We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
6 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$355
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$355
View deal
Trip.com
US$317
View deal
Expedia.comUS$355
Hotels.comUS$538
eDreamsUS$355
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (830)
Filter reviews
830 results
Traveller rating
495
218
70
25
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
495
218
70
25
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews junior suite overlooking the bay sea terrace town ladder
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 830 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2020

The location of this hotel, about 20 minutes walk out of town overlooking the rocky bay, is absolutely lovely. There are three ostensibly separate hotels in the resort, No. 5, Garden and Bay but they all share the same amenities. No. 5 is the most expensive and the garden rooms look slightly smaller but they are all overpriced.

There is only one swimming pool but there are many terraces with large double sunbeds overlooking the sea and ladders down from the rocks into the water. It's a traditional Italian Hotel which is 50 years old and design - wise, looks it. It's very dolce vita in the bar and restaurant but the rooms are dated.

They have been freshly white-washed but we were staying in a junior suite which was bizarrely configured - half of it was an empty room with a sunken spa bath, off which was a small basic shower with cracked walls. The bathroom itself had two basins and was large and bright but it had one of those terrible hair dryers that are basically just a an articulated pipe. The toiletries were lovely - Ortiga - but the towels were thin, old and frayed.

The main room consisted of a comfortable large double bed, one side of which was pushed against the wall, and an antiquated sofa bed. There was an old fashioned white melamine wardrobe which had no full length hangers and the blackout curtains were partly hanging off the rails.

Breakfast the first day was lovely, situated on a lawn overlooking the bay. Despite covid there was a breakfast buffet where you instructed one of the waiters what you would like put on your plate and it worked surprisingly well. However once the weather was less clement, breakfast was removed into the dining room which was rather dark and old fashioned and service was much slower. And as rain threatened, for three of our four day stay the reef club restaurant and bar remained closed and all meals were disappointingly in the main dining room.

There is a good gym in the basement with windows into the swimming pool.

Bottom line - the list price for B&B in our room is over €500 a night and it's simply not worth it.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Lazzagear
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaia Miccichè, Altro at Le Calette Garden & Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2020

Dear Lazzagear,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Hotel, your words are extremely important to us.

We apologize that our Junior Suite in our four-start complex did not fully satisfy your expectations, we will follow your comments to upgrade it, but please note that in the room there are two kinds of hairdryers: the one that you described together with a normal one inside the wardrobe close to the security safe.

Thank you very much for your appreciation of our position, outdoor services and gym.

Our prices this year have to take into consideration the costs of the different measures adopted. Costs which are needed to keep providing a serene environment and meet the highest standards of hygiene and safety in response to Coronavirus. You can find all the measures in our website; it will be evident that they are not cost free.

Also our indoor dining procedures, that you felt as lengthy, are inevitably linked to the serious situation that we are living this year.

We hope to welcome you once again, so that you may fully enjoy all our services. Sending you our kindest regards, we remind you that from now on you will enjoy all benefits reserved to our repeat customers.

Staff of Le Calette Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2020

It is undoubtedly a breathtaking location and the staff are good.
However even in a suite the bathroom is tiny (the size of a toilet cubicle) and the air conditioning is very poor.
Towels are also poor quality and low in number.
You are only given one key card, which needs to be in the power slot in order for the air con to function so if you are out all day or evening it is not possible to get the room to a comfortable temperature.
Whilst the hotel have a breakfast service to comply with COVID measures it is badly organised and guests routinely got the wrong orders or waited a long time.
For the price of the rooms such issues should not be prevalent in a 5* hotel.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nicky I
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaia Miccichè, Altro at Le Calette Garden & Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2020

Dear Nicky,

Thank you for the time you have spent with us and for your feedback, which is extremely important for us.

We are truly delighted in reading that you have appreciated our staff and location, and sorry to hear that the architectonic style of our suite did not fully match your expectations.

The temperature of our air conditioner can be set both from inside the room and from a central system outside the room, it is a pity that you did not contact our staff. Indeed, you could have asked either to set the aircon at your preferred temperature or another card for your room.

Our food procedures, that you felt as lengthy, are inevitably linked to the serious situation that we are living this year. Indeed, we adopted several measures among which also our served breakfast buffet to keep providing a serene environment and meet the highest standards of hygiene and safety.

Our foremost priority is our guest satisfaction and your feedback allows us to improve and get better.

We really hope to see you soon to show you how your words have been taken into consideration and to make you enjoy all benefits reserved to our repeat customers.

Best regards,

Staff of Le Calette Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2020 via mobile

The perfect pandemic escape! My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights and wish we had booked longer. We arrived and received first class treatment with a welcome glass of champagne. We ended up spending most of our time at the hotel because they had everything we needed, beach, dock, pool, excellent food and drinks, and relaxing daybeds to lounge on.
The employees were all amazing and went above and beyond, especially Derek and the ladies running reception. Would definitely recommend staying at this hotel!
Cefalù is also such a cute little town with the best food!

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank alicia1262
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 October 2019

Nice resort type accomodation in older garden view room. Beautiful resort with great swimming pool and beach access 20 mins walk from Cefalù which is a truly beautiful Sicilian town.

Wonderful breakfast buffet outside on a lawn overlooking the sea.

Train track nearby but not overly noisy. Would also be a great place for families. We were a couple and enjoyed our stay. Very helpful staff

Date of stay: October 2019
1  Thank Maryveronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lecalettehotel, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Le Calette Garden & Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2019

Dear Maryveronic,
thank you very much for sharing such a nice review about your recent stay at our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you have appreciated the helpfulness of our staff,our swimming pool, the beach area and the breakfast served at Calaluna Restaurant.
We wish to receive you once again at our hotel.
Best regards,
Carmela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2019

Stayed here as part of our honeymoon. The hotel itself has great facilities. The pool is lovely and quiet and very relaxing. There are other private areas where you can enter the sheltered bay. Its a special place. Our room itself was lovely (bedroom area) however the bathroom was very old and dated as and such did not look or feel clean. It was strange to refurbish the room but not the bathroom. We had noise from the train but we didn't find that any problem. One noisy wedding on one night but to be fair it stopped at midnight. All staff are polite and helpful. The walk to Cefalu felt long in the heat so we taxi'd in on a few evenings as the shuttle stopped operating at circa 18:30. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend. Would just request a fully refurbished room if we went again. Breakfast was delicious and served overlooking the bay.

Room tip: Avoid rooms with old bathrooms
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Missfandango13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lecalettehotel, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Le Calette Garden & Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2019

Dear Missfandango13,
we thank you very much for your review about your recent stay at our resort.
It's very gratifying to hear that you describe our hotel as a "special place", thank's to our facilities, to our quite and relaxing pool area, to our breakfast served on the grass at Calaluna Restaurant, to the politeness and helpfulness of our staff.
We hope to receiving you once again in our hotel so that you may have the opportunity to enjoy our Wellness centre that is going to be ready soon.
With our warmest regards,
Carmela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews