We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,231)
Filter reviews
1,231 results
Traveller rating
1,095
113
18
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,095
113
18
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,231 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2020 via mobile

We visited the hotel in August for 2 weeks and from arrival to departure we were thoroughly impressed by the place.The staff were a credit to themselves and the business and nothing was too much trouble for them.indeed they would go out of their way to help.
The hotel was a 3 star but 4 would surely be more appropriate in our opinion. Everything we needed from the restaurant at the bottom to the pool on the roof was superb.The room was kept clean and tidy every day to a high standard,the bed was very comfortable and we slept well every night.The only slight down point was there could maybe be a few more sockets for electrical charging etc..but it was not a real problem.
The breakfast was good and ample with a good choice of items.We only booked for bed and breakfast but on a couple of occasions we did dine in the restaurant and i must compliment them on a superb selection of local dishes cooked to perfection..we were really impressed. Really,if you are visiting the lovely town of cattolica this would be our recommendation of the place to stay.close(but not TOO close) to the beach/sea and surrounded by lovely little bars shops and restaurants.
Well done Erik and all the team
Bravo ..torneremo sicuramente !!!

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik Bertozzini, Direttore generale at Hotel Universal, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2021

Dear Steve, thank you so much for taking your time to describe in a detailed way your experience in our Hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed you stay and that you appreciated the quality of our restaurant and alo of the cleanliness.

Indeed we take care of each and every detail in order to guarantee a unique holiday experience, but what we like most, is actually getting to know our guests better, so if we can do something to make their stay more pleasant, we definitley will do it!

We are so happy that you already booked also for this summer 2021, can't wait to seeing you and your wife again.
Warm regards from the Hotel Universal Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2019

Lovely hotel foyer downstairs with the staff (especially Andres) being very friendly and helpful on the front desk. Breakfast was great but watermelon as an addition would be perfect! The use of the pool is nice but was absolutely freezing. Only thing letting the hotel down was the room, very basic with uncomfy beds and uncomfortable pillows.

Stayed for the Misano Motogp (Forza Vale), perfect location only 2-3 miles from the track.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JamesWatts14
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 September 2019

Stayed here with my partner for three nights recently on a bed and breakfast basis. Hotel has a good location in close proximity to the beach. Rooftop pool was nice, clean and quiet. Room is basic but clean however hairdryer was very poor and outdated- rest of the room fine. Breakfast was a decent enough continental buffet with cereal, yoghurts, fruit, croissants, toast, egg etc and coffee machine. However the hotel staff stated that breakfast was served to 10:30 - on my second day, the staff started clearing the breakfast buffet away before 10:15 which I thought was very poor and did not make for a relaxing breakfast experience. Also on the next day, I went to breakfast a good bit earlier to allow a more relaxing experience however staff seemed to be circling and sharing private jokes and loitering close to my table- therefore I thought breakfast experience overall was ruined at this hotel.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cindy7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 September 2019

Stayed at the Universal Hotel for 2weeks half board in a side sea view superior room. Hot and cold breakfast and buffet style dinner, which we considered a really good idea. Food was delicious and varied.The staff led by manager Erik were really friendly, nothing too much trouble. We left feeling that we had made many friends.
We spent most of our time on the beach, just 2 minutes from the hotel but we also spent time around the pool located on the roof, comfy sunbeds and facilities available. Thoroughly enjoyed the holiday and wouldn't hesitate to return

Room tip: Side rooms with sea view have good size balconies and catch the sun all afternoon
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank gashead60
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 September 2019

Stayed at the Universal Hotel for 4 nights bed and breakfast recently in a side seaview balcony room. However because of the position of the hotel not much of the sea can be seen. Nice dog-friendly hotel. No complaints whatsoever apart from the lift (very slow) and no English channels on the TV (not that we stayed in the room much). Included safe in bedrooms. Breakfast downstairs was plentiful and tasty, was nice to see warm food as well as cold. Made use of the bar downstairs. Nice pool on the 6th floor, lovely comfy sunbeds. Location great for the beach and town centre. All good!

Date of stay: September 2019
1  Thank Twinkle33
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews