We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Albergo Angiolino(Chianciano Terme)(Great Value!)
US$66
US$53
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$82/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Agriturismo La Pietriccia(Chianciano Terme)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aggravi Hotel(Chianciano Terme)
US$72
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Albergo Ardea(Chianciano Terme)
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Albergo da Giancarlo(Chianciano Terme)
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Michelangelo(Chianciano Terme)
US$105
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Santa Rita(Chianciano Terme)(Great Value!)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Albergo Andrea(Chianciano Terme)(Great Value!)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Luca(Chianciano Terme)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
50
60
21
17
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
60
21
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscroissantscleaned dailywaiting staffmealscheese
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2016

My husband and I travelled with a Newmarket tour for 7 nights at the Plaza hotel. On arrival at 9 30pm the manager, Luciano, directed us to the dining room for a waitress service, unexpected, late dinner. We were served by the fabulous, friendly Maria and her attentive service continued every day! The hotel was situated facing the Plaza and had an amazing location. Our room (83) on the 3rd floor was large, clean and with a bath, screen and shower with a good working hairdryer. The air-conditioning was excellent and although not by any means a luxurious bedroom it had everything we needed. The 5 courses at dinner (huge buffet salad table, soup, pasta course, main course and desert) were always definitely using fresh ingredients. Not one person on our tour had any complaints in the dining room for breakfast or dinner. Bottles of wine priced €9 to €12, large beer €3, gin & tonic €4 etc etc. So reasonable for hotels in Italy. Luciano (great sense of humour) and his wife were excellent managers and Luciano made sure that on arrival back at the hotel each teatime he kept us well provided with hot and cold snacks from the kitchens to go with our beer, wine, tea or coffee. So thoughtful and always served with smiles. He offered his service for a free lift up to the old town or Wednesday market. Our last night came with entertainment, dancing with the lovely Italian guests, free first round of drinks, Champagne and fancy cakes brought round and served by Luciano and his wife. A laughter filled evening!! I defy anyone to not enjoy their stay and we made exactly the right choice with this 3* hotel and NOT the alternative 4*. Highly recommend the Plaza for their homely, friendly service. Definitely would return.

Room Tip: Facing the Plaza had lovely views
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luciano M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

thank you for the nice review. Working with people like you is wonderful. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

In summary, the key points to go to the Plaza are:
(1) good location at the heart of the new town [the old town is worth a visit but that is a fair walk or bus ride away]
(2) Half board food was plentiful and above my expectations [evening meal was buffet salad course, soup, pasta, meat/fish option pudding]
(3) Friendly staff

Our room has reasonable facilities e.g. fridge but was tired. We had a balcony looking out onto the Plaza and that was an added benefit.

Other facilities to note are swimming pool on roof and a good piano which I played most evening for 15 minutes before the evening meal at 7-30pm

Room Tip: Room at front with balcony looking onto Plaza is good
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2016

Hotel is well situated on a pleasant square where there are little shops and a place where they serve tea, coffee, cake, ice cream etc.
Management was helpful and restaurant staff very nice. (Thanks Maria you were great). The food was so plentiful I am going on a diet now I am back home. Swimming pool was situated on the roof so a wonderful view over the town and surrounding countryside was right in front of your eyes.

Our room was spacious with a little balcony and a very nice bathroom. Bed was comfy and everything was very clean.

Went with Newmarket whose arrangements went like clockwork. Well done everyone - would love to return.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front a little noisy, but not too bad. Can't comment on side rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank carolelisabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2016

Very sociable, hospitable staff and management team.... nothing too much trouble. Typical Tuscan hotel room was large light and airy, fresh towels every day. Stayed half board food was very good something for everyone, five courses for the evening meal. We were served fresh coffee on the morning we left, even though we were only expecting a pre- packed breakfast as we were leaving 6.00 in the morning. Would definitely recommend this hotel for a relaxing break.

Room Tip: Our rooms were on the side without a balcony, is was not a problem as we did execurtions every day
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wraggy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2016

Great 3 star hotel in a great location in the center of Chianciano Terme (new town) near cafes and shops and the spar center. This hotel shown is The Plaza the Grand is behind it. The staff make this hotel great we stayed here for 7 nights as part of our tour with Newmarket Holidays staying in Tuscany on dinner bed & breakfast. The staff made us very welcome going out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our stay, Luciano was always smiling even took time to drive some of us to the old town, even going back later to pick some of them up. Our waitress was fanstaic again always smiling even making sure we had plenty to eat & drink lol... recommend the Chianti, the breakfast had plenty of choice. The dinner was mixed 5 courses, first course buffet had plenty of choice to help yourself to with some great dishes, followed by the second course of soup which were delicious followed by pasta dish then the main course, this is what let it down, you had a choice of 2 but out of the 7 dinners 3 were poor and the staff new it. We had a room with a large terrace, basic with shower but could do with a make over, nice roof pool with some great views. Was told that the reason there is no tea or coffee facilities in the room is that it is not allowed by the Italian goverment due to electrical savings, but Luciano would make one for you any time, not sure how true this is! Would recommend this hotel as they do try hard to make you welcome. We had agreat time.

Room Tip: Get one with balcony the best one are with the terrace but there is only two a bit quieter
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TenerifeThe_reef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews