We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good staff”
Review of Fortuna Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fortuna Resort
Ranked #40 of 81 Hotels in Chianciano Terme
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Lovely place. Rooms were large, pool and surrounding area were great. Luigi and Antonio were very, very good. Breakfast was varied and the croissants were good. Different yogurts which I liked. Very good service.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sadie334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2016

I agree completely with my fellow travellers' latest reviews. This hotel is situated in it's own well kept grounds on the edge of the town. Lovely and peaceful with no traffic noise. (a rare thing in Italy) Our room was spacious and really clean. The lounge and conservatory area were fine for relaxing in the evening. (Not sure about the naked lady pictures on the wall though- renaissance art they were not)
Unfortunately the atmosphere certainly deteriorated after Max (the very helpful and pleasant receptionist) left. Once the manager arrived we noticed a decline both in the atmosphere in the hotel and the quality of our meals. He sloped about the place scruffily dressed scowling at everyone. Special mention though must go to our two waiters Luigi and Fabio who were unfailingly polite and helpful.
Sadly we were never made to feel welcome at this hotel. Thank goodness for our fellow guests who were our brothers in arms!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms facing the pool area are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2016 via mobile

This hotel should be the best in town, an attractive building in pleasant grounds with well set out public areas and nice rooms. Unfortunately, the unwelcoming and uncommunicative management created an atmosphere which destroyed the efforts of the remaining staff who worked incredibly hard to give the service which the star rating of the hotel should have justified. The week's stay begin well enough but changed as soon as the person we were told was the manager returned to the hotel (his failure to communicate with his guests, and slovenly attire of jeans and a bomber jacket gave a lie to his supposed management title). There on in the food got worse, with no attempt at either quality or imagination. The very pleasant receptionist left the hotel when the manager returned only to be replaced by a non English speaker who at best looked like a scruffy nightclub bouncer.
If it wasn't for my fellow visitors whose good company was much enjoyed, and skills and friendliness of the tour company manager, the holiday would have been spoiled.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2016 via mobile

I have never come across a more mean spirited management of a hotel in my life.
Our first two days were fine, the staff were relaxed and pleasant the food was good with decent portions and well presented.
Things changed on the third morning.
A horrible tense atmosphere descended on the place. The smiles of the staff disappeared along with the quality and portions of the meals.
The waiters became tense and nervous
We found out that the owner/manager of the place had come back from holiday.
From then on any request of any kind was met with awkwardness, even asking for a room key.
I should have guessed something was wrong when I asked for a room change after the first night due to a noisy drain and was told it was told by the (then relaxed) receptionist that I had to wait for the management to decide.
I approached the manager on his return to discuss the change of room and without even making eye contact with me he shook his head saying it was not possible and was extremely unhelpful.
I managed to get another room on the third night thanks to the help of the receptionist who then promptly disappeared and was not seen again.
The tension of the staff, especially the waiters became worse and was transmitted to us the guests.
The food degenerated day by day.
Every meal became worse than the previous one. The final meal was an insult and if I didn't pity the waiter I would have sent it back.
The poor waiters served it apologetically while being scrutinised by the manager who sat in the corner.
Miserable, wretched and gloomy does not even begin to describe the manager of this place.
AVOID

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2016 via mobile

Catering staff first rate, food was good but limited choice.
The only thing holding this place back was the manager who was unfriendly and ignored all the customers and made absolutely no attempt to help staff when busy.
Overall a pleasant stay.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Gerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chianciano Terme hotels
0.7 km away
Villa Ricci Hotel
Villa Ricci Hotel
#11 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
743 reviews
1.2 km away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#19 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
530 reviews
1.5 km away
Grand Hotel Terme
Grand Hotel Terme
#16 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Grand Hotel Admiral Palace
Grand Hotel Admiral Palace
#10 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
3,091 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Moderno Chianciano
Hotel Moderno Chianciano
#23 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
194 reviews
1.3 km away
Grand Hotel Excelsior
Grand Hotel Excelsior
#27 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortuna Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortuna Resort

Address: Via della Valle 76, 53042 Chianciano Terme, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Chianciano Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Chianciano Terme
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chianciano Terme
Price Range: €56 - €97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fortuna Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Fortuna Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Albergo Fortuna Hotel Chianciano Terme
Fortuna Resort Chianciano Terme, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing