrospect did not work. Maybe having the floor painted with waterproof varnish would help!

Lastly, because I paid the deposit in GBP in February as she wanted, she had €870 written down as paid, whereas it was €925 when I paidin Feb. I questionned this and she decided not to charge me the extra €55. I wonder what would have happened if I didnt challenge.

On the last night, my teenage cousin, stayed from 7pm with her cousins. Yes I should have told Adrainna this, but it was an emergency as my cousin was sick and once again there were no rules saying we couldnt. She asked for €100 for this girl for one night, depsite sleeping in the same bed as her mother.

I travel extensively with my young family in great hotels across the world and in specialty lodging. The Olive Press gardens are beautiful, but inside it is tired, but just acceptable. Given the price, probably not acceptable at all!

Be careful of the broken step in the swimming pool, our 7 year hurt his foot on it and also there were bags of rubbish in the car park for 2 days that the cats enjoyed - but we didnt having to put up with the smell. I mentioned this to Adrianna in case she blamed us. It was still there when we left. There is also a lot of noise from the town, and a building below the accommodation as you are on a hill. Also you can hear noise from the motorway behind the house.

What I honestly was astounded at was the attitude of the owner Adrianna at making rules up as we go along, trying to get a better FX rate and putting up with sub standard bedding, towels etc.

She ruined our holiday and left a very bitter taste in our mouths, epsecially after arguing to me at 10 pm at night in front of my children who were trying to get to sleep.

Adrianna,
I do hope you take this in the manner intended. You have a nice place with potential, but you really need to look at yourself and learn some customer service. You cannot be right ALL THE TIME!. Please also update the linen and towels for your future guests. Please have a list of rules, so that everyone knows the terms of engagement on arrival.

Unfortunately for us, you ruined our time in Chiavari, but at least we have 2 great holidays coming up in August and September to get over it and forget your attitude and our time at Olive Press lodge. I would politely request you never shout in front of any children again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and view of the Med
Liked least: The owner Adrianna and the bedding / towels
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moltomalt...
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Hillside tranquility on the Italian Riviera”
Reviewed 23 November 2012 for a stay in September 2012

The Olive Press Lodge is a fabulous, peaceful hillside vacation estate property. It is nestled among the olive tress in the hills just above the seaside city of Chiavari. My husband and I rented a one bedroom apartment that had a fantastic view of the Mediterranean. Adriana is a wonderful host and made us feel welcomed right from moment we arrived. The center of Chiavari is short, easy 10 minute walk and perfect for those after dinner strolls along the water. We highly recommend this location for tranquility and to experience the beauty of the Italian Riviera.

Debra and Giovanni

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and atmosphere
Liked least: Wish they offered payment by credit card
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing