We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bolero Holidays - Union Lido, Italy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Union Lido Camping Lodging Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Union Lido Camping Lodging Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Bolero Holidays - Union Lido, Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

Bolero Holidays, within the site, is a British concern run for the last 25 years in Italy on the Union Lido campsite by John Robinson and his wife, Margaret. Their website says that calling Union Lido a campsite, is like calling a Rolls Royce a car, and that is a great way to describe what is offered. Bolero offers accommodation in mobile homes and in caravans on a site that can only be described as spectacular. If you have never experienced a mobile home holiday, finding out about the home itself is going to be your first port of call. Firstly, forget everything you think you might know about a mobile home holiday. Mobile homes are like luxury bungalows or ground level apartments. They have double and single bedrooms, lounge areas, kitchens, and bathrooms and have excellent climate control depending on which time of the year you holiday abroad. We were as comfortable in Bolero’s mobile home as anywhere I have ever stayed and John’s inspired design to make the walk in shower big enough for two was a real bonus!


The site occupies 2 km on its own private beach on the Adriatic. It is heavily wooded affording privacy and shelter from the fierce heat of the sun in the summer. Although it can accommodate 11,200 people at capacity it would never feel that way. In fact it has the feel of a small holiday village with many different restaurants to choose from, a beach bar and a pizza take away, newsagents, pharmacies, shops, camping supply outlets, cocktail bars and even an optician! Two doctors live on site during the high season, and according to our hosts John and Margaret they are always quick to respond to any call for assistance.

Apart from the immaculately kept nature of the site the swimming pools and even the beach are equally well kept. Lifeguards service any swimming area and then there is the Wellness Centre! What can I say? The Wellness Centre on the site is the closest thing to heaven I have ever encountered. It consists of 9 mineral baths all cocooning the bather in bubbles and strong jets to ease away the tensions of life. The idea is to work your way through Jacuzzi style large and small baths with differing salt contents starting at a delicious 34 degrees centigrade, dropping by degrees, ending with a Japanese hot foot bath (40 degrees centigrade) which involves walking over pebbles in a hot then a cold bath. All make you feel marvellous and pampered and the Sauna and Steam room with their accompanying ‘tropical forest’ shower offers along with the tropical rain forest affect, a ‘tropical fog’ setting. The Wellness centre is for adults only apart from a brief 2-hour period on a Tuesday morning and I would challenge anyone to find a more relaxing or rejuvenating experience. Beautiful wood decking with really comfortable sun-loungers beside an infinity pool and even a couple of four posters on the upper deck invite the Wellness Centre guest to wile away the day floating between the baths and the sun-beds. And all this under the watchful eyes of Anna and Andrea who are there to make sure everyone gets the most from their experience. Other beautifying and edifying treatments are available there with massage and beauty treatments. You can check into the centre for 2 hours at a cost of 6 euros and 13 euros will buy you a whole day of luxury. And it really is luxurious, a real five star experience. It sits above the children’s pool and the infinity pool looks out over the beach.

This is by far the best camping experience you will ever have whether you rent a mobile home or take your own van.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank amanda5356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    883
    412
    133
    44
    28
See reviews for
1,237
149
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2010

We travelled with a group of fifteen, including adults, teengers, children and an infant. The resort is easy to get to from marco Polo Airport Venice. We used a local company for the transfer "www daytransfer.it" which got us to the resort in about a hour. 400 euors for transfers for our group which i thought was quite reasonable.
The resort is huge and covers a massive area, with a private beach. Plenty of restaurants for eating out and there a two main pools for the children. Teenagers are catered for at the teenagers club the "Cavan" . We stayed in Thomson mobile homes which were a bit basic and cramped for three adults and a teenager plus an infant to be honest. Thomson do not provide cot bedding irrespective of what there say in the UK travel agents.

The resort local staff are more than helpful. However I found the thomson staff to have little knowledge of the site and local area and relied on the resort tourist information centre. Depending on where you are loctaed on the site you can have quite a walk to the beach or other facilities. We where loctaed near the Cavan which was quite noisey late into the night, but not over the top. The site has "quiet police" who cycle around after eleven telling everyone to be quiet. This was a bit of a contradiction as we had the Cavan nightclub blazing away behind our van.

Weather was fantastic.

The downside to our stay and it was a huge problem, was mosquitoes. I would say they were in biblical proportions and seriously interferred with our evenings. Perhaps it was just the time of year, or climatic conditions, but everyone at the resort was suffering. The resort staff did try to combat the problem with huge mobile sprayers that were very busy. Repellants sprays, citronella candles had no effect it was horrible and no one was spared.
Although I personally won't return, I would recommend this resort ,on a whole it was very well run, well organised, safe, clean, however perhaps at a different time of year to avoid mossie's.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manian27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

We had a fantastic holiday, the campsite is perfect for kids, the beach is lovely and clean, the pools are fab and the ice-creams are to die for. We stayed with select camp who were great value for money. If you have kids under five, I would recommend hiring a trundel truck to carry children and beach paraphenalia as although everything is on site, the site is huge and after a long day at the beach little legs get tired pretty quick. The location is great for visiting Venice, we were lucky enough to have the kids wonderful grandparents with us, who allowed me and my husband to have a romantic overnight trip to venice without the kids ( Thanks Mum and Dad )

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannahlovesIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughton, Essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

We have just returned from our first family holiday abroad, we stayed at union lido and had an excellent time. The site itself is spotlessly clean and the staff cannot be helpful enough. It's proximity is only 1hr from Marco Polo airport and 1hr from Venice, so it is very centrally located.
The food on site is wonderful, all the restaurants are nice, expecially the creperie and geleteria. The mobile home that we stayed in was adequate and a good clean base for the week. Fortunately we went at the end of season so it was very quiet on site, but we could imagine just how busy it may get in high season. The thomson reps were helpful but very busy we found, but the staff at union lido were wonderful, nothing was too much bother.
Overall we would definately return and had a lovely time.
Please note that I only suffered from 2 mosquito bites and didn't use the repellent once all week, however it may differ during high season.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Totty03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

I agree wholeheartedly with other reviewers' very positive reviews about the Union Lido campsite. We have just come back from 2 weeks' holiday (with Canvas Holidays in a mobile home).

This is a large campsite but, once you're there, you realise that it is all so organised and orderly that it doesn't feel big at all. The accommodation areas are all tree-lined so you have shade in the heat of the day; the shops are great; both outdoor pool complexes will keep the whole family - of all ages - entertained all day long if you need; the blue flag beach is clean and large so you don't feel squished and the sea is very shallow so warm and good for little ones. And yes the ice-creams are gorgeous.

This is not a rowdy campsite - entertainment is plentiful but stops at 11pm and guests are expected to be quiet until 7am and all seemed to respect that.

Getting into Venice by bus and water-bus was extremely easy - the bus picks up from within the campsite - with a very regular service.

The staff were all very helpful - using German as their 1st language if addressing you but are well-versed in English - and as another reviewer said, are very pleased when you try Italian.

Our children (13 & 10) were very happy throughout the stay and are already asking to go back next year. We can understand why families have returned year on year to this fab site.

PS pack the mosquito repellent - the only downside to this campsite is that you'll need lots of citronella. Candles, etc are available to buy on-site.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmxtwice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavallino-Treporti
0.2 km away
Union Lido Art & Park Hotel
Union Lido Art & Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Cavallino-Treporti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
26.1 km away
Centro Vacanze Pra delle Torri
1.0 km away
Hotel Junior
Hotel Junior
#2 of 17 in Cavallino-Treporti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Camping Ca' Savio
Camping Ca' Savio
#6 of 39 in Cavallino-Treporti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
2.6 km away
Camping Village Cavallino
Camping Village Cavallino
#15 of 39 in Cavallino-Treporti
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
1.6 km away
Europa Camping Village
Europa Camping Village
#3 of 39 in Cavallino-Treporti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Lido Camping Lodging Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Lido Camping Lodging Hotel

Property: Union Lido Camping Lodging Hotel
Address: Via Fausta 258, 30013, Cavallino-Treporti, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > Cavallino-Treporti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Cavallino-Treporti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:5 star — Union Lido Camping Lodging Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 3000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Union Lido Vacanze is located on the green Cavallino strip, between the gorgeous Venice lagoon and the Adriatic Sea. This location is ideal for trips to Venice and its islands. Spacious and well-tended pitches, shaded with awnings, caravans and campers (also large ones), as well as bungalows, camping homes, mobile homes and maxi-caravans with all the comforts of home. Modern washrooms, with access for the disabled and baby-rooms for our youngest guests. Hotel rooms and village, the four-star Art&Park Hotel, with its own heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi and children's pool. Gourmet Club Union Lido with 8 restaurants and 14 bars. Two supermarkets and 25 shops of all kinds. A supervised beach with 1 km of fine sand and a children's play area. Two Aqua Parks covering a total area of 13.000 sq.m, included in the price of your stay. Marino Wellness Club with a sea view, an oasis of salt water and exclusive treatments, and the W10 Leisure Building, with an indoor pool and a steam bath. Activities and sports for adults and children. Scuba diving school, surf school, horseback riding, tennis, football and five-a-side football pitches, archery, skateboarding park, skating rink, basketball court. Funny World, the world of games at Union Lido, with Happy Driver, River Ride, Gold Mine, Jungle Golf, Game Arena and Vision 5D. Excursions and overnight stays in the Veneto and Tuscany. the Union Lido Dog Camp is open In one of the most charming and shaded areas of the camp site, equipped with brand new pitches that can be booked, where your four-legged friends are welcome and can benefit from an incredible variety of spaces and dedicated services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and PitchUp so you can book your Union Lido Camping Lodging Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Lido Park And Resort
Union Lido Park Hotel Cavallino-Treporti
Union Lido Camping Lodging Hotel Italy/Cavallino-Treporti, Province Of Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing