We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveller rating
150
81
20
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
81
20
3
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 260 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Spent four nights at hotel Gambrinus, good venue when visiting the sites in Rome. Plain hotel, no frills. Clean and comfortable rooms, maybe a little small, but fine if you are out all day . Good breakfast choices, though rather cramped in the basement. Friendly staff, helpful and informative. This hotel is value for money , my only reservation being that I don't think it deserves a 4 star status, more like 3 Star.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking FRENCH embassy gardens
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Carole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

To begin with, the Check-in was at least confusing. They made us sign a paper agreeing with any matter relating to privacy. We asked them to explain, but they answered poorly, giving a connotation of "something trivial and unimportant". We tried again to understand the next day, asking one more time what it was about, but it was impossible to understand. Upon arriving at the hotel in the evening, after travelling 24 hours, all that is expected is tranquility. The paper about privacy was signed because we had no other option. Well, we asked what was the password for the wifi and, surprise!, the wifi was not working and it remained not working during the 5 days of stay. Asked about the reason of not having warned us about this problem, the hotel staff were evasive and blamed the phone company.

The room was small especially when compared to the photo on the site of the hotel. Nothing functional: to open the fridge and to watch TV, it was necessary to close the door between the bedroom and the entrance.

The bathroom had a tub which required climbing talent to enter. The position of the shower was in the direction perpendicular to the greater length of the bathtub. Every shower, the bathroom was completely wet.

We observed a welcome card with a basket of fruit. Excellent idea. Pity we didn't understand the words as they were in German. I suggest you welcome in Italian.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MamaT33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012 via mobile

The hotel is very nice, the location is also very convenient. The room and general service is perfect, the employees are very helpful and always available. The rooms are nicely renovated and very clean. We had a family room and our daughter had a own connection bedroom with tv. The only minus were: the breakfast buffet is a joke and not nicely presented. The cutlery was dirty. Another very disappointing point were the free bycicles, 2 bycicles out of a dozen were safe to drive. The others were broken, breaks not working, saddle and pedals were falling off. All in all, the hotel is worth it's 4 star. Sad that the management doesnt give more attention to these little details... PS: one last point, the hotel has no own beach area and they don't offer any discount for the many and expensive private beaches.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonBaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

The Hotel Gambrinus is a very classy establishment, just across the lungomare from the wide beach of Cervia. Actually, it's in Pinarella, about 15 minutes walk from the centre of the town.

Our room was 222, with a large balcony overlooking the beach. It is a very elegant hotel, and ours was a large bedroom with a double bed and a sofa. There is most welcome air conditioning, but note that it only works if the patio doors to the balcony are closed. The hotel has seen a lot of investment and is tastefully and elegantly decorated throughout. It is also spotlessly clean. The free wifi is very useful.

The check-in procedure was extensive, involving (most welcome) drinks and peanuts and much filling of forms; that's not a criticism, it's just unusual these days.

The breakfast was really marvellous with a wide array of cereals, ham, cheese and bread, and eggs cooked to your taste.

Both the reception staff and the waiters spoke good English, although it is clear that English visitors are quite rare in this most Italian of resorts.

The whole point of going to Cervia is the beach, and when you do, the best Bagno is Bagno Martini just across the road from the hotel. The bagnino (and owner) is very friendly and pleasant, and his 2 charming daughters look after the restaurant which does excellent panninis and ice cold birra.

We can thoroughly recommend the Hotel Gambrinus from relaxing, yet classy, staynt the beach

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Paravelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews