We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
82
34
13
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
34
13
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews italian breakfast swimming pool host trips tuscany accommodations
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2015

First of all i just want to say thanks to that young guy who works there, really nice and friendly person!!!! About the place nothing special.... It was just great! Amazing rooms, nice pool with a great view through the hills, free WIFI, free parking and of course a lovely breakfast. Location really good, 5 minutes walk to the centre which is an amazing village situated between two great cities, siena and florence. 110% recommend

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pasqualet1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We highly recommend Villa Christina if you want to add a touch of backpacking-in-Asia-feeling to your otherwise relaxed Tuscan holiday. Specifically ask for the room on the ground floor to get the full package of adventurous cleaning habits, loud surroundings and huffy service.

We stayed at Villa Cristina for three nights in August 2014. The location is nice enough - in walking distance to the center of the village Castellina in Chianti and a good starting point for day trips to Florence, Siena or around Tuscany.

Unfortunately, room and service did not match the location.

We snatched the room on the ground floor next to the terrace, the "reception" (desk with laptop) and the breakfast room. In the morning, it was rather loud. Due to that, we had to close shades and window and it got rather hot in the room. We couldn't find the fan, that was specified when we had booked, anywhere in the room (neither the TV, by the way). When we asked, both was put into our room, not without a comment about why we would even need the fan in this unusually cold Tuscan summer.

The bathroom, however, was worse: There were large molded areas, the hairdryer wasn't working, one of two light bulbs was missing and the provided shower gel was really shabby. The cleaning habits were rather particular - apparently nobody ever cleaned the shower as we found our predecessors shampoo package upon arrival. The shower rug was cleaned on the other hand - and left to dry over the bidet faucet.

To top it off, we found a large cockroach on the shower rim. Francesco, the host, removed it promptly and "explained": "This just happens in the countryside."

The pool (again, nice location overlooking Tuscan hills), did not qualify as an alternative to refresh and clean up, since it was itself not very clean, either. Used kids bandaids on the bottom, for example, when there were no kids at the hotel.

After the cockroach incident, the host apparently preferred to ignore us as much as possible. He was very nice and chit-chatty with the other guests, but barely greeted us. When we checked out right after breakfast, he was gone. He guided the very young girl at the reception through the very longwinded payment process via telephone.

Overall the value for money was not satisfactory at Villa Christina. We are not picky and stayed in much more adventurous locations e.g. in India before (sure, that's what they all say) - those establishments were also much cheaper, though. And we stayed in much nicer hotels in Chianti before that were not more expensive than Villa Christina.

Room tip: NOT on the ground floor
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MFrec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco L, Proprietario at Villa Cristina, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear "customer" .. I waited with trepidation your negative review ..;)
I'm really sorry that you can not have been good in my ugly and filthy Villa ..
I tried, as always, to do my best .. I would like to respond point by point to your absurd criticism, but I do not want to bore the readers ..
I apologize anyway ..
ah .. Asia, as you've said, is fantastic.. please come back ?? :)
have a nice day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We were very fortunate to have picked Villa Cristina for part of our honeymoon trip to Italy. Rooms were clean, distance from town square was just perfect (to walk off all the delicious food and wine), and staff were awesome. Special thanks to Francesco, who was super accommodating. When things are run by someone that cool, how can you have a bad time?

Date of stay: July 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco L, Proprietario at Villa Cristina, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

thank you guys .... Did you like the party in Piazza..really? ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at Villa Cristina twice. The first time for one night and on our way back home for another two nights. The rooms are all individually furnished with love for details. Thank you Francesco for the great restaurant recommendations, the clean pool and the fun times. It was very nice!

Anna + Lukas

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lukas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco L, Proprietario at Villa Cristina, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

thanks a lot guys .. it was very rewarding for me to see you 2 times in a few days .. ;) ciaooo !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We were two couples staying for two nights at Villa Cristina and we enjoyed all the time of our stay. We spend one day driving to Siena which is within convenient distance from Villa Cristina. We got good tips from Francesco for our trip to Siena and for wine tasting facility on the way to there. Also Francesco made us from the beginning to feel very welcome with his positive attitude and nice personality.

If you are driving between Siena and Firenze along nice sceneries in those small roads it is a good idea to stay in Villa Cristina at Castellina in Chianti for night or two.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Seppo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco L, Proprietario at Villa Cristina, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you gentlemen for you ..
I tried to do my best to make you feel at home, despite the many kilometers that separated.
A big hug..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews